We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Keuka Lake NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the usual!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Chesapeake Va... and it was not the experience we're used to at one of these facilities. Clearly asked for a non smoking room, and even though we booked it a few days in advance, we were told it wasn't available on check-in. The room was paid for days in advance, and the only way to get a non-smoking room was to upgrade to a better room for a fee.... that set the stage for a less than pleasant stay... the normally good breakfast bar was not up to speed also, as their pancake machine was broken down... place wasn't as clean as most, especially in the areas you don't always look... like the elevator nooks and corners, just sloppy cleaning... won't be staying there again...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear QKA,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the room accommodations you received that fell below your expectations and any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    21
    18
    19
    15
See reviews for
47
19
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

If you're a business traveler like me who needs a good value and a quality hotel, stay at this hotel. The people at Holiday Inn Express hotels are consistently focused on good service. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. The internet is fast, the breakfast is healthy and free. And the price is right. It may sound simple but getting all of these things right consistently is surprisingly hard to do. And this hotel is yet another example of how this chain does things right.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

stay was 3 nights long, awesomeeee experience with my 30+ relatives. the spacious suite room with a kitchenette and living couch space was just what we asked for a great group price. the pool and gym were great everyday for the kids and young adults. located close to as major fast food, gas stations, department stores and atms this was great for our group. the daily continental breakfast was an extra bonus for our big family. full course breakfast hot and cold snacks. everybody was pleased and full, this is our second summer at this hotel and we are hooked!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Was on a business trip over the duration of Hurricane Sandy. The wonderful staff at this Holiday Inn Express took care of all the needs of guests staying with them. They never missed a beat, never loss power, always had food and coffee, and always had smiles on their faces.

The management also bought back Wednesday Night Manager Meal. It's a first for this establishment, but is common with most Holiday Inn Expresses. This is just an outstanding move! It goes that extra mile and will ensure I always stay with them in the future.

Room Tip: No issue with any rooms. Some do have mold around the tun and soap holders....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FireSale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. The room was well equipped and maintained, service was very good and breakfasts well supplied and tasty. We may have stayed another night but the front desk clerk was not able to offer the lower rate available on-line unless we checked out and checked in again at the new rate (a lot of fuss and bother for $5 per night). We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel is very private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a smoking and non smoking hotel! Let me start off by saying we were originally placed on the 3rd floor. I took my 3 and 1 yr old to this floor and when we stepped off the elavator all I could smell was smoke.

Decided to keep going for the heck of it to see if it was just the hallway. Got into the room and it smelled horrible. I called the front desk and advised that the room smelled like smoke and I could not let my children sleep in this room.

She advised that the smoking level starts on the 5th floor. Isn't it amazing how smoke travels?

Anyways she was very courteous and advised she had an available room on the 2 floor. I'm telling you it was like night and day.

Beds slept good. Shower temps were medium! Location was horrible.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neekeesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Neekeesha,

Thank you for taking the time to write our property a review. I am glad that you found our staff service commendable enough during your stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with the room accommodations you received. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chesapeake hotels

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here using miles for 1 night in end of August, room was clean and seemed to have been remodeled recently even though the pull out sofa had seen its better days, staff was very friendly, breakfst was good and fully stocked, attendant was on top of things. In a fairly quiet area off the freeway, close to restaurants. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSP-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Suffolk
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk
11.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
Address: 2436 Gum Rd, Chesapeake, VA 23321-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to Norfolk and Virginia Beach, the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake-Norfolk sits in the heart of the region's restaurant and shopping district. The property serves as a hub for Government and Corporate travel stemming from the Naval Station Norfolk, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Naval Station Oceana, USCG Finance Center and Exchange, Dollar Tree Stores Headquarters, Anthem Health Insura ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing