We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DOUBLE BILL ME LATER , PLEASE !!!!!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
The Villages, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DOUBLE BILL ME LATER , PLEASE !!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We bought our room through Trivago, then through Expedia. We paid on the web site. A day after we left this hotel we received a call from someone identifying herself as a hotel employee.She said our credit card was declined. It was an old credit card she had accessed through Hilton Honors. We explained to her we had paid through the hotel web site. What was creepy wasthat they could access old information and attempt to bill me without my knowledge. One last point about Homewood Suites, their beds are not near as comfortable as Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Marie Annette B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry for the problem with the billing. I would like to speak with you further about the problems you experienced. Please contact me at 804-751-0010
Thanks again for the review and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Nicole Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    87
    44
    21
    21
See reviews for
128
49
11
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wish we could have stayed longer! Beds and pillows were awesome! Water pressure in shower and sinks were great! My only negative was the sofa and chair looked comfy but were very hard! The breakfast area was arranged well and the selections were very good! Easy arrival and easy departure! Rooms were very clean!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Allen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Allen I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that you had a “Great stay”. I am sorry that the chair was hard, they are brand new. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with my team.
Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Nicole Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Nicely furnished, appointed and close by restaurants. Convenient to interstate 295. We had small problem with complimentary breakfast but there was a family reunion and things just ran out. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Debra P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel to be in a convenient location.
Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Nicole Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived and all was fine. We went to dinner and came back and our room faced the basketball courts and the grills. It was after 11pm, when the constant bang, bang, bang stopped along with the music playing. The only good thing is I like Bon Jovi and can sing along with the best of them. Just got very tired of it after a bit. Lots of running up and down the hallways. Upstairs neighbors banged for hours. HOURS. At 11:30, I called the front desk to ask them to stop. They didn't. My husband called the room and asked them to stop and they did. About an hour later, the room called us and told us to quit telling them what to do. Awesome. The beds were terribly uncomfortable. Very lumpy and in need of attention. If I paid a lot less, I could put up with it but for the price point, I was disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gjscollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear gjscollins,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I am very sorry about the problems that you experienced with other guests in the hotel. I am very sorry for the lack of action and concern on behalf of my team. Thank you for brining the problem to my attention. I would love to speak with you in more detail about your stay. Please email me at nicole.clay@hilton.com or call me at the hotel at 804-751-0010. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you,

Nicole Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We got this room through the Army for 83/night. Our room had an odd musty smell which they tried to remedy by putting drying sheets in the a/c vent! Needless to say this didn't work. Our first night we were awoken to loud fighting in the parking lot that lasted way too long before it was addressed; the next morning there shoes and clothes in parking lot leftover from the party/fight. Breakfast was included and included hot and cold items which was good for the price. The shower didn't drain quickly, leaving you standing in water while showering. I couldn't access the wireless and when I called the front desk it just rang over and over with no one ever answering after multiple attempts. The cardio equipment in the workout room was new and in good working order. Maybe a different room and a different weekend this would have been a better place to stay....not sure though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleC2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear MichelleC2105,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry for the problems that you experienced with your stay. I would like to speak with you further about the problems you experienced. Please contact me at 804-751-0010.
Thanks again for the review and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Nicole Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

So we came back to this hotel again, mainly because we had points towards our stay. This time all the kinks with breakfast were worked out. Even on a holiday weekend and hitting breakfast in the last half-hour, items were plentiful and kept stocked the entire time. Much improved! The room was great just as before. The pool however, just was all wrong. The water was a strange teal color, and no joke, the spa water had an olive cast to it. What is up with that? Is it salt water?! There should be a sign to explain, I was afaid to let my kids use it. On top of that, there was mildew on the edge trim and green growth of some sort on some of the depth markers. It seemed like it needed to be drained, thoroughly cleansed, and refilled from scratch. Also, my daughter nearly fell every time she took a step on the tiles. We've never experienced this degree of slippery-ness anywhere else. Did they use the wrong type of tile?? It is weird, just like last time, I was afraid of her cracking her head open. Except for the pool experience all was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srs3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I am very sorry about the problems that you experienced with the pool area. Thank you for brining the problem to my attention. I can assure you that I am working with my maintenance staff to remedy the problems.

Thank you,

Nicole Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our first room was directly over the pool patio and basketball court resulting in an unbearable level of noise for 2 young children to deal with when trying to go to sleep. We were relocated to the sixth floor which proved to be much better. The mattress on the fold out sofa is flimsy at best. It is not thick enough for the frame and could result in some bumps and bruises. The front desk staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I am very sorry about the problems that you experienced with the location of your room. I am glad to see that the front desk staff was “very accommodating” in finding a room to better suited for your family. We hope to see you again next time you are in town.

Nicole Clay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton
Address: 12810 Old Stage RD, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Service and Home Comforts at our Hotel in Chester, VA Welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Richmond-Chester hotel. Our all-suite hotel, located at Exit 61A off I-95 in Chester, Virginia, offers easy access to Richmond International Airport. Our hotel in Chester, VA is near popular attractions including Kings Dominion, Pamplin Historical Park, Richmond International Raceway and Pocahontas State Park. Make yourself at home in a spacious one- or two-bedroom suite featuring a range of thoughtful amenities to help you feel at home. Prepare a home cooked meal, just the way you like it, in a fully equipped kitchen complete with convenient utensils. Relax in the separate living area, and stay entertained with a flat-screen TV and complimentary internet access. Start your day with a complimentary full hot breakfast before heading out for business or recreation. Stay active during your stay in the fully equipped fitness center, basketball court or indoor swimming pool. Hold meetings with colleagues in our versatile meeting rooms, and stay in touch with work in the business center featuring modern business amenities. Our Suites Enjoy the comforts of home at the Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Richmond-Chester hotel. Unwind in a studio, one- or two-bedroom suite with room for entertaining, working or simple relaxation. Prepare a meal for family or friends in the fully equipped kitchen featuring full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and thoughtful utensils. Unwind with a movie on a flat-screen TV in the separate living or sleeping areas, and keep in touch with family and colleagues with complimentary internet access. Enjoy a restful sleep on a king-sized bed after a day of business or sightseeing. We'll even do the grocery shopping for you to make sure you enjoy the most of your time at our hotel in Chester, VA. Our Suites Guest Perks At your Homewood Suites by Hilton hotel, you'll enjoy a range of inclusive perks to help you feel right at home. Indulge in a hot full breakfast each morning. We offer a complimentary grocery shopping service-and if you forget something, there's a 24-hour onsite convenience store. Other benefits include newspaper delivery every weekday and complimentary internet access. It's all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Homewood Chester
Chester Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing