We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite "Go To" spot.”
Review of Cutlass Grille

Cutlass Grille
Ranked #1 of 499 Restaurants in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$11
Restaurant details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite "Go To" spot.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What an amazing place to dine. I can't get enough of the jerk chicken. They do it the RIGHT way, smoking it as opposed to baking it, as most restaurants do.

I'm stuck on the jerk chicken. Though I had the ribs and the brisket (get the fatty end!) which are both superb, I can't seem to tear myself away from the chicken. I will have to force myself to try the oxtails which I have heard are also good. The green beans are to DIE for. These are not your ordinary, out of the can or overcooked variety. They are made to order and are crisp, with a nice smokey flavor. The plantain and rice with black bean sauce are also my go to sides. Everyone I bring here insists on coming back. The owner is friendly and accessible. The waitstaff is attentive and professional. The place is clean and neat. The parking is ample. I usually go for lunch to catch their specials. I could eat here everyday!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    52
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed @ Cutlass Grille”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I tried out Cutlass Grille for dinner tonight. Until tonight we'd only been here for lunch. It didn't matter one bit. Dinner was just as delicious as lunch. We have never been disappointed with anything we've ever ordered. The plates are plentiful (my husband got 3 huge slices of beef brisket), the food is seasoned just right and the reggae music in the background is the perfect complement to the excellent meal. We have also been extremely pleased with the servers every time we come. Jewell waited on us tonight and she was just super. She even brought my skeptical husband a sample of the cabbage to help him finally make a decision. Couldn't have asked for better food or service. Cutlass Grille is definitely one of our 'go to' places.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great locally owned restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Awesome food, friendly staff. The owner is present and checks in with diners. The jerk chicken is awesome, the beans and rice are great; we have not had a bad dish. Good for families. Spices are not 'hot' but simply TASTY!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Taste of the Islands!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Went to the Cutlass Grill for dinner. The food was great and so was the service. Will definitely return for more. The jerk chicken and pork are great! I may have to try Ox Tail next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I love the jerk chicken. The best ever!!! The food at this place is so fresh and so delicious it keeps you coming back again and again.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cutlass Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing