We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while visiting in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Chesapeake
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
East Setauket, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while visiting in the area”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Convenient to everything. Very clean. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. This place has it all. I highly recommend it. Close to stores, restaurants, fast food. An easy area to get around in. Perfect location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    35
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
73
23
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I, our thirteen year old son and three grandchildren stayed here for about a week up until August 21, 2014 for our family vacation. The hotel was very accommodating. It was close to everything. The prices were good, especially considering it included the buffet breakfast every morning and dinner on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. They also have a movie room with real cinema chairs that the family can take advantage of while relaxing around the hotel. There was also a courtyard with two gas grills which we were able to use at our leisure. Our grandchildren loved the pool and the Jacuzzi, which by the way was always hot!!! Special thanks to Janae, the front desk clerk who checked us in, she was extremely helpful and went above and beyond. Go Janae!!! A nice home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahishia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the kind words for our property and also specifically Janae. We hope to see you back next year on your vacation!

Jim Kinane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were a family party of nine (two sets of family). We selected this hotel because of its price, amenities, surrounding restaurants and vicinity to VA beach. The hotel staff was all very nice and accommodating. Check-in and check-out was a breeze.

Couple of issues we encountered:

We requested connecting double rooms at reservation and were told that we were all set. We did not get the connecting double-bed rooms we reserved because there is no such setup at this hotel. We were told at the front desk that their connecting rooms were a king size bedroom suite to a double-sized bedroom suite. Needless to say we were not happy. We had young children (cousins age range 2-13), who wanted to go back and forth between the two rooms that were located diagonally across from each other. An adult had to constantly be on door duty (meaning we had to watch the children to make sure they got into the other room okay). On the grand scheme of things, not a big deal but if we had known this, we would have chosen a different hotel. Our families may get to see each other once a year if we're lucky, so the less inconveniences and time wasting that is done the better for us.

Both families requested a non-smoking room, but the smell of smoke permeated both hotel suites even with the a/c set to cold temperatures (I think they tried to blast the a/c to cover the smell). Smoke is smoke and cannot be covered up! Especially with guests who are sensitive to it. We decided it wasn't overpowering and the extreme allergy suffering family members were not showing signs of an allergy attack. The furniture in both suites, which is real wood, needs some TLC. They need to be sanded and re-stained. The chairs and couches had stain marks, so they need to be cleaned, replaced or re-upholstered. In both suites, the caulk in the bathtubs needs to be removed and redone. Nobody likes to see an old dirty looking caulk, it makes the appearance of the bathroom look old and dingy, which aside from the caulk was pretty clean.

Aside from these issues, we had no other problems. As stated earlier, the staff was very courteous. The heated indoor pool room was clean and complimentary towels were provided. Breakfast was good. All in all we had a good family get-together in a nice central location, close to the highway; many dining options and activities.

Room Tip: If you're looking for peace and quiet when you enter your hotel suite, then do not stay on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our rooms, most of which are 1 bed room suites have limited connecting rooms, and the 1 bedroom suites connect to a studio style room. All of our rooms with two queen beds are 1 bedroom suites which already give you two rooms. A connecting room is a request and is not gtd. As reservation are taken at the central reservation office, this is part of their read back. As they do not have knowledge of our hotel layout they would have not confirmed the connecting rooms, just the room type.

We do regular touch up and preventive maintenance in our rooms with each room being completed on a regular schedule.

I am sorry that you did not have a favorable 5 star experience with our hotel. Our staff and their performance are two of our strongest areas.

Jim Kinane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had traveled from Wisconsin to Virginia hauling a wells cargo trailer with household items to be unloaded the next day at our sons new house. We were told to park in the back lot. The next morning we took our dog out ( yes they are pet friendly) and noticed the lock was gone on trailer. An hour before it had been there. A lawn service was working in the area at the time.
The management did not seemed concerned at all. To keep this short, the food was good, the room was good but the treatment by the manager was lousy. We had planned to stay for 2 more nights. We checked out and took our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. When we spoke of this incident that occurred several months ago, you stated nothing was missing and the lock was open on the trail and it looked as if someone had crawled thru the trailer. As I discussed with you I spoke to the team of 4 landscaping workers as well as having the owner of the company speak to them. They stated they were not in the parking lot, just the grass and sidewalk. As no one witnessed anything there was nothing more I could do. I understand and was aware of your decision to check out and assisted you in this process.

Jim Kinane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days while visiting Virginia Beach. Instead of paying the costly amount for an oceanfront room at the beach, we chose to stay inland. We figured the cost of this hotel plus the $10 to park at the beach was significantly less than staying oceanfront. The hotel is very easy to find off I-64, and it ended up being a 15-20 minute drive to the beach depending on traffic.

The hotel was rather clean and we enjoyed the nice layout of the suite. The wonderful breakfast buffet and the complimentary manager's reception (Tuesday through Thursday evenings) were wonderful amenities that helped to reduce the cost of offsite meals. We also enjoyed the nice pool area, and the free laundry was very much appreciated.

We encountered a few problems with our suite during our stay, but the hotel management was wonderful in response. We first arrived in our suite to find no alarm clock. Apparently the previous occupant had taken it with them. After contacting the front desk, a new clock was delivered to our room within 2-3 minutes.

Upon arrival, we turned on the ice maker in the refrigerator, but yet had no ice by the following morning. In addition, a significant amount of water from an overly-frosted freezer was dripping down on our food in the refrigerator below. The hotel maintenance crew worked around our schedule the next day to swap out refrigerators with very minimal disruption. Unfortunately, the new ice maker did not work too much better, as it was giving one ice cube every 2-3 hours. The hotel staff was very helpful by providing ice from the hotel kitchen throughout the remainder of our stay.

The staff of the hotel was very friendly and responsive to our needs throughout our stay. Every staff member was very pleasant. That helped to make our stay more pleasurable. I would very likely stay here again on future visits to the area.

Room Tip: The top floor has partially smoking rooms. For non-smokers, try to request a room on the first, se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Double-D-Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We apprecited the kind comments regarding your stay and our staff. We feel our staff sets us above the hotels in our area. We look for you to stay with us again soon.
Jim Kinane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there on business for about two weeks. After a while the place gets really depressing. The hallways have a slight smell and the four white salad in the suites are enough to drive you insane after a few nights. The food was descent both for breakfast and during the nightly socials. I may stay there again if walls are painted and the smell is removed from the hallways.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeeTraveler1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very clean and nice layout of the suite. They have a social hour during weekdays where they provide a light meal and a little alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages and subs or burgers and salad. Staff very friendly. Pool and gym on premises.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for the excellent review you posted for our property! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope that you'll stay with us again the next time business or leisure brings you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 42 in Chesapeake
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Chesapeake

Property: Staybridge Suites Chesapeake
Address: 709 Woodlake Dr, Chesapeake, VA 23320-8909
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Chesapeake 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chesapeake, VA Hotel Offers Guests an Outstanding Extended Stay Experience. Get Comfortable at the Staybridge Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake - Hampton Roads Area, VA. The Staybridge Chesapeake hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn & Candlewood Suites hotels. Specializing in the extended stay experience, the Staybridge Suites hotel is a perfect hotel for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing. The Staybridge Suites is centrally located at exit 289A off I-64 near I-264, & I-664; minutes from Portsmouth, Hampton, Norfolk, Suffolk & Virginia Beach business & real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Norfolk Airport ORF, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, General Dynamics, JFCOM, US Coast Guard & the Norfolk Naval Shipyard.The Staybridge Suites offers apartment-style suites with the conveniences of home to meet extended stay or short term hotel needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio, one-bedroom & two-bedroom apartment-style suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TVs with DVD players, free wired and wireless Internet access. Other features include a free hot breakfast buffet, business center, free self-laundry facilities, a fitness center, BBQ grills & Sundowner Receptions (Tuesday - Thursday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing