We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Junction City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I chose the Birchwood Motel when traveling with my 4 y/o son because of the reviews about how wonderful the guy who runs the place is. Safety is a huge concern of mine when I travel with just my son. I was more than pleased with Rick, and reviews are not exaggerating when they speak of him. We arrived late, and unannounced. The office was technically closed, but Rick took the time to check us in, and ask me questions about our visit. He gave us appropriate pamphlets for the next day. My son was being a little rambunctious while we were trying to talk, but Rick didn't mind, he understood what a child who had been in a car for hours was like, and spent some time talking to my son too.
The rooms are nothing special, but there's a bed, and a tv, and it's all very clean. I wasn't looking for anything fancy this trip because I knew we weren't going to spend much time at the hotel, but we would be getting up and exploring the island.
In the morning, there was coffee, cereal, and coffee cakes available, but the best part was the foals grazing on the fairgrounds next door! I absolutely love horses, and that was the best breakfast ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank klea03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    22
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent a lovely long weekend at the Birchwood in mid September. I travel a lot for business and found the personal attention of the Birchwood to be a refreshing change of pace from the sterile chain motel experience.
Rick and Jeanne are diligently preserving this cozy piece of Chincoteague history. The motel is within easy walking distance to downtown, there is a long fishing pier for those inclined and the foals in the next-door carnival grounds are very cute.
If you want some low-key time away from the usual motel experience you will be well-suited to give the Birchwood a call.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ezelte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

clean room, great price, owner offered me towels to wipe the dew off my bike in the morning and allowed us to check out a little late to watch the rocket launch from his pier. When we arrived at the motel we were both froze from our ride their and he made us both a cup of coffee before he even knew we were going to stay their. highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you want a CLEAN, relaxing motel, stay here. Rick is very accommodating and helpful and just a down-right nice person.
And did I say Clean room? I know this might sound strange but it's important to us
We will definitely stay here again.
Thanks Rick !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks for the review. We look forward to having you as guests again at the Birchwood soon. Have a terrific weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My nephew and I stayed here for three nights the first week of August. We had a very nice time. It is an older motel that could probably benefit from a few upgrades, especially the carpeting, but it was clean overall and spacious. There is a little bit of a musty smell about the room, but I think that you are likely to find that anywhere on an island in the middle of the humid summer. (Beachy smells, I guess, more accurate than musty.) The microwave and mini fridge is nice to have. The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. He was very pleasant and chatty every time we saw him. The private pier across the street was the reason we picked this particular motel as my nephew was only interested in fishing and it was definitely a highlight of the trip. The pool was very nice and clean. The island is pretty small, so I think no matter where you stay, you are within a few minutes drive of the beach and there is the trolley (which we never took advantage of) that will get you around the island for 25 cents a trip! This particular motel was a few blocks away from the little downtown shopping area but a bit further away from the other touristy places like the mini golf and ice cream places, but I actually like that we weren't staying right in the middle of all that. Close enough to drive to any of those places within a few short minutes and if you rented bikes, you'd be fine to hop on and pedal anywhere you needed to go. The free breakfast was nice for the coffee and friendly conversations with the host and other guests, but if you don't like sweets at breakfast you might have to stock the mini fridge in your room with healthier choices. They did have several choices of cereal, but otherwise it was danish and pastries; no fruit or yogurt or anything like that. If you are used to really fancy, high end hotels, this may not be for you, but if you like friendly, family oriented, low key kinds of stays, this place is nice for that. I'd stay here again for the fishing pier and the location away from the "busy" area of town. (It is right next to the fair grounds, but there was nothing going on there during our stay).

Room Tip: Definitely call the hotel directly to book. I got a better price than anything advertised online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jnmpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelTrot, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you and your nephew enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax on the pier and in the pool during your stay.
We look forward to another opportunity to host you at the Birchwood, and once again, thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I recently stayed at this motel with my family on a road trip vacation for just one night. We had two rooms for 5 of us. The location was great. It was minutes from the beach, directly across the way from a pier that the co-owners informed us we could us, and near to shops and restaurants in town. Upon arriving, the co-owner greeted us at check-in and filled our ears with lots of information about the area, crabbing equipment available and how to to get to many places. We did check out the pier in the morning, and it was very nice and would be a great place for fishing or crabbing, especially with little ones. We appreciated the views. The rooms were ok. They were clean, but dated (they lacked hair dryers). The rooms did come with fly swatters, but there were only a few flys and they were all outside the rooms. Our mini fridges worked great, and there were nice chairs to sit in outside. The continental breakfast in the morning was good, consisting of cereal and many store bought danishes, as well as juice and coffee. The best part however were the smiling co-owners helping you get what you needed to eat and opening the doors in and out. They also knew lots of things to start your day with such as the weather forecast and hours of the beach and other in town activities. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've been to the Birchwood multiple times and have always had a pleasant experience. The owners are very sociable and personally escorted me to my room. They always inquire how my stay is going, if I’m comfortable, and if I need anything. Breakfast is my favorite part of the stay; making small talk with the owners and other guests. If you are looking for a fun, comfortable, and affordable vacation experience this is the place to go! It is not the Ritz Carlton, but it is an awesome, clean, family-friendly establishment.

Room Tip: Always call before you book, typically you can get a cheaper rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Property: Birchwood Inn
Address: 3650 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1800 (Formerly Birchwood Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Birchwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're staying for a day or the week, the Birchwood Inn has something to satisfy everyone's taste. We pride ourselves on being a home away from home for those visiting the island, providing clean rooms and friendly staff for all of our guests. Our efficiency room kitchens are fully equipped with everything you'll need to feel at home and enjoy your vacation while saving your budget for fun activities on the island. Located on the Birchwood grounds, you will find several outdoor barbeque grills, comfy porch chairs, and of course our beautiful sparkling outdoor swimming pool, completed with chaise lounges. Need a break from the sun? Tuck under the pool side gazebo and enjoy a libation or maybe even a poolside picnic lunch, the choice is yours. We know you'll enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing