We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ann McKeel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Roxboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ann McKeel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Best Hotel I've ever stayed in. Staff is friendly and always asked if I needed anything. Rooms are spacious and very clean (while exploring the hotel I noticed housekeeping staff steam cleaning mattresses), the grounds are very well kept, loved the doggy area (with provided bags for clean up), there is even a small food pantry (store) with refrigerated items, healthy snacks, laundry supplies,(washer and dryer was free), etc. They've thought of every need. As I was on my own with my dog, I always felt very safe, even while walking him at 5:00 in the morning. Property is very well illuminated and VERY quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Ms.McKeel,
It was a pleasure to meet with you in person at the desk. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our only priority and we strive hard to make our guests happy. Our heartfelt thanks to you from the entire team and we look forward to see you again. Consider us home!
Peter.K - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    15
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
13
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We cancelled our reservation. After scheduling our stay we noted an undisclosed pet fee of $75.00 per night! Almost as much as the room itself. Confirmed this with the hotel staff. That is a pretty outrageous fee for one dog.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pete_ivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for loyalty to our brand, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagram, Afghanistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I have to say that I had a very relaxed stay. The hotel is very well maintained to be 5yrs old. The staff are very friendly and cordial. Always greeted with a smile. I liked it because of the fact that where it's located is pretty quiet. You don't hear too much noise from traffic going by. I would stay again. I didn't mind it at all :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IdaLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poquoson, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

While staying at this hotel the night of our wedding all of our monetary gifts were stolen from our car. I asked the desk clerk if there was video and he said maybe but only the manager could look. They wrote my name and number on the back of another slip of paper and didn't even take a formal inquiry. Two days later we came back to talk to the manager and she said the car hadn't been on camera and that she had tried to call earlier that day. I had no missed calls on my phone. Oddly enough no one had been in the parking lot when we arrived or in the lobby or elevator. Only the desk clerk saw me come in wearing a wedding dress. Our car was not decorated with "just married" or anything of the sort. Somehow the only thing taken or even looked through was the card box. I have called corporate who has sent an email to this hotel asking them to call me and its been almost a day and I still have not heard back. It seems that there is something very suspicious going on here and I feel as though we were targeted by the staff as honeymooners. Now it feels as though the hotel is covering it up and not being helpful at all. I would not stay here or at any other of these chains again! The staff is obviously untrustworthy and when things go wrong can not be counted upon to take the situation seriously.

Room Tip: no where in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. It was unfortunate and our heartfelt apologies for the supposed robbery incident. All of the staff members have empathized over the issue to you and the Manager Tammy has spoken to you in length. She even took you to the surveillance area and showed you the security monitor and discussed with you in detail. However in the TV interview, you made a comment that you left the car "UNLOCKED" and there was no forced entry!!! Although getting robbed in a very busy parking lot in today's day & age is not uncommon locking your car will definately enhance better security.I take a lot of pride to thank my honest and dedicated staff who would not only go an extra mile and do whatever it takes to make my guests happy. There have been many occasions where my honest staff has turned in expensive diamond jewellery, Ipod, Ipad, wallet,etc. which was left in the rooms. I am sorry you suspect hotel staff but our staff has only been safegaurding troopers highly caring for our valuable guests. Once again thanks for staying with us.At our hotel Guest Services is not everything but it is the only thing! We care, love and value our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

If you need a long term place to stay, this is not a bad hotel. The first non-smoking room we were put in had obviously been smoked in but they gladly changed us to another room. Overall, the hotel is clean and well maintained. The corridors are heavily perfumed, and that is a bit overwhelming, but the staff is friendly, the beds comfortable, and the price was right for a long term stay. We booked 3 rooms and were there a week the first time and two nights the second time on business. This hotel gets lots of contractors staying there who come in to work in the area. Parking is ample even with many trucks. We also saw happy families with kids. The grounds were als clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClearBlueDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zebulon, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Check-in went smoothly. I cannot say enough good things about the clerk that was working when we got there. Check-out went.....not so smooth! I called to request a late check out.. The desk clerk said that she would call me back. Well I waited over thirty minutes. I called her back and she apologized for not getting back with me. We were given a late check out of 2pm. At approximately 1:05 the phone rang in my room. It was the general manager of the property. She stated that they could not honor the late 2pm check out because there was a reservation for the room that we were in. We were basically kicked out. I am a priority member which obviously means nothing. The room was wonderful but customer service needs improvement. Everyone should be on the same page so that what happened to us does not happen to anyone else.Definitely do not plan on staying there again. Better service and amenities await you at the Holiday Inn around the corner from this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMichaelBatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Mr. Batts,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The rooms are spacious and well maintained, and the staff goes out of their way to ensure that your stay is perfect. Outdoor seating area and grill are a nice touch for the warm days, and the rooms comes equipped with full kitchens.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnB0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
11.4 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#5 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
11.7 mi away
Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk

Property: Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
Address: 4809 Market Place, Chesapeake, VA 23321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake Suffolk - Hampton Roads Area VA.The Chesapeake Suffolk Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at Exit 11 of I 664 near I 64, & I 264, and minutes from Portsmouth, Hampton, Norfolk, Suffolk & Virginia Beach business & real estate districts. Our location offers easy access to Harbour View Commerce Park, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, General Dynamics, Mitre, Sysco JFCOM , US Coast Guard & the Newport News Navy Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment-like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment-like suites featuring fullyequipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players and free wired & wireless Internet access. Other features include a 24-hour business center w/ free Internet, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing