We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Waterfront Cottages”
other travellers have booked this property
Come to Snug Harbor to relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come to Snug Harbor to relax
Snug Harbor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Come to Snug Harbor to relax
Snug Harbor
Our waterfont cottages
Our cottages from the water
Our beachy spot
Our relaxation spot
The lighthouse view
Kayaking with the ponies
Cottages from the water
Snug Harbor
Enjoying gorgeous sunset by the tiki hut
wild ponies feeding across the channel
kayaking with our guide
Fishing at Snug Harbor is great!
Gorgeous sunsets by the tiki hut
Aerial picture of our premises
Sunset Cruise on our Pontoon Boats
Boating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chincoteague Island, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DuaneandD...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Waterfront Cottages”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of four enjoyed our little cottage for two nights. The location was perfect, close to great seafood restaurants yet quiet, peaceful and relaxing looking out over the water to Assateague Island and the lighthouse. We loved the character of the cottages, well-equipped, clean and comfortable. Our children loved being right along the water, awesome crabbing, an exciting boat ride, ducks quaking right outside your door. The grounds were well kept...sand, palm trees, tiki huts, boat and kayak rentals. We hope to stay longer next time:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
beavis679...
Purcellville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for family or romantic getaway!”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great customer service, lovely view, convenient, comfortable place with all the basic necessities that you need for a fun time. Good for families or a romantic getaway. I highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and customer service
Liked least: Kitchen amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Neat waterfront establishment with the greatest view and nicest hosts. The most relaxing place I have ever stayed. I needed some break from all the hassle and bustle to simply rest and now I know there is no better place than Snug Harbor. Quiet, peacefull, relaxing, right by the water, spotless cute cottages, kayaks and boats for rent right on site, birds singing all day, ponies across the water, dolphins swimming in the channel...what else could I ask for? It's a hidden gem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonsMo...
Silverdale, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dock of the bay”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The 2 bedrooms (rental #11) are a bit awkwardly arranged. You walk into a bedroom, then living room, then through another room to get to the 2nd bedroom. However, it was clean. 1- window air conditioner for the entire place. Had to leave the bedroom doors open to get cool air. Had a box fan in 1 room and another fan in the 2nd bedroom. Overall, not as cool as I like to be at night. With all that said, location is beautiful and staff is friendly. This rental is not luxurious but shabby sheak in my opinion.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheActive...
Manhasset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to go home”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family traveled down to Chincoteague Island for a week of fun and relaxation. This was something we have been looking forward to doing for a long time. While the surroundings and Snug Harbor Marina met our expectations, we were not expecting to fall in love with the Chincoteague/Assateague area.

It all began when we pulled up and entered this CLEAN, updated waterfront cottage. The owners were friendly and welcoming. Prior to our trip we had every indication that this would be a special place to rent because when my wife and I were growing up, our parents also took us on vacations to a waterfront community.

This cottage is quaint, inviting and relaxing for a water side getaway. It has a nice size deck and excellent access to the dock where we kept our boat (13ft) and wave-runner. Water pressure for the shower is excellent and furniture is comfortable. We saw horses, dolphins, sea turtles, eagles and osprey near the bay that runs directly behind the cottages.

We enjoyed visiting Assateague Lighthouse, The National Wildlife Refuge, Beach, and town with many ice cream shops to choose from. If you are a pie lover, you have to visit “Church Street Produce” they make the best fruit pies.

At night we grilled fresh seafood, steaks, burgers and corn all week long. There are plenty of places to eat out, but we chose the BBQ behind the cottage instead. Our son actually stayed on the water all day exploring the bay. He had such a great time. Snug Harbor was one of our absolute favorite places. The nights were peaceful and the locals are friendly. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Lani B
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be Ready for Fun, Tranquility, Great Views, and the owners Treat you the Best!”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for a week, and had a Great Time. We kayaked, went boating , and Fished, and Just Relaxed..they have A lot to offer ! Snug Harbor is so serial , the owners are the best, and treat everyone , Wonderful!! If you are looking for a place to stay , to get away, and relax .. Snug Harbor is the Place !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kayaking and boating and the views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing