We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a lot of improvement”

Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs a lot of improvement”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband, daughter and I went for dinner. The waitress was very friendly, and the food was ok. The atmosphere was terrible. It is a hole in the wall type place. everything is in need of updating. One of the cooks came out and sat down at one of the tables, looked at us, and went back into the kitchen. The whole experience was just a little strange. For a few bucks more we could have gone to Bill's Seafood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    74
    57
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Mr. Baldy's”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Service was excellent and the meal was simple but was very good. I had a veggie omelet and hot oatmeal.

I love the decor of the restaurant. It has the down-home feel to it. This is a place where locals eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clairebh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the island!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is nothing fancy but we went there for breakfast one morning during our vacation and ended up coming back twice more. It had good, down-home food, a decent selection and good prices. My son loved their pancakes. Nothing too unusual on the menu, but simple items well done. Nuff said!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ehilgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, inexpensive food!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It had a lot to choose from, reasonable prices, and was really close to our resort! The staff was pretty friendly, and the fried chicken is worth the wait!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but good food”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It's not a fancy place, but really nice little spot to go with your family. Really liked the Beatle's yellow submarine theme and decor! The food was nice, basic comfort food and most of the entrees were very reasonably priced. The cornbread was excellent! We had dinner there one night, then went back for breakfast a few days later.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnmpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing