We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, courteous staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, courteous staff.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the first floor, king suite. Rooms were a bit snug, but overall, more than acceptable. Furnishings are typical of this grade of hotel.

Staff was always pleasant, and even outgoing -- I don't think we ever walked past the front desk without the clerk calling out a greeting to us!

DH used the indoor pool, and said it was clean, and well maintained.

Complimentary breakfast seemed to have a broad array of options, but when we were there, it seemed crowded, confused, people were kinda pushy and rude trying to get to the food, and indeed, many items were depleted. Not sure if this is typical, or was just that weekend. Maybe a longer breakfast service would alleviate the crowding?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelopeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    21
    18
    19
    15
See reviews for
47
19
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton,On
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013


Check inn was easy. Room was clean. Later that night we asked for 2 extra towels and was told by Drew at the front desk to come down and get it. She's the only one at the desk and can't leave. The attitude was abrupt and rude.

Breakfast was the usual adequate fare of western omelettes, boiled eggs, cereal, biscuits and gravy, muffins , cinnamon buns, juice etc.pancake maker was broken.No microwave to warm up boiled eggs or warm milk for your cereal . Morning front desk staff friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and enjoyable.

If you are on an extended stay and have to use the Washing machine, the old top loader eviscerates ones clothes.
Overall a very enjoyable stay

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank elcycad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear elcycad,

Thank you for your review of our property. It is delightful to know that you had a smooth check in experience and the breakfast served was adequate for your needs. However, I apologize that the reception staff's service was a disappointment. We take all feedback seriously and your review will help us improve on our efforts.

Hopefully, the next time you are in the area we get the opportunity to host you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in June for 4 nights. Very friendly & welcoming staff. Arrived very early but they had a room available which was great. Their washing machine for people had broken down so housekeeping did our washing for us, took it in the morning and back washed, ironed in evening. Very clean hotel, breakfast very good, fresh and kept topping up. Very close to shopping centres & places to eat within 1/4 mile. Also close to main interstate for touring. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chappers184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was in town on business, and I stayed at this property because it was a better value compared to many others in the region. My stay was okay, but not with out flaws. Upon checking in, I found the staff friendly and accomadating. I found my room okay, but it had an overall stale/ musky smell/ odor. Even with the AC running, the odor persisted (thought it might be humidity). In addition, the HVAC unit, even with a fan on mode was noisy(excessive rattle) when the AC compressor cut on and off. The room fixtures were dated, bed/ pillows were okay. As for the internet service, it worked, but was slower than many other properties (seemed dated). Breakfast was the usual HIE grub. There are no resturants closer than a mile +/-. This will not be my first choice when I return to the area, but its okay if you are not too picky.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paintman0954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Paintman0954,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased you found our staff friendly and accommodating.Let me take the opportunity to apologize for the unusual condition of the room you received. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chesapeake hotels

Indian Trail, NC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Clean hotel, clean rooms! Nothing wrong with this location! There were fresh apples in the lobby in the day and at night the clerk baked cookies! Haven't had breakfast yet but I expect that to be quality!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxDaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed here for four nights with my family while work was being done on our house. The sales mgr put together a package for us for a 2 room suite. The entire staff was very friendly and accomodating. My 6yr old son felt like he was on vacation-hot breakfast every morning, fresh cookies at the reception counter when we came in every afternoon, and swimming in the pool in the evening. The experience was great. I stay at many HEI hotels, but none better than this one. Thanks to the staff and management!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGlover3309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keuka Lake NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Chesapeake Va... and it was not the experience we're used to at one of these facilities. Clearly asked for a non smoking room, and even though we booked it a few days in advance, we were told it wasn't available on check-in. The room was paid for days in advance, and the only way to get a non-smoking room was to upgrade to a better room for a fee.... that set the stage for a less than pleasant stay... the normally good breakfast bar was not up to speed also, as their pancake machine was broken down... place wasn't as clean as most, especially in the areas you don't always look... like the elevator nooks and corners, just sloppy cleaning... won't be staying there again...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear QKA,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the room accommodations you received that fell below your expectations and any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Suffolk
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk
11.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
Address: 2436 Gum Rd, Chesapeake, VA 23321-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to Norfolk and Virginia Beach, the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake-Norfolk sits in the heart of the region's restaurant and shopping district. The property serves as a hub for Government and Corporate travel stemming from the Naval Station Norfolk, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Naval Station Oceana, USCG Finance Center and Exchange, Dollar Tree Stores Headquarters, Anthem Health Insura ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing