We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The owners and employees are the nicest I have ever met. The hotel room is clean and nicely decorated. The balcony makes the hotel. We sat out every evening watching the fishing boats come in and the sun set. They have a little fishing building that houses a stove, large refrigerator and fish cleaning station. If you book at the Anchor Inn, you can moor your boat there and take your trailer across the street into a locked area. We have already booked for 2014.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    33
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is the 5th year we stayed here and it continues to be our favorite place. The owners & staff are friendly & accommodating, breakfast is excellent, you have beautiful sunset views every day and there are several restaurants nearby. Our favorite room is 125 which is an efficiency: 4-burner stove with over (small), full-size refrigerator, sink, and all the utensils & dishware you need.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4AkerFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We enjoyed it very much. Located on the bay and nice view of the water.Breakfast is decent.Plumbing can be a little quieter between rooms.The next room took a shower at 11 pm and it sounded like niagra falls for half an hour.

Room Tip: go for bay end
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aviron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I purchased a bushel of cooked crabs, placed them in my room in a closed cooler. When I returned later I found that they had opened my closed cooler and placed a garbage bag over the box of crabs along with a note from management to remove the crabs from my room. I found out later that about half the box of crabs was missing. I called the office and was told they would not take any action for the missing items. I was also told by the owner, at that time, that guests are not allowed to eat crabs or store seafood in the efficiency because of the smell. I would like to point out, that there is a note above the sink that states the crabs cannot be COOKED in the efficiency but no mention of not being able to eat cooked seafood in the efficiency. They wanted me to put the bushel of cooked crabs in a community Crab/Picnic House where everyone had access to it. I was not about to put the crabs I purchased for $75 in a community area. Besides they only had a freezer there. The crabs were cooked and ready to be eaten, not to be frozen. I thought my purchase would have been safe in my locked efficiency, not to find half of the box missing. I go on vacation to relax, not to constantly be on guard.

What is the reason for vacationers to come to Chincoteague other than for seafood and beaches?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ted46878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I was somewhat apprehensive about not staying in a chain hotel, but the Anchor Inn was a very pleasant surprise. The price was at least $100 less than the chain hotels were charging and it was perfect for a one night stay. There is nothing fancy about this place, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was great providing easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The breakfast was very nicely presented, offering juice, coffee, various pastries, bagels, english muffins and cereal. I also liked that it was a no pet motel.

The only negatives are that the room was not soundproof, but not unlike being at someone's home and the bedding and furniture is a bit tired looking and in need of replacement in the near future. Neither of these was a big deal.

I would definitely recommend this motel in the future to anyone going to Chincoteaque.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D29621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband surprised me with a long weekend and booked the Anchor Inn. The boat marina, and panoramic view, staff, everything was exceptional! We will never go to the campground again. This is our new Anniversary Destination

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the King Suite is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherieLynn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

When I book any hotel stay I have to keep in mind how my kids love traveling but are very hesitant to stay anywhere besides our spacious home. Anchor Inn was very reasonable in comparison to the other area hotels. There rooms where clean and comfortable. Our room had a nice waterfront view and a cute kitchenette. This is my first time writing a review because I was really impressed with one act in particular. I left my brand new pair of Coach designer percription glasses in the room. Retail price of 600.00 after lenses and all. I was really bummed and upset. I called the next day and was told that they found my glasses and were mailing them out the same day. Following day (which is today) as they promised my glasses arrived in the mail. I am extremely impress with such honesty. I will be staying there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Folwacznyinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Property: Anchor Inn
Address: 3791 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply inspired by the natural elements of sand, sea, and sky, the Anchor Inn is beautifully unpretentious, a reflection of our guest’s simplicity, good taste and lifestyle. Feel the distinction, the subtleties and casual style the moment you enter one of our twenty one elegantly appointed rooms. Step out on to our private deck overlooking the boats in the marina or the bay. Breathe in the fresh ocean breeze. Savor the moment as the sun sets behind our hotel from the comfort of your own private balcony. Combining the warmth and elegance of a small country inn with all the facilities of a modern hotel, our hotel in Chincoteague is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or pleasure. Escape and discover the Anchor Inn in Chincoteague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing