We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way To See The Ponies”

Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour
Ranked #12 of 30 Tours in Chincoteague Island
Attraction details
Orlando, FL
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Way To See The Ponies”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This tour goes 7 1/2 miles through areas not accessible by car. It's also probably your best shot at seeing the wild ponies close up on the wildlife refuge. On our tour ponies blocked our bus, and we sat on the road for 15 minutes waiting for them to move. Nobody complained about them coming to us. The bus is air conditioned, clean, and best of all, you don't have to drive. The tour is $12.50 a person, so it's a steal as tours go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hjbear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This tour takes you into non-accessible areas of the park where wildlife congregate. Our guide Jody, was terrific at spotting wildlife and identifying them for us. She was friendly, enthusiastic, and although she probably does this tour hundreds of times, she sounded like a friend sharing an exciting adventure rather than a bored tour guide.
On our bus tour in early June we saw over 30 different types of birds, a black snake, many terrapins, lots and lots of Chincoteague ponies, Delmarva grey fox (threatened species) and white tail deer. I was most excited about seeing a Bald Eagle sitting on a pine limb looking out over a pond and a screech owl nesting in a box. My husband who's the real birder in the family, was excited to see Stilts and Oyster-catchers and many other transient birds which I can't name. He filled in more than 30 of the birds on his birding list on this trip
One of the great things about this tour was that Jody encouraged us to let her know if we saw something interesting and would stop, back-up, pull forward or whatever it took to allow us to get a picture or a good view.
My husband and I both agreed that this was the best tour of this sort we had ever been on and that Jody was a great tour guide. This was definitely the highlight of our Eastern Shore trip this year.

You should know before you go, as many others have pointed out, there is no bathroom on the bus-consider this if you are taking small children; you don't get off the bus during the tour (that would disturb the wildlife), you can have water but no food on the bus, you will be asked to turn off cell phones. Price in June 2014 was $12.50 per person.

Also, I think the buss has a wheelchair lift in the back as there was a lady with a walker who got on that way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great trip, saw lots of wildlife and our driver was very well informed.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was an awesome part of our trip to the island. The price was reasonable. Please note you do NOT get off and on the bus but the driver goes out of their way to make sure you can get pictures of the wildlife. The drivers are also well informed about the area, the wildlife, history, etc. It's a great way to start off you trip to the island and get a feel for the size of the park.
I would go on this trip again when I revisit the island. You'll see different things each time I am sure. We saw not only ponies up close and next to the bus, but bald eagle, osprey, turtle laying eggs, more types of birds than I can list, and even some snakes. A great value for the money!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanCG22860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Tour, horrible tourists”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We have taken this tour at least 4 times previously, each time we enjoy seeing the ponies close up. The bus is nice an clean, the tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable. Only drawback was the other tourists, from the time we got on grown adults had sprawled their belongings all over the bus to save seats for their friends who had not arrived yet. Our family of four had to split up, even though we arrived early. We looked past the seating issue only to have others push you out of the way to take pictures, shame the wildlife outside of the bus acted better then the individuals inside the bus! Maybe in the future the tour operators could make sure that families are not separated. We took a boat tour also during our trip and it was much more civilized!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I both took the tour for the first time. We saw quite a few ponies and a few birds. Some of the ponies were in the distance and some were even right next to the bus!

Things to know:
The tour was $12.50 per adult
The tour is 2 hours long
You aren't allowed to leave the bus during the tour
There are no bathrooms on the bus
Water is allowed but no food or other beverages
Cameras of all types welcome (SLR users: the windows at the top open so you may stick your camera lenses out them)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour also viewed

 

Been to Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing