We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place To Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dove Winds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dove Winds
Certificate of Excellence
Bryans Road, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

So many great things about this property! First, the location: It is within a quarter mile of the entrance to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge. If you stay on Chincoteague Island, you are about a mile away from everything so no location is necessarily bad. But we did like where we were.
The townhouse itself had a nice homey feel. The rooms were small but we didn't spend a lot of time there. Having two bathrooms was nice. The kitchen was also very useful since we stayed a week (we were able to eat in a couple times and reheat leftovers). The microwave was a little finicky, but nothing bad. The beds were comfy. The air conditioner in the smaller of the two rooms upstairs made all sorts of fun noises throughout the night but turned in on "fan" and it wasn't too bad overnight.
You don't get towel service every day - when needed, you take the towels down to the laundry area and exchange them for new towels. This is not an inconvenience and it probably helps keep prices low. They have an indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in a separate building, which was actually quite nice!
Our shower nozzle had broken at about 8:30pm one of the nights, and the poor owners actually got up out of bed and came to fix it that night!
Everything was clean and comfy when we got there and it was just overall a very pleasant and cost-friendly place to stay. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had an end unit which was nice (we didn't select prior to arrival). Though we don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BWizMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay with Dove Winds on our first visit to Chincoteague Island, and we will never stay another place when visiting this island. Very kid friendly. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay with our 3 year old. The pool was awesome, extremely clean and comfortable temperature. We had car trouble and the staff/owner was so helpful with getting us to alternate transportation. The room was one of the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed in during our travels. Since every place has at least one negative, the only negative we could find was the noise of the air conditioners, which really wasn't an issue. We are already planning our return trip. This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent six nights at Dove Winds and were so glad we chose it. As for comfort, the mini villa was all we could ask for. It had all the basic necessities we needed, all we had to add were the food and our clothes. The villa was clean and neat upon our arrival, and everything worked. As for location, it is one of the nearest properties before going onto Assateague Island. We like to bike so we were only a short distance from the beginning of the bike trail to the island. We will definitely be going back to Dove Winds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dadrup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Recently stayed at this establishment in June 2014......clean! clean! clean! Everything you need to feel at home. The only negative thing I can say is that the futon mattress and the pillows in the unit we stayed in need to be replaced, other than that it is great! The grounds and pool area are maintained daily; staff are fantastic; location is super!

Room Tip: The bedrooms are upstairs and there are steps to get into the units; there is only a shower, no tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent four comfortable nights at the Dove Winds. The location is excellent. Chincoteague NWR and Beach Road is just a short drive form the motel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The motel is reasonably priced and the rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. We were thrilled with the well supplied kitchen because we could prepare our meals. The air conditioner was loud but it stayed at a constant hum that provided "white noise" and we did not mind it and slept well. Maid service is not provided but we always clean up after ourselves and don't need that. The wireless internet connection worked very well. Look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: Only one unit has a ramp for handicapped access. The other units have stairs...some more then other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 786Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have stayed at Dove winds Twice now and will be going again to Chincoteague and will be making all my stays with them! They are very friendly people and make sure you have the best experience!! and even better they have CLEAN rooms and they are spacious!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammysue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

What a great place! The villas allow you to feel like home away from home. Well equipped kitchen, very clean, well maintained, and close to Assateague. It is not a 5 star hotel. It is like a super great deal on a vacation rental that has on site owners that are extremely gracious and offer wonderful hospitality. We loved the heated pool & the hot tub. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Winds

Property: Dove Winds
Address: 7023 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2105
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Dove Winds Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing