We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we needed”
other travellers have booked this property
Come to Snug Harbor to relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come to Snug Harbor to relax
Snug Harbor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Come to Snug Harbor to relax
Snug Harbor
Our waterfont cottages
Our cottages from the water
Our beachy spot
Our relaxation spot
The lighthouse view
Kayaking with the ponies
Cottages from the water
Snug Harbor
Enjoying gorgeous sunset by the tiki hut
wild ponies feeding across the channel
kayaking with our guide
Fishing at Snug Harbor is great!
Gorgeous sunsets by the tiki hut
Aerial picture of our premises
Sunset Cruise on our Pontoon Boats
Boating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chincoteague Island, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
188debc
Adamstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I needed a few days of R & R and Snug Harbor was perfect! We would recommend this as a great economic vacation. We were surrounded by various wildlife as well as a constant slight breeze which prevented mosquitoes. The view was great and the sunsets magnificent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The playing of music from the office all day.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblobster...
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Cottage was very clean and with a lovely view of the light house. Wish I had a few more days to explore. Basia was nice and informative. We had a great time Kayaking. lots of birds and ponies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the place
Liked least: What was not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenb37
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome people + awesome place=Awesome Time!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our vacation started out great at checkin-Basia was super friendly and helpful from the start! Her positive "can do" attitude and attention to detail made us realize we were at an awesome place! From Eco Kayak Sunset Tours to recommendations where to spot and photograph the incredible canvas of nature's colors and wildlife-Snug Harbor had it all! Basia and John treated everyone with a friendly, positive attitude. You can't beat the location-directly across from Assateague lighthouse! If you want to have vacation that you and your family will talk about and treasure always-Snug Harbor is your place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Waterfront Bay Getaway!”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Casual, comfortable and relaxing at a great waterfront location! If “5-star” pampering and amenities is what you seek then look elsewhere. This is exactly what is needed when intending to spend more time enjoying the outdoors then inside. The cabins fulfill what is needed for this type of getaway, a clean and comfortable place in the evening after a great day of hiking, boating, fishing, biking, etc… Plus nice dock waterfront seating areas with picturesque view for morning coffee or laidback sunset drinks. Our host was friendly and sought to make our stay enjoyable for what we wanted to do. We will be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location--close to everything yet away from busy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn75...
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best location on the island.”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a few nights with our pet lab. The location is awesome. It gives the feel of a tropical island. Beautiful views of Asseauteague and the bays. So relaxing to sit along the docks having cocktails by the tiki huts. Our unit faced the water which made it nice to sit right out front. To our surprise, the units were well remodeled since our last visit. New appliances, full size oven and refrigerator. Pleasant furnishings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach atmosphere.
Liked least: Could use a microwave, but owners said they would have supplied it if I had asked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie G
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snug Harbor Getaway”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A little slice of paradise describes the locales Caribbean island feel with the water, sand, tiki bar and calypso tunes. The cottages are clean and quaint though somewhat rustic, and you can bring your pet. We enjoyed our first time kayaking on an eco-tour in the Assateague Channel with views of flora and fauna, including the famous ponies. Also, a great view of the lighthouse.

This is a family-owned business and the owners are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about all things Chincoteague. Basha loves to answer all your questions. We enjoyed our relaxing June getaway so much that we are returning in October with three other couples.

We would have given 5 stars, but the bed in our cottage was too small for two adults who are used to a western king at home. A queen size bed would have been great; however, we understand that some of the other cottages have larger beds.

Highly recommend Snug Harbor for a quiet vacation getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in2indigo
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could not have been any better.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Four women who volunteer at a farm for "RETIRED EQUINES" in CT decide to do a road trip to find the "Wild Ponies of Chincoteague". Snug Harbor popped up on TripAdvisor and caught my eye right away. The location, description of accommodations AND reviews from customers told me "this is the place'! Good call because we couldn't have asked for a better experience. It is very laid back, the accommodations are clean, cozy and comfortable. We rented kayaks from Snug Harbor and saw ponies!! Better than National Geographic!! It was an amazing experience and John and Basia make sure you are a happy camper when you leave!! They obviously love what they do and enjoy sharing their world with the people that come to stay at Snug Harbor. This place is a gem and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too hard to choose.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing