We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real flavor of the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real flavor of the island”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pony pen. It was so much fun to watch the ponies playing. The whole place was out of the ordinary, very comfortable & friendly. Located next to the bridge to the part it was easy to walk over the bridge and enjoy the water and wildlife.

Room Tip: recommend a room looking out over the pony pen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review! Also, thanks for posting a very cute picture of Martha, and Lady Kate, two of our resident Chincoteague Ponies. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you back on Chincoteague Island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    182
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
371
295
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Comfortable, clean and friendly- run more like b&b than motel. We rented bikes and rode to beach and all over town. Sleepy, small town- more for enjoying the beach, and slowing down. Kids loved ponies on site, pool and even rocked on observatory deck (w.cutest stairs). If wasnt for spotty traffic on bay bridge, we would be back all the time.

Room Tip: 105 was next to main office across bike depot and horses
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrdeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everyone was so friendly,from the front desk to housekeeping. Everyone made you feel at home.Breakfast was great. The room was clean & comfy. The indoor pool was nice. Absolutely loved this place. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here as a last minute anniversary get-away during the off season. I did not expect much. I expected a cheap room, near enough to everything. We were greeted with the most pleasant staff members and treated like family the entire time we were there. Our room was homey and not "hotel stuffy" feeling. Everything was super clean and very inviting. We asked if they had a corkscrew and they smiled, said we were living the good life, and asked if we also wanted wine glasses! We did rent bikes from next door, and that was the easiest thing ever, we even traded the bikes in halfway through our rental from road bikes to cruisers and there wasn't even a glitch in the transition. They gave us recommendations for restaurants and told us where they would shop. Honestly, best hotel I've stayed in in a long time!
I was hesitant considering all the good things written on here, usually there's something negative to say, but I cannot find anything negative to say! I don't usually write reviews, but this could not be overlooked!
Wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I really can't say enough about this place! The king bed was so comfortable, the staff is friendly, the breakfast was solid, and the whole thing was so well priced! We loved our room, the open air roof, and the hot tub as well! Right next door there is a bike rental which is perfect for touring Chincoteague. I definitely recommend this place for families, couples, and everything in between.

Be aware, there is not enough seating for breakfast! We sat out front which was perfect. But, don't get angry if your kids and you can't all get a table. There is more than enough food though!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyruzbarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed here every year when we visit, and ALWAYS have a wonderful time. The facilities are always in excellent condition, and the staff, both front desk and housekeeping, are so nice and helpful. I would highly recommend the Refuge Inn, whether it is for a long weekend or for a week!

Room Tip: If you bring your own bikes, try to ask for a ground level room, as the bikes are not allowed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is basically the closest hotel to the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge. They even have a few ponies of their own that you can pet and feed right across the parking lot. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They have a large half indoor half outdoor pool that is heated along with a hot tub and sauna. Our kids really enjoyed the pool each evening. (You might want to bring your own towels as they run out some times.) They also offer breakfast each morning. There is a limited amount of choices: coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, toast, English muffins and then waffles or eggs. It gets crowded, but you can take it back to your room. It is free and that is nice! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is what is fantastic about this hotel. You are close enough to bike into the park and they do rent bikes. You are close to restaurants, stores and other things to do. I would highly recommend the Refuge Inn!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillVA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
257 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Property: Refuge Inn
Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing