We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly OK; perhaps better to visit earlier in season to avoid mosquitoes”
Review of Assateague Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Assateague Inn
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mostly OK; perhaps better to visit earlier in season to avoid mosquitoes”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

My 3 year old son and I stayed for two nights in a bedroom suite with kitchenette. My son slept in the bedroom in a full-size crib I brought, I slept on the living room couch bed. Good location, not far from the bridge to Assateague Island with the beach, lighthouse, wildlife loop, etc. The kitchenette was functional, although the half-size refrigerator was not ideal for items like milk containers (good thing we only bought a 1/2 gallon of milk). There was some rain while we were there, and the driveway area had a lot of deep puddles afterward and the pool was closed for the rest of the day. It would be nice if the motel upgraded the access area from the main road to make it more bicycle-friendly and not have deep puddles after rain. It would be nice if the motel took steps to keep the pool in operation after rain. It was late in the season so there was no shortage of mosquitoes, unfortunately. Still, I'm glad we went there, it was my son's first visit to Chincoteague, and he enjoyed seeing the ponies, herons, etc. Wireless Internet access worked fine with a Linux laptop. The motel has a private dock, and people were catching crabs there (not our thing, we are vegetarians). We did like walking out to the dock to see what was going on.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeskibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    22
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

For what I didn't pay to stay, I was very pleased. Very clean and everyone was just lovely. Will definately stay here when I return for the pony swim in Jul.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahn627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastern shore, md
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

So glad I booked this after reading good reviews! This is a great inn - great friendly staff, quiet, views, location and value. Great to have the suite with a separate bedroom & kitchenette when traveling with young children. The pier is fun for watching the ducks in the morning. Very clean!! Didn't use the pool but it looked clean too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachb0und73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I stayed here with my wife and two children in August 2010. Overall this place was fine, however given the reviews we were disappointed and, if we ever return to Assateague, would try somewhere else.

We stayed in an "efficiency suite" with separate bedroom and living room/kitchen with pull-out sofa for the kids. We were disappointed with how the room was furnished: there was no DVD player (not every room has one), no alarm clock, no A/C in the bedroom, and the kitchen was not very well stocked. Nothing terrible, but we were expecting better (and were especially disappointed in the kitchen, since we were counting on cooking all our meals).

Several others have commented on how nice the owner is. We had a neutral experience: again, no complaints, but given several glowing reviews we wondered what the fuss was all about.

On the positive side, the pool here was fantastic (the inn provided pool toys for the kids to use) and the free wireless was an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We had a great vacation in Chincoteague and Loved the Assateague Inn. It's best asset is the warm and kind employees. RuthAnn goes out of her way to see that every guest enjoys every moment of their stay. She is warm, kind and will see to it, you get anywhere you want to go. Her warmth and kindness brings smiles to the entire place. Everyone loves being there guests as well as employees. Hats off to the best hotel in the area. Thank you all!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrendelny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The Assateague Inn is actually on Chincoteague Island but it is less than 10 minutes drive to the beautiful non commercialized beaches of Assateague Island National Seashore. The Inn is in the middle of a cluster of easily walkable restuarants, shops, and kids activities such as go-karts and mini golf most less than 5 minutes walk. The Inn is on Eel Creek which teems with wildlife, and there is a small dock which you can crab from. We saw herons, kingfishers, wild otters, and we caught many blue crabs without even leaving the hotel. We travel on a budget and the rooms are all efficiencies with small fully equiped kitchens, extra foldouts and TVs with DVD, and free WiFi internet. There is a very nice pool open late which is great when coming back from a long day at the beach or fishing. The decor and furnishings are basic but clean and a great deal for the cost compared to anything else we have found on Chincoteague which we have visited regularly for many years. The Staff are helpful and friendly to the max.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHR0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I would definitley stay at the Assateugue Inn again. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Also, very quiet. Your close to all the attractions without being right in the middle of them. The kitchen was even stocked with pots, pans, and dinner ware. Also, the staff was very friendly. It was like being at home.

Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assateague Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assateague Inn

Property: Assateague Inn
Address: 6570 Coachs Ln, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2338
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Assateague Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing