We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room, nothing fancy”
Review of Assateague Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Assateague Inn
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My boyfriend and I went on a last minute weekend getaway. Some of the other hotels wanted outrageous prices but I found this one for $100.00 bucks a night, still more than I wanted to pay but what are you going to do. Nothing fancy, it was clean, it was a small room but we were there to sleep and take a shower so we didn't need much room. There is a free parking and they do have a pool but we didn't use it. The only downside the doors needed adjusted to lock the doors with ease instead of fighting with it a little...other than that no complaints really. did have a small fridge, coffee maker and toaster oven and a few dishes etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0ckeygirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Assateague Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We always stay in Assateague inn when we go to Chincoteague. You can get rooms with kitchenette and wide open space to view the stars in the night. All this for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siyer20876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

this is an excellent place to stay , not only is the location great, but the rooms are wonderful and the staff go out of their way to make you comfortable and welcome, rooms are very clean. Ruth Anne and Joanne have been there every year we have been there and they are the greatest, anything we need or ask they are right on it, we absolutely love it there and would not even consider staying anywhere else, it feels like seeing family every year when we come back for the pony swim, can't wait to get back next july to see them again. would and have highly recommended to people to stay there.
gladys ,cleo ,gary and ruger

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbreeze14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I chose this spot based on reviews on Trip Advisor, for our 4th wedding anniversary.It was our first trip to this area. We stayed in a motel room which was clean and pleasant.The walls are so paper thin, however, that we not only could hear that the people next door were talking and watching tv,(which i consider pretty typical), but we could hear every word they said. These were not especially loud people, just REALLY thin walls. This definitley decreases the "romance" factor! The owner was polite and pleasant enough, but not especially so. We were also a bit surprised, although this is clearly an island issue not unique to the inn ,that the amazing number of mosquitos was rarely mentioned in reviews. They were wicked and got into our room every night no matter how many precautions we took. We lived night and day in bug repellant! I can't imagine how camping must be! The beach is very nice,the shops are fun to look around in and we did enjoy our visit.I am wondering if the bug issue is improved any by the Oyster festival in early October?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursewendybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My family has been coming to Chincoteague for many years and we would not dream of staying anywhere else. The Assateague Inn is always clean, cozy and the staff is friendly and always helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I've been coming to this quaint little hotel for over 10 years. It is not the Hilton or any Fancy place, but Iit's amazing!! Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, GREAT Views!! There are 3 rooms to choose from: Hotel room, Efficency, or Full Kitchen Effiricency. We've stayed in both the Hotel and Efficency rooms, but prefer the Efficency due to the small kitchenette/dining room/living room area. I would recommend getting a room on the 2nd floor if you can because the views are AMAZING!! Just pull up a chair on the deck outside your room and unwind to the sights, sounds, and smells of Chincoteague, VA!!

Booking Suggestion: If booking for the July Pony Swim or October Oyster Festival, make sure you make your RSVP's early!! Space is limited and goes VERY QUICKLY!!

Things to Bring: Bikes to ride around the island and into Assateague; Camera to take plenty of Beautiful Photos; Food to be put in the small refrig for breakfasts and snacks; Cooler to bring home GREAT Seafood

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were very happy with the accomodations. We were a few hours early but our room was ready so we checked in immediately. Ruth Ann and Glenda couldn't have been nicer and really made us feel at home. The location is perfect and the only time we used the car was for the under ten minute ride to the beach. The rest of the time we used the rented bikes to explore the island. The pool was sparkling clean and one of the nicest amenities there. My husband, daughter and I enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra day. We're already booked for the same time next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dweber49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
777 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
978 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assateague Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assateague Inn

Address: 6570 Coachs Ln, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2338
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Assateague Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing