We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Fall Hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pocahontas State Park

Pocahontas State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice Fall Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a great park in the Fall for hiking. Lots of well marked trails, lots of different trees and other foliage to check out. Knowledgeable and personable park personnel, nice (small) gift shop, and plenty of restrooms scattered throughout the park. This is Virginia's oldest and largest state park and was voted #1 state park in the U.S. a few years ago. Great place to hike with the dog and also with kids or grandkids, as we did.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    51
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for ramblers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I am sure this is a great spot for ramblers. There appear to be a number of marked trails through the woodland and the map shows some water in the park. If you have mobility problems, even slightly, this is probably not the place for you.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Large campsites, pretty park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We camped for one night at Pocahantas State Park and enjoyed our time there. The campsites are large (we squeezed seven people into ours), although they don't have a ton of privacy. The bathrooms were clean and heated, which was a plus in the chilly weather!

Our campsite was $27 which isn't bad. The people we spoke with at the entrance and in the check-in office were friendly and helpful.

As far as amenities go, the park has a bunch of hiking trails, ranging from very short and easy to 13+ miles and strenuous. We hiked the loop around the lake which took about an hour and offered lots of nice views. Some of the people in my group also fished.

Sadly it was too late in the year to rent canoes and paddle boats but we will definitely take advantage of that if we are back in the summer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elroy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great camping and facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Camped here for three week nights with our family of nine. Plenty of RV spots to choose from and the bathroom/shower facilities were clean and well maintained. There was a seperate laundry facility with a camp store. The store had limited hours during the week and offered a limited supply of snacks and camping essentials.

Camping fee included access to pool/water park. The waterslides were not open during our stay - signs were posted that they were closed for maintenace. It seemed unusual since it was the middle of summer and there did not seem to be any maintenance being done during our three day stay. The rest of the aquatic facilities were nice. There is an infant pool and smaller childrens water play area, splash pad, large 3.5' pool and large 5' pool. Safety was not a concern as there were three life guards/attendants per pool area. In fact it seemed a bit over kill having so many life guards hovering and probably the biggest reason there is a $5 admission fee for non campers.

Hiking and bicycle trails were awsome, it seemed as if there were endless miles. We biked quite a bit with our children end enjoyed it thoroughly.

Access to the park was easy enough and there was plenty of room to maneuver our 34' travel trailer. A 10-15 minute drive to shipping and restaurants, though there can be traffic during the usual times of day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayes, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Camping for a Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We went here for the first time in our new RV. Had never camped in state parks before and was pleasantly surprised. This is a gem of a place. The campground has the biggest sites of any place we have ever been...nicely shaded, plenty of pull thru sites for big rigs and every site includes a tent pad as well as RV/car space. Generally pretty quiet, though on the weekend children are plentiful and having a great time.. But nothing that should bother anyone. There are a gazillion trails, picnic shelters and a huge water park feature with 3 pools. There are boat, canoe and kayak rentals...fishing, etc. there is a wonderful amphitheater where we were fortunate enough to get lawn tickets for Trace Adkins....wonderful concert! That in and of itself justified camping here. The only reason I don't give them 5 stars is that the amenities are a bit far from the campground...but there is plenty of parking near pools boating etc....so the good thing about this is that you don't get the noise from the pool area at your campsite. Even the amphitheater is far enough away that concert noise shouldn't reach the campsites...we will DEFINITELY be returning and recommending to friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DTMEDIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pocahontas State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pocahontas State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing