We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere”

Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Takeout
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The barbecue here was very good, fried green beans were awesome, bean pot awesome. I am not a slaw person but my daughter said it was great. Sweet tea ok. A little pricey, but the outdoor atmosphere and games were fun, kept my little one busy while waiting for food which wasn't very long. Everything is outdoor and you order from a trailer. Watch out for the seagulls... Strength in numbers helps, they kept their distance when both my kids were with me but when they got up to get something and play games the gulls dive bombed my "table" (old surf board - cute) literally tried to take my ribs right off my "plate" (paper and foil).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    240
    101
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boonville, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Woody's is great!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

OK I am driving down Maddox heading toward the beach. I start seeing this place on the right that is very colorful and has some really cool decorations. Then you see a sign that says this place is Woody's and it is selling food. Well I like to eat and I was hungry so I decided to pull in to check it out. The prices were reasonable and the BBQ smell locked me in. I ordered a BBQ sandwich that had onion rings on it. The young lady taking my order was very patient and very helpful. In about 5 minutes I was handed a sack of food that would feed two people but everyone that was with me had their own sack so this all mine. This sandwich was some of the best BBQ I had ever tasted. I should have and could have made two meals out of the sandwich but it was just too good.
If you have ever been to Chincoteague and you drove past this place and didn't stop in you screwed up. Get back in you car right now and head back there to correct this mistake. If you are going to Chincoteague don't make the mistake of not visiting Woody's BBQ and Eatery.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDinBoonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do NOT eat here - no bathroom or running water for guests”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If a bathroom and running water to wash hands is important to you, do not eat here. The food is ok but expensive. Outdoor barbecue from a trailer type of place, but portion size is small and expensive. The sweet potato french fries with honey tasted awesome but it costs $7. The salads were average. I had to flag down and wait for one of the staff for forks and spoons. Overall bill was $65 for what should be a $30.

The outside hammocks and patio tables/chairs were a very nice touch. However, sea gulls would constantly swoop down trying to peck away your leftovers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bbear72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Woody's has great BBQ. We always stop by for lunch. Place gets packed at night and the waits can be outrageous - which is a good thing! Only thing I don't care for is the coleslaw, being from lancaster county, Pennsylvania there is no other coleslaw than home.

Helpful?
1 Thank FairReviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
“Best food on the island”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This was literally the best meal I've ever had on this island and I've been coming here for 20 years. The sauces used on the sandwiches are sublime. The sides are delicious. Its a little pricey, but worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank callmemaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing