We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood restaurant in Chester”
Review of Riptides

Riptides
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood restaurant in Chester”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

There are few family owned restaurants in this area and Riptides is a welcome respite from the customary chains. Their food is fresh and the atmosphere and quality of their offerings are well above average. They have done a great job with landscaping and the outdoor patio is lovely in the evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baymeadowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    76
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great food with a great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited Riptides a couple weeks ago. I have to say this place is great. They have a friendly staff, great food, if you don't mind paying a little more for it. The live guitarist was a plus as we sat and dined on the patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidWPhoto68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackstone, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice dinner, but not really special”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Based on other reviews we tried dinner at Riptides before attending a play and it was ok. The atmosphere is nice, especially since it reportedly was a gas station in an earlier life, and the service was good. The house and Caesar salads were just average, with dressing that tasted right out of the bottle (and very little "blue" in the blue cheese). I selected the "Chef's choice" preparation for the mussels appetizer (which surprisingly came after the salad) because I just had to try the pineapple/jalapeño/curry combination; probably wouldn't again. The grouper entrees were good, though I was tempted to ask for a nutcracker to crack the accompanying hush puppies, and we enjoyed sharing the chocolate mousse for desert. Not a bad dinner, but pricey for what we had. For the price and quality we'll stick to Bonefish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davefromArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our 3 couples ate dinner there 7-16-2014. We all had fish dinners (Salmon and Mahi-Mahi), salads, and spiced shrimp as an appetizer. Salads were large, and everything was excellently prepared. Our waiter was great; the restaurant appeared clean. A nice experience. We will be back. Don't forget that on Wednesdays they have 1 1/2 lb. of steamed shrimp for $17.99; the shrimp are rather large, devained, and excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great all around!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wife and I had a night away without kids and it was a great evening! Patio dining with spacing, we weren't on top one another. They had a guy playing guitar and it enhanced the experience, loud enough to hear but to were we could easily carry on a conversation. We had drinks and meals and it was $70 bill, we had the fried platters with shrimp, scallop, oyster and 2 sides, now I'm a bigger guy and this was plenty of food. If your looking for patio dining or a nice place to get away and enjoy seafood in the Richmond area I strongly recommend this place. Service was good, atmosphere was good and food too. This would be a place to bring your kids too, cause next time we will bring ours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Riptides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing