We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, will only stay here while on the island!”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent customer service and the whole place is like a small community. It's quiet, in a great location and everyone is super friendly. The rooms have a cute sweet charm but with modern necessities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pony pen (it faces the assateague island side)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susieq829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
There are newer reviews for Refuge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

I always loved the Misty stories as a child and had always wanted to visit this island. Researched a lot of hotels on-line, almost booked a "chain" hotel, but am so glad we stayed at the Refuge Inn. The room was clean, great bath towels, comfy beds, nice sized, clean pool with lots of pool towels, even a hot tub! The complementary breakfast each day was a nice treat, something for everyone included in the buffet. Friendly desk staff, housekeeping staff very nice, always asking if we needed anything. Check out the roof top observatory and the meadow observatory at the rear of pony pasture next door. Wonderful views. I would definitely stay at the Refuge Inn on our next visit. It is close to the beach, good bike rental next door, nice staff there also. Reasonable bike and umbrella rentals. Definitely worth it to rent bikes and bike to the beach on the trail that only allows hikers & bikers. We did it early one morning and the beach is just beautiful. I cannot wait to go back to Chincoteague. Am still trying to talk my husband into retiring to this beautiful island paradise. Triple A+ for this hotel !!

Room Tip: The room on the 1st Floor was lovely - just one very minor thing - the rooms have humidifiers which...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at this hotel for a wedding. The rooms are beautiful and all unique and different. Everything was clean (which must be no feat with so much sand) and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The pool felt great, and the pony yard next door was fun. The location was also perfect to travel to Assateague Island and watch the surf (too cold to swim at the beginning of May). I would highly recommend this family owned hotel for their high level of service and the comfort of stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After reading a lot of reviews we decided on the refuge. They had great reviews, there price was very reasonable considering some hotels were almost $100 more, and because it was close to the beach so we could just bike there. And I am so glad I did! Beautiful room & furniture.(we stayed in room 111 which was a deluxe queen, contemporary beach furnishings). when opening the door my 5 year old screams.. "i love this apartment"... and that is exactly what it felt like.. more like a home then a hotel. It was very clean, water pressure was great, linens were soft, dvd player, hairdryer & fridge in room. Pool was half indoor and half outdoor which is the best of both worlds, hot tub was great. They have a sauna & fitness room but i didn't use it. bike depot right next door so you can grab a bike and go and don't have to worry about parking your car somewhere. lots of restaurants & stores close by, you can walk or bike to everything you need. Restaurants I recommend around refuge: seashell cafe, woody's bbq, island creamery.
I can not stress enough how wonderful the staff was. We were welcomed upon arrival, the cleaning staff were friendly, and the breakfast staff were so friendly! I find that most hotels you stay in are very sterile.. the rooms and the people.. not here! It's a great atmosphere and very welcoming. Even when my son was fussing at breakfast the woman serving breakfast came over to see if there was anything she could do to cheer him up.
Breakfast was great. Continental (oatmeal, toast, fruit, cereal, english muffins, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee/tea.... however they service one hot item in addition to that. One day it was waffles, second day was scrambled eggs, third was french toast. And they were all fantastic. With that big breakfast it really saved us a lot of money by avoiding eating out for breakfast everyday. They also have cute gifts around the dining area.
I don't think I could say one bad thing about the Refuge Inn. It was wonderful and we will be back!

Room Tip: Liked parking lot side (close to your car), 1st floor(park bikes outside room or watch ponies), room...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrisandkandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were looking for a basic, comfortable place for a beach vacation, and chose the Refuge Inn. It was certainly comfortable, but it was more than that. We booked one of the more expensive rooms--which still wasn't that expensive--and were surprised by how roomy, tastefully decorated, and well-furnished it turned out to be. We were traveling with two other couples who each had the more basic rooms, but there was plenty of seating and space in ours to host an evening cocktail hour. The room was also very quiet, in spite of the presence of lots of kids at the hotel--and quiet was important to me, as I was doing some writing every morning. There was also a nice pool, a comfortable hot tub, and a very good breakfast: I think it's described on the website as "continental" but it's really more than that: French toast was available one morning, and waffles on another. The breakfast staff worked hard and fast at keeping things restocked, and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, it was everything we wanted, and then some. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hamlet903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in Chincoteague, this is it! PONIES and HORSES, too! The Refuge Inn has it all and more. CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, CONVIENENT, QUIET, and did I say CLEAN~ The Inn is at the entrance to Assateague Seahore State Park. and a few miles from the downtown part of Chincotague~ The Inn staff are all friendly, pleasant, helpful and happy to see you~ We stayed in a Family Queen room. Super comfortable beds, clean bathroom and enough space for a family of four (2 being teenagers) The pool was a good size and clean. One thing that impressed me was washer/dryer on each floor for guests to use. Continental breakfast menu changed daily. Bike Rental was on premises, too. Keep the bike for 24Hrs or more. Ride into a private beach only accessible with a bike or on foot! Pristine and Gorgeous~
Most certain we will return again and again~

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommasu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Friendly staff greeted us when we arrived early for check-in. Our room was being cleaned, but they took our cell phone and called us as soon as our room was ready. Room was very clean and cozy. Entire town had a very quaint feeling and this inn was perfect! Our entire family enjoyed the breakfast each morning. Always 3 cereal options and multiple juice options plus 1 hot option, which changed each morning. For example waffles, french toast or scrambled eggs. Also available were yogurt or hard boiled eggs plus toast. This is a nice feature at the inn that saved this family of 5 money each day! The inn's location is right on the main street that takes you to the national reserve and beach...great location! The location ples friendly, helpful staff made our stay very memorable and ensured our return to the Refuge Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minniemouse122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,232 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £71 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing