We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice place! ”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a nice place! ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Our family (2 adults,2 young kids) stayed here last week and really enjoyed our time. The place is very comfy and quaint. Rooms were very clean and great sizes. Pool area was not super huge but fitting for size of resort. Pool and grounds covered in lusch greenery and beautiful flowers! The kids loved the horses right next to our car. Breakfast was yummy. The staff was welcoming from our very first phone call all the way to our checkout when they told us we wish we could havd stayed longer. :) thanks Refuge Inn.....we had a really nice time. :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank esfrigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We hope you and your family will return to our little slice of paradise soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    189
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
391
316
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Corners, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just came home after 5 nights at the the Refuge inn. It is lovely, clean, comfortable and right near Assateague Island. The location is the best on the island. The beach at Assateague is spectacular. The Marsh Walk should not be missed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope to see you both again soon here at the Refuge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Refuge Inn was a wonderful experience. We booked our family reunion, of about 25 people, to stay at this location. The rooms had plenty of space, and were nicely decorated (a few of the rooms have not been updated, but I believe they are slowly working on updating all of them). The bathroom had a pedestal sink and wainscoting, and there was crown moulding around the room. Very nicely done. You can stay on the side overlooking the ponies (recommended), or the pool/grassy side. We stayed on the pony side and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The hotel gives kids a free bag of pony food to feed the ponies, which was a big hit, for sure. Although it looks onto the parking lot as well, it didn't matter. Because we had rented so many rooms, we were also given the use of their conference room, at the back of the Inn. It was perfect for 25-30 people, and it included a fridge, stove, sink, and microwave. There was also a small "patio" off of the conference room, which was very nice. The staff, especially the cleaning ladies, were especially friendly and helpful! Breakfast was served each morning to include OJ, coffee, water, hard boiled eggs, cereal, muffins/bagels, etc, and they rotated between waffles and french toast. It was nothing to write home about, but it was free, and tasted fine. The only negative I would mention is that although my kids absolutely loved the pool, it did have quite a bit of chemicals in it and their eyes were burning almost the second they jumped in. I would definitely stay here again - it was a great time!

Room Tip: Stay on the pony side!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstockman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. We enjoyed having your family here and hope you'll all return for your next reunion! We apologize for the pool chemicals-- we do test and adjust the levels twice daily, but achieving the perfect balance is a challenge (especially in the summer, when guests often enter the pool with bug spray, sunscreen, etc.) I've passed your comments on to the maintenance staff who treat the pool water.

All of us here at the Refuge Inn hope you'll return to the Refuge Inn the next time you're visiting Chincoteague. Thanks, and come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Feels like coming home after a long ride. Hot waffles in the morning and a bicycle at my door. Answers to all of my questions served with a smile. The ponies are friendly and the pool is warm. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! Come visit our little slice of paradise again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Refuge Inn for two nights. It is a very well-maintained property with spacious rooms, nicely appointed, and clean facilities. The staff is helpful and friendly. The Inn is close to Assateague and it was nice to be able to ride our bikes there and back. The breakfast is really a step up from what they call "continental," as they have eggs, oatmeal and sometimes waffles. The ponies outside are a nice touch.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Oriolezgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I've shared your compliments about the breakfast with our breakfast ladies-- they take great pride in their food and service, and will appreciate hearing that you consider us a step above continental.

Thanks again for the review! Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was my first trip to Chincoteague & the Refuge Inn. It surely won't be my last. We arrived very early (check in is at 4pm), however were very surprised that our room was ready. We stayed in Room 223. Very comfortable & cozy room!!! Decor was new, and was extremely clean. Our room was pretty basic, 2 beds, small sitting area, tv, mini fridge, coffee maker & hairdryer. Bathroom on the smaller size, but clean & well kept. Plenty of towels too :) I'm not sure if all the rooms are this way, but the bathtub in this room is tall/ and deep. Not a problem for me or my husband, but I really liked it. However, could possibly be an issue for some. Our room was right near the pool & hot tub. Good pool hours (8am-10pm). Balcony of our room looked out to the parking lot and pony pen. Was fun to sit and watch the ponies in the morning. We enjoyed the breakfast that is included. It's not a buffet, but has plenty of choices. (French Toast on Sunday was terrific!). Overall we enjoyed our stay to the island, and to this property. We are already planning another mini trip to come visit. Can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksti99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for the great review! We have some rooms with deep soaking tubs, some rooms with normal tub/showers, and one room with a handicap-accessible walk-in shower. That one has a very low entrance for someone unable to step into a tub-- it's room 135, if anyone reading this needs that special shower!

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a great hotel and its name is completely appropriate. The Refuge Inn is the most secluded of the hotels we saw while biking around Chincoteague - away from the road, with a lovely outdoor pool in the back surrounded by pine trees. The room we stayed in (one of the suites) had a lovely balcony, spacous living room and kitchenette. We would definitely stay here again. Not to mention, having the Chincoteague Museum across the street to see Misty and Stormy, and being just a short bike ride across the bridge to get onto Assateague Island. We biked everywhere from this hotel and can't say enough about it. Continental breakfast included with the rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for the awesome review! Glad you enjoyed the suite. Hope you'll join us for another getaway soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
45 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Property: Refuge Inn
Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing