We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Blighty in the Ponyland”

Channel Bass Inn Tea Room
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The Old Blighty in the Ponyland”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This review is for the afternoon tea, and afternoon tea only. It started at 3:30, not five o'clock, but then again we weren't in Dorset neither. The setting I'd give an 8 out of 10, maybe a 9 - tea sandwiches, scones, tablecloths, four kinds of jam, a slab of butter and more than a dollop of heavy cream. Your 23$ buy you 4 courses, starting from tea sandwiches and ending up in cookies, all masterfully done, and with an endless supply of tea. And milk. Meh. The English, what can you do... Tea was as authentic as the English tea is supposed to be - bloody awful, but the baked goods were plentiful (we ended up with a couple of overflow bags) and very good indeed. The proprietors, Barbara and David, were on display to do the small talk, plus Barbara ran the whole show. Jesus, David, DO something! No wonder the suffragette movement won the vote... Very welcoming folks nonetheless. Two non-English distractions - a couple of Russian girls (W&T I suppose), dressed in the traditional Russian style of oil rig waitresses (but otherwise very efficient and courteous), and the music - low key enough, but seriously - the elevator music with an occasional and much welcomed interlude by Mary Chapin Carpenter? However much I love her, she ain't anywhere close to being English. You've got your XTCs, and OMDs, and BSPs, and that's what you choose? But that's just me getting all old and grumpy. A great escapist outlet through and through.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gordonsmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea-riffic!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wonderful experience and wonderful food! Went to Channel Bass Inn for their afternoon tea. They said to come hungry and boy they were not kidding. The egg salad was scrumptious and the scones..OH MY. Best I have ever had. The innkeepers are delightful and friendly. It was definitely a highlight of my trip to Chincoteague. I have been visiting the island for 35 years and wonder WHY did it take me so long to do this?!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishOhioGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tea time”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Went to the Channel Bass for tea. Started with sandwiches, went on to scones and then dessert of your choice. The service and place settings were very attractive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jegmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gun Barrel City, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally amazing”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Everything has exceeded our expectations! Our sitting room is large, comfortable and beautifully decorated as is our bedroom and private bath. We have a well-stocked bookcase and wireless Internet! We asked for a glass of ice in the evening and were provided a lovely tray, ice bucket and two crystal glasses.
David and Barbara greeted us on arrival and provided a map and details of this charming town. They recommended several restaurants and made reservations for us.
This is a fantastic bed and breakfast!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Gracious Innkeepers Make the Difference!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our first time on Chincoteague, we were greeted by Barbara and Dave and made to feel right at home. Their inn is amazingly comfortable, well appointed with all of the amenities you could ask for... and the breakfast! Wow, what a remarkably talented staff who turn out the best gourmet breakfast items and make you forget about having lunch. Their afternoon tea is not to be missed either: scones, muffins, sandwiches, and pot after pot of delicious tea. A stay at the Channel Bass Inn is a destination in its own right.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PapaGuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Channel Bass Inn Tea Room also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Channel Bass Inn Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing