We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, but the food is sub-par.”

Etta's Channel Side Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
2 reviews
“Excellent service, but the food is sub-par.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, but the food is sub-par. We had the blackened fish, but it lacked any flavor. And we had steak which was over done.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miftahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    132
    56
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food , great location”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Good food, fresh, well prepared. It's Chincoteague, crabcakes, fresh fish. Sat outside, listened to the ducks, service steady, not speedy .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We were a bit nervous about going to Etta's for a birthday dinner after reading some of the reviews. We had an awesome dinner! The front dining room hostesses were great and told us to sit at a nearby table while we waited for our table. We had requested a table at the window with a view of the channel and were happily accommodated. Once seated it was only a few minutes before the server took our drink orders and brought them out. We ordered shortly after that and the food was served just as we finished our appetizers. All but one of our party got the crab cake duo special which was two crab cakes and a small portion of crab imperial. The crab cakes were great - all crab meat- no filler and the imperial was the best I've ever had- also no filler and just a small amount of pimento. The other member of our party got broiled scallops which were done to perfection. The baked potato was also the best I've ever had- very large but perfectly baked- tender and creamy all the way through. We ordered one dessert between us (we were absolutely stuffed) and the server brought it with a candle for the birthday girl :0). Excellent dinner and we will be back!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I was nervous about bringing my family here due to the mixed reviews but it was a great experience. We ate inside since the deck was already packed. Either way the view is beautiful.
Staff was friendly, helpful, and prompt. We had my 1 and 1/2 year old with us so it's important.
We started with the broiled baby crab cakes, which are all crab and no filler. They were good. I had the cream of crab which was also delicious. Our entrees were fried shrimp, scallops, and fried clam strips. All of which we really liked.
Overall we really liked it here. Being from Philadelphia we are picky about out food. We would totally recommend this place!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cawwee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-Atlantic Region
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We ate at Etta's our first night in Chincoteague this year. It's tough to find a good restaurant in the area; locals often will send you to some sub-par places. So our expectations weren't very high.
The view of the channel is lovely, especially right before sunset. The decor is sparse, but lovely and relaxing.
The appetizers were excellent - we ordered the bacon covered dates, and the breaded green beans.
The dinner entrees tasted excellent, but the portions were very small. The coconut shrimp was appetizer-sized; the pasta more like a kid's portion.
However, the beer list left a lot to be desired, and should be expanded a bit to include a few more craft beers besides Dogfish Head. There are a few more independent breweries on the peninsula with beers that could be featured. My husband generally won't even go to a restaurant without a decent beer selection.
We also had some difficulty paying for our meal - this should serve as a warning to anyone with Visa gift cards. We tried to use Visa gift cards, given to us as an anniversary gift to use for a nice dinner on vacation. It's a good thing we had another card on us to cover the charge. We were told they were 'declined.' (I later checked on the status of the cards and they were fine, so I don't know why they were 'declined' or if it was just too much trouble to ring the transaction properly.)
We would probably come to Etta's again, given the dearth of really good restaurants in the area. I only wish it was completely excellent, and not 'almost.'

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WissahickonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Etta's Channel Side Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Etta's Channel Side Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing