We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

SouthEast Expeditions
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SouthEast Expeditions is the Eastern Shore of Virginia's Leading EcoTour Outfitter. Leading Kayak Trips & Rentals through Barrier Islands, Salt Marshes, and Coastal Creeks from Chincoteague to Cape Charles, our ACA certified guides are also trained naturalists. Classes & Sales are also available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a wonderful experience with this company. We signed up for a beginners kayaking session and from our first calls/emails with questions to the actual kayaking experience--the staff were very friendly, patient and professional. Our guide Hillary gave us a quick lesson and took us on the trip across the Chincoteague bay area. She did a great job accommodating the different levels of experience and skill. Also, this island setting is absolutely beautiful!

Thank AreDee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonesailin22, General Manager at SouthEast Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

We appreciate your great review, and agree that our "office" is stunning! I'm glad to hear that your experience was a positive one, and we look forward to getting you on the water, again!

Sincerely,

Hillary Chesson

General Manager
SouthEast Expeditions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I had never kayaked before and we thought the calm waters of Chincoteague would be the perfect place! Caroline was our guide. She was very knowledgeable on the wildlife of the area as well as her kayaking skills. We had a great morning and were lucky enough to see the ponies!

1  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonesailin22, General Manager at SouthEast Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Our trips are perfect for beginner and intermediate paddlers, alike! I'm glad to hear that you got to see some ponies, and that you had a wonderful experience! We look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Sincerely,

Hillary Chesson

General Manager
SouthEast Expeditions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a great experience with SouthEast expeditions! There were 3 (novice) adult and a 4 year-old in our group. Shannon and Caroline were patient, enthusiastic and knowledgable. From the first phone call, they were eager to work around our schedule and to accommodate our needs. We chose the early morning kayak tour, crossing the Assateague channel. Caroline was well-versed about the indigenous birds and marine life, which made the trip even more enjoyable. Highly recommend kayaking as a "new" way to see the island.

2  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonesailin22, General Manager at SouthEast Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

We think that the BEST way to explore the island is from the seat of a kayak! I'm glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time, and we look forward to getting you on the water, again.

Sincerely,

Hillary Chesson

General Manager
SouthEast Expeditions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We loved our guided tour with Hillary! She knew so much about everything we saw on our tour to the lighthouse! We were not very experienced kayakers and her lesson before we started made us confident and comfortable on the water!

Thank ericadeforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonesailin22, General Manager at SouthEast Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

ericadeforge,

We appreciate your review! Our paddling clinics at the beginning of each and every trip are a great way to learn a new skill or to brush up on an old skill, too! We want to make sure you're confident and comfortable before we even leave the shop. I'm glad you had such a blast, and I am looking forward to seeing you, soon!

Sincerely,

Hillary T. Chesson

General Manager
SouthEast Expeditions
32218 Lankford Highway
Cape Charles, VA 23310
(757) 990-2011
htchesson@gmail.com
www.southeastexpeditions.net

Helping you Explore the Shore from Saxis to Kiptopeke and all points in between!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We are a family with young (older elem aged) kids. None of us had ever tried kayaking before. Craig, our kayak tour guide, was patient -- at first we were not good and there was a lot of crazy fighting as we tried to learn to paddle our tandem kayaks! But within minutes we had the hang of it. My hunch is that any of the tour guides working at this place would be great. We met a couple of them before we left and they all seemed very down to earth.

Had a blast... this is a gorgeous place to kayak whether you are a newbie or a veteran paddler! Saw wonderful birds, had a famous Chincoteague pony pose for us just a few feet off the shore just in front of the famous lighthouse.

I would TOTALLY use this company again, as they were organized, friendly, laid-back but safety conscious. (I was afraid that we might get a young, fit instructor who would think we were ninnies! Ahhhahha I think in the beginning we WERE ninnies! But our guide stuck with us and eventually got us laughing and smiling and enjoying it all and we were ninnies no more!) It was easy to book a reservation, and they delivered as promised. He tried to take us to places where we'd see good wildlife but also made sure we didn't over do it on our first trip out.

Thanks for a great vacation memory, SouthEast expeditions!!!!!

Thank getoutsidewithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonesailin22, General Manager at SouthEast Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Ponies, huh? Awesome! I'm glad to hear that you caught a glimpse of the ponies and had a great time paddling with SouthEast Expeditions! We pride ourselves on making your entire experience, from booking to paddling, a positive experience, and I'm glad to hear that you found that to be the case. I'd love to get you and the kiddos out on the water, again!

Sincerely,
Hillary T. Chesson

General Manager
SouthEast Expeditions
32218 Lankford Highway
Cape Charles, VA 23310
(757) 990-2011
htchesson@gmail.com
www.southeastexpeditions.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SouthEast Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to SouthEast Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing