We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ice cream in the area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Creamery

Island Creamery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Homemade Ice Cream, Coffee, Free Wi-Fi
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

No trip to Chincoteague is complete without a trip to the Island Creamery. It is great after a hot day on the beach, after a great seafood dinner, or just because. The smell of the freshly cooked waffle cones is incredible. They have a substantial variety of ice cream and sherbet and everything that we have tried has been delicious.
They almost always have a relatively long line but don't let that keep you away. The servers are extremely fast and very pleasant. It's the best around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Najarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,873
    290
    82
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Homemade Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

LOVED this ice cream parlor. The flavors were inventive (we tried apple pie ice cream and bourbon caramel crunch ice cream) and delicious. Plus the pricing was right and there was plenty of seating and space.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Em R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
181 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Forget The Diet, Worth The Binge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I like to stay fit and watch what we eat, but once in a while we bend the rules. This is one of those times. While on a long weekend in Chincoteaque, Virginia we had a craving for some good, I mean great, homemade ice cream and the Island Creamery is the go to spot for this treat. Everything here is homemade, right down to the waffle cones. Being October, one of the ice cream specials was Pumpkin Pie. You could actually taste a crisp crust in the creamy ice cream. I combined it with a double dip of Vanilla and it was like a Pumpkin Pie with whipped cream. AAHHH, I want more as I write this article. My wife enjoyed a hugh Chocolate milk shake, just perfect with real whipped cream and a cherry on top. Yup, forget the calories and the guilt. If you love real homemade ice cream and want to bent your fitness rules for just a little bit, this is the place to do it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surfer02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“To Die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This Ice cream was the very best my husband & I have ever had. Even though they had so many choices, it had been a very long time since we had a banana split to share. Well, let me give you a heads up....this could have feed another person...because the 2 of us did everything we could to eat 1/2. It was soooo good. Staff was very friendly...and you can ask to sample any of the flavors. We went around 8:30pm, and the place was packed. There is a Mr. Whippy's close by, and they had no one....tell you anything?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Supreme Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We first stopped in on our vacation because of their free wifi. I quickly forgot about checking my emails after tasting a spoonful of the Chocolate Extreme Ice Cream CAKE! We returned back a couple days later for another slice, this time with two spoons - almost couldn't finish it the first time. We immediately 'liked' it on Facebook and had to promote it here. Island Creamery will be our first stop when we return next year!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Creamery also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Island Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing