We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It did the job” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InTown Suites Chesapeake/Battlefield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
InTown Suites Chesapeake/Battlefield
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It did the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Of course this isn't a 3 star or above hotel, but if all you need is a good night's sleep and time to get away from whatever...this hotel is fine for your buck. The cost was perfect...booked the same day without any hassle. No pool, but what do you expect...you get what you pay for. My only compliant....guests (about 6) stood right by the entrance door smoking. If you are going to smoke, please smoke away from the front door. But one of the smokers was nice enough to open the door for me. But the quality...just ok. Nothing fancy, but worth the pay and the location was just fine. No issues that would steer me away. This is a great last minute option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrypie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    5
    5
    19
See reviews for
10
7
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Steer clear of this place, seriously. I booked a reservation through Orbitz, received confirmation, credit card was charged, then on the day I was traveling, while calling to reconfirm our non-smoking room reservation, the hotel indicated that my credit card was declined and thus our reservation was cancelled. After a few phone calls to my bank and Orbitz, it turns out the hotel oversold themselves and decided to start cancelling reservations without notifying visitors. Fortunately Chase reversed the charges (they never in fact declined the charge). Good thing I called the day of to reconfirm, or else I would have shown up at 1am with no room. It's inexpensive, but not worth potential aggravation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chesapeake hotels

Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Sun Suites is alot safer and cleaner. The Savannah Suites on Tintern only cares about money. The place is dirty and has a very bad odor to it. There is this lady that I met that has been living there for years name Vonyelle. She knows everything about everything. She said that she was sleeping with the maintenance staff and they do favors for each other. She also said how the police is always there for Kim and her bad kids; and also how the thrid floor is filled with crackheads. Why would a company allow things like this to happen. Management really needs to really look into this place.

Room Tip: Please don't bring your family here. This place isn't safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Millie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I travel extensively in my line of work and have stayed in some pretty low places. This is by far the worst stay I have ever had anywhere! This is billed as an extended stay property for out of town construction workers, truck drivers, sales people, etc. Instead it seems to be some form of low rent housing. I had no issues with cleanliness, but it is noisy and the bed was, literally, broken. The box spring is just a box, no springs, and it was broken on one side. Impossible to sleep on. I left after the third night of a one month booking and am writing this from the comfort of the Extended Stay America on Crossways Blvd just down the road. I will never book at any Savannah Suites property again.

Room Tip: Search out the reviews, read and heed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed at this hooker motel in September.I am honestly ashamed to say that I even put my head down on a pillow in this place.My daughter was so terrified becauseof the filth that she refused to sleep and my husband was awake all night with her due to the fact that kids were running up and down the hallways,people were in the lobby all hours of the night.We witnessed first hand the hookers and their Johns.This place seems like a slumlord motel.People hang around outside drinking and smoking.The staff stays out front smoking with the guest.When you walk in there is an awful odor.This place was probably a nice place at one time but it has went down hill.When we were there 4 Chesapeake police cars pulled up quickly,and come to find out someone had shot their gun in the hotel putting a hole through the wall and the man who shot the gun was arrested.Police will come quickly for gun shots but if you call and tell them that you are witnessing prostitution.........they are no where to be found.We will NEVER EVER go back to this place.....EVER.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

1 It is dirty and roaches everywhere! 2 no wifi! 3 there's no lounge or dining area 4 there's a funny smell....5 it just dingy! 6 the person that cleaned our room took one of our towels! 7 they actually ran out of toilet paper! But the staff was friendly....

Room Tip: Get rid of the roaches! Deep clean everything! Get new beds and beddings! Add a lounge, there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhiane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

stayed here for 3 nights and had to leave. was planning on staying long term but there is no way i could watch roaches crawl around me. im not use to that type of living. the hotel staff was nice so its not that fault. maybe the hotel was decent at one time and the wrong people moved in. my thing is that ive never been to a hotel where they have a trash room on each floor. who stores trash on a hotel floor when thats going to draw bugs, rodents, mice, etc. trash should be kept outside away from the hotel. i cant believe a health inspector would approved something like that. I checked all my clothes before i left because i didnt want to carry any roaches with me. i learned my lesson though you can gurantee that. and i have to agree with the other reviewer about the other guest. kids running through the hall, people hanging outside the hotel smoking.

Room Tip: go book a room up the street else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nodiva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Chesapeake-Norfolk South
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
0.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Chesapeake-Norfolk Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InTown Suites Chesapeake/Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InTown Suites Chesapeake/Battlefield

Property: InTown Suites Chesapeake/Battlefield
Address: 1409 Tintern St, Chesapeake, VA 23320-4511 (Formerly Savannah Suites Chesapeake)
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — InTown Suites Chesapeake/Battlefield 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Suites Extended Stay Hotel in Chesapeake is conveniently located at the corner of Battlefield Boulevard and Volvo Parkway less than one mile south of I-64.Savannah Suites Extended Stay Hotel in Chesapeake is furnished with Full Kitchens, a Fitness Room, a 24 Hour Guest Laundry Room, Free High Speed Internet and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your InTown Suites Chesapeake/Battlefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Chesapeake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing