We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband, daughter, and I, along with my in-laws stayed at the Refuge Inn from May 15-18th. We had a very nice stay, while there was a large group of high school kids staying at the hotel, the room hotel remained mostly quiet. We stayed in room 300, one of the two suites. The room was well maintained, clean, and comfortable. The pool was heated and very clean, my three year old loved it. The grounds were nice and clean. The continental breakfast was average, but on Saturday they made Belgian waffles to order, which was really nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. They actually let us borrow an umbrella during a heavy rain storm. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and we will definitely choose the Refuge Inn for our stay in Chincoteague in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahdrew61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Chincoteague! We love the waffles too, but I think our favorite is french toast (usually served on Sunday mornings.) All of us here at the Refuge hope you'll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    179
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
359
291
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The perfect place to stay when visiting Chincoteague. Rooms are clean, comfortable and interestingly decorated. The breakfast area is well maintained and the breakfast is very tasty. The staff is friendly, polite and helpful. The addition of the Bike Rack (a bicycle rental shop next door) and the ponies in the corral add to the overall enjoyment of the stay on this lovely island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aardvark351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again the next time you find yourself on Chincoteague Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Perfect location away from main Chincoteague village, at the entrance causeway to the Reserve and Seashore. Quiet at night (except when flotilla of kids were enjoying nearby pool). Comfortable bed, tall pines outside the sliding glass door of the attractively furnished ground floor room. Enjoy the captive ponies on property. Rent a bike at same owner's shop next door -- operated by son of owners who grew up on the property. Included breakfast is adequate with standard continental plus fresh waffle or crockpot scrambled eggs; or walk across the road to the traditional Chincoteague Diner. Most relaxing four nights I've spent in a motel for a very long time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Refuge! We apologize for the noise from the pool-- Might I suggest (for your next visit) requesting a room in the first hallway (101-120; 201-220?) It tends to be a bit quieter as it is not near the pool or hot tub. If you only need one bed, room 136 will be your best bet, as it used to be part of the owner's apartment and is consequently off to itself. Many of our customers who return year after year find their favorite room and request it again and again-- we'd love to see you come back and find your perfect home-away-from-home on Chincoteague Island . Thank you so much for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pony pen. It was so much fun to watch the ponies playing. The whole place was out of the ordinary, very comfortable & friendly. Located next to the bridge to the part it was easy to walk over the bridge and enjoy the water and wildlife.

Room Tip: recommend a room looking out over the pony pen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review! Also, thanks for posting a very cute picture of Martha, and Lady Kate, two of our resident Chincoteague Ponies. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you back on Chincoteague Island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Comfortable, clean and friendly- run more like b&b than motel. We rented bikes and rode to beach and all over town. Sleepy, small town- more for enjoying the beach, and slowing down. Kids loved ponies on site, pool and even rocked on observatory deck (w.cutest stairs). If wasnt for spotty traffic on bay bridge, we would be back all the time.

Room Tip: 105 was next to main office across bike depot and horses
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrdeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everyone was so friendly,from the front desk to housekeeping. Everyone made you feel at home.Breakfast was great. The room was clean & comfy. The indoor pool was nice. Absolutely loved this place. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here as a last minute anniversary get-away during the off season. I did not expect much. I expected a cheap room, near enough to everything. We were greeted with the most pleasant staff members and treated like family the entire time we were there. Our room was homey and not "hotel stuffy" feeling. Everything was super clean and very inviting. We asked if they had a corkscrew and they smiled, said we were living the good life, and asked if we also wanted wine glasses! We did rent bikes from next door, and that was the easiest thing ever, we even traded the bikes in halfway through our rental from road bikes to cruisers and there wasn't even a glitch in the transition. They gave us recommendations for restaurants and told us where they would shop. Honestly, best hotel I've stayed in in a long time!
I was hesitant considering all the good things written on here, usually there's something negative to say, but I cannot find anything negative to say! I don't usually write reviews, but this could not be overlooked!
Wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Property: Refuge Inn
Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing