We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On second thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quincy, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On second thought”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stopped here by chance on the way to FL. Experience on checking in left a lot to be desired. Without going into detail it was a problem right from the beginning. It was late and I was tired so I decided to stay the night. On returning home a set an e-mail to the manager and got an immediate response. In addition to offering me a free nights stay on a future trip, she also credited my charge card for the one nights stay. Bernadette made a bad situation better and she is to be commended

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donweiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    100
    46
    21
    14
See reviews for
146
58
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

It was just an overnight stop on the family trip. This hotel I chose not by accident, had a very good experience before. So, got a great room, great amenities. Staff immediately addressed my concern about smoking smell in a nonsmoking room, they gave us a room right across the hall, so no problems after that. Had complimentary breakfast buffet which was satisfactory... We really wanted sausage and omelet, but it would cost you. Another suggestion, put microwave in the room!

Room Tip: I think the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was just a quick one nighter for us. We were just hoping to get checked in, grab some zzz's and breakfast in the morning on our way out. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Friendly, efficient and kind. The hotel has a few quirks in the rooms - lighting is a little dim and the heating unit is old but the place was clean and the beds were comfy. We would stay here again and also recommend it to friends and family.

I almost forgot the bonus. Jalapenos Mexican restaurant is literally at the edge of the parking lot. Excellent near authentic Mexican - one of the best Mexican restaurants I've tried in Virginia.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I just needed a place to stay for the night after an 8-hour drive. I walked in this Hyatt and thought ok not a bad choice. The receptionist was on what sounded like a personal call and paid little attention to me. Finally a manager showed up and started to check me in while he, too, was on a personal call!!! He had a Bluetooth thing on so it was hard to tell when he was speaking with me; he kept saying "oh, not you".

I was a single traveler and he gave me a room with 2 beds; after I specified that I needed a single! Anyway, It was very late and dark so I can't really comment on the cleanliness of the facility. The room was decent and the bathroom was clean. The beds, on the other hand, were just plain nasty. The first one had brown hair all over!!!! I was so tired and needed to get back on the road early the next day so I moved on to the second bed...no hair but a signs that says something like "to help the environment we only change our sheets every 3 days". Really??? Even after someone slept in them???

Check out was a mission. I paid cash and they kept saying I have a balance...that looked like a credit. What? I was done at that point. I sincerely hope that daytime service is better because the night crew doesn't seem to have a clue! I should have picked one of the cheaper hotels nearby. I mean this is a Hyatt!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

just what it should be no more or no less, just weak breakfast but hyatt place is not what you want for breakfast anyway. just a good cheap hotel with good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This Hyatt has generally all the things you need but the noise from the indiviidual fan and AC in each bedroom will cause you pause. I don't know that there is anything that can be done about it but to change the type of cooling/heating device.
The coffee is terrible------supposed to be Starbucks, but tooo bitter and weak. The rest of the Continental breakfast is fine.
The bathroom has poor lighting, granted it is only a tub/shower and toilet but still it would be nice to have had some light in the shower. The sink is outside that room where the light is better at least.
To get to the outside pool you have to walk past the AC units and the smoking employees.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Couch not in room as described. Removed by management for there personal reasons. I was stuck with a room without the sofa bed that I needed. Given comp breakfast coupons to make up for the couch but no one was there to make breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#2 of 14 in Chester
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester

Property: Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Address: 13148 Kingston Ave, Chester, VA 23836-5725
Region: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester Hotel Chester
Hyatt Place Chester
Hyatt Chester
Chester Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing