We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was a great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were wanting a place close to Petersburg and Richmond and this was perfect. Noise was not a problem, the rooms were clean, the facilities were great. Almost as important, the price was right!!If we are that way again we would stay there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Pat,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We hope that you enjoyed the area. We strive to provide a great place for everyone to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    114
    51
    40
    21
See reviews for
238
73
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

To begin with, we had a coupon for this hotel, but they wouldn't honour it. Not being familiar with the area, we decided to stay anyway. I must say that the room was great - very clean, nice touches. However, around 10 pm we noticed a strong odour of cigarette smoke which only kept getting worse. by the way, this is a non-smoking hotel. We were ready to get into bed, so had to get dressed again. The night clerk came up to check it out; she was very polite and apologetic, but all she could offer was a can of spray. After spraying, the odour dissipated around 11:30. We asked for a discount off the cost of our room for the inconvenience. The night clerk promised to tell the manager who would speak to us the following morning at 8am. The next day the manager wasn't there and the morning desk clerk promised us a call from her when she got in. Of course, no call came. And our credit card was charged for the full amount. We only expected a small discount, maybe even the coupon price, to show that this hotel cared for its customers. I guess it was expecting too much. Will not stay at this chain again. We have received much better care at lower end hotels/motels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveHawaii8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
At the Country Inn & Suites Chester, we value all guest feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay for all of our guests. We have reached out to this guest regarding the matter. We use all of guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for future guests to the hotel. We will be working with this guest to resolve this issue in some way. We value the feedback that our guests continue to provide on Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cautious to book based on prior reviews, but expectations were exceeded!! The hotel and room were clean. Plenty of linens in the lovely decorated room. The bed had lots of pillows and slept well. Loved the toiletries, especially the lotion with no scent. So many hotels provide scented and I can't use them. The service staff were smiling and very friendly. We checked in late, but reservation keys to the room were ready to check in. The breakfast staff asked to make sure that we had everything that we needed. A variety of options for breakfast. I would compare this hotel with other high-scale hotels that we typically stay, but were sold out for this weekend. The location was as close to our family as I could book due to availability. It was a good ride from family to the hotel on 288, without all the stop lights. There are numerous desirable chain restaurants within minutes of the hotel. We will plan to stay here again when visiting family in Richmond.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor, which is the highest, so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiva24078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Traveldiva24078,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. We are so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

this hotel was awesome. the staff were friendly and helpful,the hotel was very clean.Tyianna at the front desk was the best ever.She always had a smile on her face and was so kind and helpful.She made us feel like we were family and that we were at home.WE have been in dozens of hotels in the last 2 years,traveling for my husbands company,and this by far was the best experience weve had.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear karleen k,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about Tyianna. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to her. The staff always enjoys hearing good comments about their service. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter cut her leg while shaving ( she is 15 ) and there were no tissues and not enough toilet paper so she wiped her leg with a towel. Upon checkout we asked to pay cash so they said they would have to inspect the room.they did and told us we owed them $40.00 for the two towels because they were "ruined " by the blood . I've washed and bleached all of my towels over the years and everything washes out. Needless to say I wonder if they even use bleach to sanitize . We paid the $40.00 for the Dollar General looking towels but I left feeling scammed. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilsonmaryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I do apologize for the issues that you encountered while staying with us. We apologize for the charge of towels due to blood stain. We are unable to reuse those towels or wash them with other linens. We wash all linens with bleach and commerical strength laundry detergent. We had to properly dispose the towels because its considered bio-hazardious. We take our guest safety and security very seriously. We will work hard to earn your business back, and would invite you to call me, if you choose to give us another chance we will strive to not only meet your expectations but to exceed them on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Bathroom had ants coming out the cracks around the bath tub on the shower curtain in the shower. Blonde hair in the bed my hair is brown. Called front desk said could bring some bug spray. Said could not offer to discount room because book through another site. Did not offer to change rooms. This is the worst hotel experience i would never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reka628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. We deeply apologize for the ants we have called pest control to resolve the issues . We are very sorry. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. Guest feedback is very important to us. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. We have reached out to this guest and a resolution was made and we hope we were able to resolve the issue to satisfactory and would allow us the chance to make it up. Thank you so much for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Avoid rooms near the pool if you want a good night's sleep. We checked into a room at 10:30 pm opposite the pool, which was party central -- screaming kids, adults with rolling coolers. The sign said pool closes at 11 pm. Called the desk at about 11:30. "Actually, the pool closes at midnight," I was told. The next morning the breakfast room was cramped and the food ho hum. Overall, not up to usual Country Inn standard.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArlingtonNickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear ArlingtonNickster,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the location of your room or the breakfast service. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will be sure to pass this very valuable feedback on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#2 of 14 in Chester
426 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 14 in Chester
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Chester

Property: Country Inn & Suites Chester
Address: 2406 W Hundred Rd, Chester, VA 23831-2303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#5 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chester, VA! This hotel suits business and leisure travelers alike with a prime location between I-95, Jefferson Davis Highway and West Hundred Road. Make your way to the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, and then check emails with free high-speed Internet access. Families love the heated indoor pool and whirlpool tub for afternoon entertainment, and corporate travelers appreciate having an on-site business center. Ready to get out and explore all that the Richmond area has to offer? See the region's natural beauty at Dutch Gap Conservation Area or get a taste of the fascinating local history at Henricus Historical Park, Castlewood Plantation House and Fort Lee. 100% Non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Country Inn And Suites Chester
Chester Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing