We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Chincoteague”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed here many times over the years. We've stayed at other places in town, but this is by far the best we've experienced. The rooms are always kept very clean and their interior styling is very nice. There's no nasty mold and dirty grout or caulking. The inn is surrounded by big pines which makes it feel private and woodsy. They have a large area where they keep ponies and you can walk up to the fence and feed them. The inn is located just outside of the entrance to the Assateague Island National Seashore. We'll continue to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drivingguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the truly awesome review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went to Cihncoteague and stayed at Refuge Inn at the recommendation of a co-worker. The recommendation was perfect. The hospitality at the Inn was amazing. You felt like you were being welcomed home by family members. I had a King Deluxe room with a patio facing the woods. The room was clean and spacious. I had good wireless connection, a flat screen tv, plenty of closet space and a good-sized bathroom. Towels were plentiful. The pool and Spa were so clean. Water temp in the pool was just how I like it (warm) and with the back wall open in the pool area, you felt like you were swimming in the woods. Close to Assateague and the beach and bike trails, close to Main street and some good restaurants, this Inn offers a real escape from the everyday routine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streetsofphiladelphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for the good review! If you enjoyed your view of the pines, be sure to request it for future visits--we can typically honor guest requests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We got there at noon on a Sunday and although check-in time is 3 pm, the friendly staff had no trouble finding us a room. Relaxed in the hot tub that evening. The lot behind our room had tall trees with birds and made us feel like we were living in a cabin in wilderness. Nice, tidy room with a king sized bed. The ac/fan wasn't too loud and we slept really well. Monday morning breakfast wasn't out of this world, just the standard fare to get you going. Just minutes away from the wild life refuge and also conveniently located close to good restaurants. We would highly recommend this hotel when visiting the island.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pralav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your time on Chincoteague, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Extremely clean, affordable, quaint, and relaxing. Those are all words that describe the Refuge Inn. On top of that, the staff is extremely gracious. We went over Memorial Day weekend and couldn't have asked for better accommodations for a short family vacation. Kids -- and adults -- love the indoor swimming pool. The breakfast, one hot item accompanied by cereals, toast, yogurt, fruit, etc., is a good way to start the day. Also, it's one of the closest hotels to the beach. We rented bikes at the shop next door one morning and had a great time exploring Assateague, which is bike friendly -- a plus. No complaints at all. Chincoteague and the Refuge are wonderful destinations. And be sure to make reservations at Bill's. Been there several times, and never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the second floor facing the courtyard, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jme90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Glad to see that you enjoyed your time on Chincoteague. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great room, great staff. Loved the breakfast and the breakfast room. They cooked the day's warm breakfast item in the kitchen and brought it to your table. Nearest hotel to Assateague Island. The room was charming. Will go to this hotel again if I visit Assateague Island in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 551melm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again the next time you find yourself on Chincoteague Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked the Refuge Inn based on the comments, and was not disappointed. Spent a weekend in early May at the Inn. The location was great for us as we wanted to be close to Assateague Island, and that they are. The check-in was smooth and the people who work there are really friendly. There is a continental breakfast in the morning, I believe begins at 7 a.m., and they had made waffles one day and French toast the next to order. There is coffee and tea throughout the day. There is limited seating in the dining area, but they do have a couple of picnic tables in the yard amongst the pine trees were you can enjoy breakfast also.

The hotel is located a short drive away from the shops in the little town, but there are a couple of restaurants nearby you can walk to. They keep menus of all the restaurants in a basket in the lobby area, which I thought was a nice touch. You can decide before heading out where you want to go.

Although we chose to drive over to Assateague and around the island, they do have a bike rental place right across the parking lot. The resident ponies do provide some entertainment, especially when you get a bag of their treats at the front desk and feed them.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pj510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review! Just to clarify, breakfast starts at 7:30 am every day. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return to Chincoteague soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our third time staying at the Refuge Inn and we will be coming back in the future. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The staff is kind and courteous and always make us feel welcome. The location to Assateague can't be beat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the awesome review, Susan! We love our repeat customers <3

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,296 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £70 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing