We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Inn for the Island”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Inn for the Island”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We found Refuge on TripAdvisor, and we agree with all the great reviews. The Refuge Inn is the perfect spot for a visit to Chincoteague. The islands are so unique and natural, we wanted to stay in a place that felt the same way. We found that at The Refuge Inn. Unique, Natural, Clean, Off the usual path. Just what we were looking for - we would definitely stay there again! And, just in case you aren't lucky enough to spot the wild ponies of Chincoteague, there are 2 ponies on property (just in case...)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSUWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your time on our little slice of paradise. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    194
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
409
328
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we are staying 2 nights on the way down to Va Beach & chose this hotel because of good ratings. I like here just fine, the air conditioning in the room is nice and cold which is great and the room itself was clean. We stayed last night in a Holiday Inn Express in MD that was borderline gross. This is an older place for sure but well cared for and warm comfortable feeling. Our beds are fairly uncomfortable but to be honest, there's few hotels I've stayed in that are. I'm more concerned with cleanliness and it is clean for sure! Also great that there's ponies here too

Room Tip: Don't bother getting a room facing the pony corral, they also overlook the parking lot on that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Terribly sorry about your bad sleep quality-- perhaps the next time you visit, you'd like to request Room 110, which has a Tempur-pedic mattress? It's also facing the pine tree side of the hotel, which you may prefer, too. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have always been treated by a friendly staff, clear rooms. They are located to everything, the National Seashore Park, and Famous Pizza to name a few. Stay at the Refuge is what Chincoteague is all about, you feel like you are staying with friend not a chain hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Many of our guests come year after year-- come often enough and you'll be an adopted member of the Refuge family :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband stayed here when he was younger so we decided to come back. I was not disappointed. The outside looks a little dated but our room was charming. Our bed was huge and so comfortable! The pool area was quiet and not used much so we took advantage. We were able to walk to pretty much everything in town - keep in mind we are walkers, not everyone might want to do that. Frankly after all of the fantastic food and ice cream, walking was a treat. We rented bikes one day from the rental connected to the hotel and rode all over as well. The breakfasts were hot and there was plenty to eat. We had no problems with noise or rowdy people. It was a great relaxing stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review! You'll have to visit us again the next time you need some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great price for a nicely decorated, well located hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Good continental breakfast, good pool. But especially enjoyed the decor and size of our room and the balcony that overlooked the trees. We only spent one night since we were on the road, but could easily have stayed longer. Great night's stay in Chincoteague Island.

Room Tip: We were happy NOT to be on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDH_AustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for the review! Be sure to request the pine/pool side for your next stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We enjoyed everything about the hotel. We stayed there with our two children (ages 4 and 6) for a long weekend. I'd say the main selling points are:

1) The location could not be more convenient to Assateague Island. We were able to make several car trips over there throughout the day and easily come back for lunch/rest times. If you bring bikes, it's an easy bike ride.

2) It's very clean and well appointed for a hotel near the beach. The bathrooms couldn't have been cleaner. They clearly take care of things or have just recently renovated.

3) The indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub. This was a big hit with the kids and the adults.

Other things...the complimentary breakfast was what you'd expect for a complimentary breakfast. Nothing fancy, but did the job. Our kids loved having the ponies in the pen across the parking lot. The customer service was good. We really had no complaints. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor facing the parking lot and pony pens. The advantage was the slidin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for the great review! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good continental breakfast. Rooms always clean. Nice furniture and comfortable linens. Right beside a pony pen. Closest to beach I think. Have a gift shop near front desk. Has an outlook over 2nd floor rooms at one spot.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morkfork G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a quick review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#18 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Property: Refuge Inn
Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing