We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family; plan to return”
Review of Dove Winds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dove Winds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the villas and have to say it was a wonderful stay. I run hotels for a living and really have to say the staff here has creating a welcoming environment down to a "t". Met quite a few families staying here as well and all seemed very happy. We were able to save money buy eating in vs eating out and grilling with other guests in the evening created a very neighborly atmosphere. Money well spent!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebensdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Overall, we would stay here again and again. The owners were kind enough to let us in a few hours early and were kind and personable every time we saw around. Came down for the mini-week Tuesday thru Saturday over the July 4th weekend. Stayed in one of their little two-story condos, which was perfectly sized for us. It location is very convenient with right near the roundabout on Maddox. A short walk from Woody's BBQ, there is ponies across the street, and trust me, you don't wanna be on the west side of the island on a holiday. The line from the beach to the bridge was looong -- but Dove Winds was so close to the beach it was no problem. The backyard was perfect to grill and relax at the picnic tables plus there was additional seating area in the front. The heated pool and hot tub were awesome, especially after two of us got too sunburnt to lay on the beach all day.

The room had a well equipped kitchen with everything including wine glasses and quality nonstick pans. Instead of a couch there was a trundle bed set up in the living room. Although we might have preferred a futon, others who stay might appreciate the extra sleeping area. Both bathrooms were clean and functioned perfectly. Our only issue/concern was that the window air conditioners didn't do a great job removing humidity so the sheets and blanks seemed a little damp when we woke up every morning. In addition, our neighbors were very friendly and personable. While we were there the front sign read "Dove Winds: Where Families Gather." They weren't kidding this is a great family location divided from rowdy, obnoxious, and loud neighbors you'll find elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 717HopeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We just returned from a weeks stay at the Dove Winds and had a very good time. We stayed in a mini townhouse and with a family of 4 we found it to be very comfortable. The rooms are very clean and the owners and staff are very nice and helpful. With the well equipped kitchen and BBQ grills this really felt like a home away from home. After a day at the beach in the sun and wind, the indoor pool felt great. The location so close to the bridge to the beach is very convenient. My only suggestion would be that having a laundry area (maybe a few coin operated machines) on the property would have been nice but all in all I have to say this was a great family beach vacation without breaking the bank.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank MNMinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at the wonderful townhouses of Dove Winds. My sons loved having their own room, TV and restroom upstairs while the adults could relax in the living room with the TV, kitchen and bathroom downstairs. I loved the front and back porch entrances, and the indoor pool, backyard picnic tables and grills. It is a perfect location (very close to the beach, restaurants, PuttPutt, shops, etc.). The owners are very nice, helpful and understanding. With all of this and the very reasonable prices,there was absolutely nothing lacking. It is rare to find such a great deal these days. If you are going to Chincoteague, go to Dove Winds. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: We had backyard access the first stay and we were close to the road the second stay. Both locations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaileMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My sister and I and two children stayed there visiting family in the area. We did our shopping around and since we knew the area we knew a bit about the hotels in this area. We were looking for something clean, cheap and convenient to beach. And that is what this place is for sure... This is a family run place and it is very clean the units are two bedrooms upstairs with half bath and kitchen and living area downstairs with full bath. The unit worked very well for us. If you are looking for something more than just a room this could be the place. I would say affordable is the key word for this cozy find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RebeccaR552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom/2bathroom cottage and it was excellent! Very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and you just can't beat the location. The hotel area has outdoor picnic benches and they provide you with a grill, which is a fantastic idea. We will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Just had 3 night stay at Dove Winds for Memorial Day weekend. This is a GREAT place to stay!!! So much nicer than staying at a one-room motel room. Bedrooms upstairs, kitchen and living room downstairs in addition to 1-1/2 bathrooms! Value can't be beat. My family is very big on cleanliness and this place was extremely clean. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. We've stayed at 3 other places on island over last few years and we will only stay at Dove Winds from now on! 5 stars :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,005 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Winds

Address: 7023 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2105
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Dove Winds Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing