We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chester
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel offers great value for the price. Very helpful staff. Just off main north/south Interstate. It is not easy to find as it is located off of the road behind another hotel. It is worth looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet corner. Don't let this fool you. It's within walking distance of a good restaurant and within driving distance of a multitude of Virginia's finest locations. Richmond, which offers much, is right around the corner. The hotel staff were friendly and did all they could to make this a great mini-vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank sassyhalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel was very clean and my wife is very meticulous concerning cleanliness. The price was fair for a hotel of this stature. HOT breakfast was very good. Unlike other hotels we have visited. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Hampton Inn Chester Virginia is an excellent hotel with clean rooms, friendly staff, and all the outstanding services required by a business traveler or family. I stayed as part of a local soccer tournament, and the experience was perfect. In particular, the staff helped provide some supplies so I could clean the soccer shoes of my players, and they did so with a smile and level of courtesy that makes a hotel stay easy and comfortable. I want to thank the entire staff for their professionalism and helpful attitudes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at this Hampton Inn on our road trip through Virginia. Price was reasonable ($65/night) and the hotel was decent enough. The hotel is tucked down a hill and behind several other hotels and an apartment complex, so it's pretty far off the main road, and as a result, pretty quiet. Not too many options for decent food around, so be prepared to venture a bit for a meal. Staff was so-so: the guy behind the desk when we checked in was pretty unhelpful and seemed bothered to have to check us in. On the bright side though, they do offer fresh baked cookies in the afternoons, so that took the sting out of the unenthusiastic welcome.

The lobby area has been recently refurbished and decorated in bright reds and golds, and as a result, looks extremely hip and modern. There's a large breakfast bar in the center and smaller booths and tables around the edge of the room, and a flatscreen TV so you can catch the news. In the morning, they serve a generous free breakfast, with eggs, bacon and sausage, biscuits, waffles, fruit, yogurt, pastries and bagels, and juice and coffee. The staff kept up with the breakfast area, constantly cleaning tables and refreshing the food so they never ran out of anything.

In stark contrast to the lobby area, the rooms are in dire need of an update. They're clean, but very dated looking. The bedspreads were pretty worn and the 90s style wood furniture has got to go. I've stayed in lots of other Hampton Inns and they've all had much fresher accommodations than this. My main complaint is that it was very dark and dingy feeling in the rooms - they seriously need more light in them. Even in the morning with daylight, it still felt very dark. Each room has a TV, microwave, large refrigerator, and a dining table, and these amenities were much appreciated. The bathroom toiletries were also exceeded expectations, with lots of niceties like lotions and moisturizer.

Honestly, I wouldn't choose this hotel for a long vacation or anything, but one night, it's more than serviceable. For $65, you get a quiet room, free breakfast - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My family and I stayed here and had a great experience. The room was $67+tax which is incredible for a two double bed room. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, & the hot breakfast was great. There were even warm cookies at the desk when we checked in late at night :) If we're ever in the neighborhood we'll be back!

Our only minor concern was the room door; they weren't very soundproof. The noise from the hallway could be heard in the room, but we had a white noisemaker for the kids so it wasn't a big issue. We would still recommend this hotel, because you get such a great service for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bargain_Hunter713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I love how fancy the hotel is. The bed was super comfortable. Only problem we had was that a/c wouldn't cut off right away when you turn it to stop. It would cut off 5 mins later. They overcharged me. I booked it for one price. When I checked out, it was a different price. Other than that I will stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jarita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chester

Address: 12610 Chestnut Hill Rd, Chester, VA 23836-2406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £99 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing