We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already yearning to return”
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Already yearning to return”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

You can't stay closer to Assateague Island and the National Wildlife Refuge. If you are biking, it is about a mile to the lighthouse trail and about four miles to the main beach. There are bike racks for Inn use behind the Bike Depot right next door to the Inn. The Inn was clean and comfortable and the staff was accommodating, from the reservation process to departure. When I booked, it appeared we would have to change rooms but upon arrival, front desk had note to contrary. The "bones" of the Inn are older but I felt management has done a good job of making it not feel dated. Carpet in the room bordered on plush, beds were soft, air conditioner worked very well. We turned off dehumidifier in room to cut down on noise after we noticed it wasn't drawing much moisture (wasn't particularly humid during our stay plus we had air on during day). Room had refrigerator but no microwave (there was one next to vending machines a few steps from door). Breakfast was adequate and staff worked hard to keep things filled. Seats in the small dining area go quickly. Very picturesque pool setting (although they were battling crepe myrtle blossoms during our stay). Pool did get busy in late afternoons after beach goers returned. Parking lot was full when we returned late on Saturday night so we had to use the overflow parking area. Traveled with two adults and two kids, one aged 14, who was charged as an extra adult.

Room Tip: We were in Room 122, the back half of the Inn. Our sliding glass doors faced the pool, giving us ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyOpEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for the thorough review! We are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you'll return soon to our little slice of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    190
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
397
320
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were here a few years ago and it reminded us of a step above Beach Motel but below a newer Hampton Inn. We came this year and our room and for that matter, all the rooms on the 2nd floor were very impressive. The maids had all the doors opened for the rooms where the guests had checked out and I peeked in and looked. The theming was different from room to room but was very nice.

The bed was very comfortable, new carpet in the rooms, completely renovated bathrooms and all the normal amenities. The parking lot was safe considering how many bikes were left unlocked and either on the back of cars or literally, just leaned up against light poles.

Breakfast wasn't spectacular but I had no expectations it would be over-the-top and all the families I saw there were more than happy and full when leaving. The facilities are great with with a few exceptions.

1. The pool is 1/2 indoor, 1/2 outdoor but the outdoor covering was all gone leaving the pool with a bunch of flower petals. While pretty, if you come up for air to a face full of flowers, its a little off-putting. Aside from that, pool area is great!
2. Due to the humidity, some of the rooms, ours included, had a portable dehumidifier to aid in cooling. I certainly appreciated it when we came back from a day in the hot humid beach but was pretty loud and if you didn't know the routine, the alarm for the catch tank being full was annoying.

This place is owned and run by life-long 'Chincoteagers' and it shows in the family-owned vibe. The location is as close to the National Park & beach as possible so well within biking distance to the beach. There are really Chincoteague ponies they keep on-property and rotate in and our which is cool and a bike rental place next door if you didn't bring your own.

Oh, and their updated Wi-fi is very strong! My wife and I worked remotely from the room one morning and both of us were connected via VPN to our servers at work and neither of us had any issues with speed. This is a HUGE bonus as the signal was equally as strong anywhere we went around the hotel. I got more done in my 1/2 day than I expected making for an easier week at work.

I liked it here before but now I'm totally sold and this will be my go-to for Chincoteague!

Room Tip: I liked the upstairs rooms better as the floors upstairs a bit thin so you hear more on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CayohuesoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! We are always looking for ways to improve our inn, so your comments are very much appreciated.

Those flower petals are so problematic for the same few weeks every year. Our maintenance men clean the pool twice daily, but we're still working on a solution to keep them out of the water. We just can't find it in our hearts to cut down the beautiful tree!

I'm glad you were able to make use of our broadband! They've run a cable directly to our hotel, and installed a hub on the property. Our connection is the fastest on the island. It won't stand up to the fiber connections available in some cities, and does get slower in the evenings when all of our guests are using the network--but we think it's fabulous.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the last hotel before the park. We traveled w/ our two elementary aged kids. It was clean with easy parking and a good breakfast and gift shop. They have two Chinco ponies on site that you can feed and take pictures of before you hop on your bike (or in your car) and hit the park (which is literally yards away). Only drawback is the McDonalds that is right next door---took away from the look of area, but maybe some would find that convenient!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you enjoyed your time here at the Refuge and hope you'll stay with us when you return to the area. (PS-- Fall is very nice on Assateague! The temperatures are usually perfect for biking and the mosquitoes typically die off in October.)

Thanks again, hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was very hesitant to book here because we usually stay in Marriots, but we really wanted to be able to bike to the beach. I was very pleasantly surprised. The Refuge Inn offers a fair price, a great location, very nice facilities, and a nice daily breakfast. It's a very 'homey' place and is exceptionally clean. The bathrooms are small, even in a room with 2 queens, and that does present a challenge. My only real disappointment was the late opening of the fitness center--8 am is tough to take if you're an early riser like me. I would book again, though, with no hesitation at all.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies. I would avoid a room overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our inn! We are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you'll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights in Aug and had a wonderful. The Inn is clean and well maintained. No insects which is a must! Enjoyed being so close to the park, bike rentals and beach area. The only negative I have about the inn is the breakfast. Not many healthy options- no yogurt and only bananas as fruit. We ended getting McDonalds for breakfast as it is right next door- they have egg white mcmuffin, oatmeal & fruit smoothies. Also, enjoyed the pool and hottub. Picnic tables required some clean up as the seagulls roam near them in search of food. But, not a big deal. Will stay there again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wvpresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review! I did want to point out that our healthy breakfast offerings include several flavors of oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, multigrain toast, rice chex cereal, raisin bran, granola, and either bananas or apples each morning. Several times a week, we also have sliced peaches and Yoplait yogurt.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had not stayed here in 5 or 6 years but was still as wonderful as I remembered it being. Clean, excellent service, very comfortable beds, wonderful pool and hot tub...I could go on and on. Our family enjoyed our time here very much and are looking forward to returning next summer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Love this medium sized inn. Relaxed and comfortable and just across from the park entrance.
Breakfast is always fresh and welcoming. Staff very kind and helpful. Partly covered pool and shady BBQ space.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amparo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,188 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
160 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Property: Refuge Inn
Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing