We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

The Refuge Inn is really just a great place to stay on Assateague. With the wonderful pool/hot tub area, the hidden deck on the roof, the comfortable rooms, the horses right across the parking lot, the friendly staff and of course the wildlife refuge this is truly a great place to stay in Chincoteague! Every day we'd load up our beach supplies on our bikes and use the hotels location to our advantage by riding on the bike path all the way to the beach only accessible by bikes on Assateague. We did have a mix up with the days we were staying (which was our fault completely), but the hotel staff was happy to help us book a room at a different hotel in town for our last night. Altogether a great place!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for writing such a stellar review, Jack! We are all glad you enjoyed your time on Chincoteague & Assateague--isn't that bike-only section of beach simply amazing? Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    182
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
371
295
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Dorset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a fly drive. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was large enough and well equipped for a family of four. Beds were comfortable and the AC efficient. Pool was great-lots of pool towels and area kept nice and clean. Location was good for beach access. We thought the free continental breakfast was great-plenty of choice if the the cooked item was not to your taste.

All in all really good beach hotel that met our needs very well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_and_Nunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! We hope you'll stop by for a few nights the next time you're in the area. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Ideally situated just a short distance from the entrance to Assateague, the Refuge Inn was, indeed, a refuge from daily life for a few days.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. When a minor oversight meant we needed more towels, not only did they provide some immediately, but when we returned from a night out, the desk staff had more ready for us, handing them to us as soon as we stepped inside.

The inn's heated pool--half indoor, half out at the time we visited--was the perfect ending to each day. Even after time in the ocean, it's a must-visit. Above the two-floor building is an observation deck (up a narrow winding staircase), offering a panoramic vista out towards Assateague, and back over Chincotegue. On a clear night, the stars are dazzling.

The room--opened with an actual key...remember those?--was clean, spacious (for a family of 3) and tasteful. The good-size in-room fridge was welcome, and kept those water bottles chilled for warm, muggy days. The curtains on the sliding glass door can create total darkness when both are drawn, depending on just how dark you like it. There's also a decent-sized SDTV, with a fairly typical hotel channel lineup. Also in the room: a dehumidifier. Talk about comfort--that coupled with the A/C made for a good environment.

Breakfast, included with the stay, was served in a space that also served as the gift shop. As the staff advised on day 1, it can get crowded, but the patios outside the guest rooms provide another option for eating breakfast. Generally, the menu included English muffins, bagels, bread, several cereals and instant oatmeal, with various other items available depending in the day (French toast, scrambled eggs, yogurt). Juice, tea, coffee and hot chocolate are also available.

Also on site is a bike rental facility, perfect for a ride around town or over the bridge to Assateague. You can rent by the hour, and the selection included standard cruiser type bikes, child seats, tagalongs, tandems and carts. You can also rent beach supplies, like boggie boards. They also sell a limited selection of beach items, bike supplies and assorted souvenirs. One word of advice before going out on a ride: lather up in mosquito repellant. Bathe in it. Pour it on you. Soak your clothes in it. Those bloodsuckers are vicious.

So, mosquitoes aside--and that's said in jest--there's nothing but good things to say about the Refuge Inn, and no reason not to give it a strong recommendation. Lovely accommodations, reasonable rates and friendly people. What's not to like in that package?

Room Tip: First-floor rooms on the "odd" side boast patios that have an easy walk of just a few feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTEllis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We hope to see your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Everything about our room was great: clean, ample towels, shampoo and soap, comfortable mattresses, large TV, A/C plus a dehumidifier. The pool is also very nice, clean, heated. The hot tub was locked; a bit of a pain because once you were wet, you wouldn't want to walk all the way to the front desk to get a key. But the breakfast was a disappointment. I've stayed at many places that do a similar buffet and this one was definitely the worst. The eggs were the most offensive item both mornings. The scrambled eggs were rubbery, tasteless, and unseasoned. The hard-boiled were also rubbery, with yolks almost as white as the whites. Also they served (at the height of fresh fruit season!) some type of sliced peaches (NOT sweet) that were difficult to identify due to their complete lack of flavor and weird texture. It almost seemed as though they were making the buffet this bad on purpose.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are much quieter than those facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your room here at the Refuge. As we do not have a commercial kitchen, our breakfast options are limited--but luckily for those who need a heartier breakfast than we can offer, there are other places to have breakfast nearby. The diner across the street (AWESOME omelets!) and Bill's Prime on Main Street (Everything is good--especially their homefries) are both great options.

PS--the eggs are left unseasoned on purpose as folks prefer different levels of salt and pepper. We provide shakers for each, as well as hot sauce, so you can flavor the eggs to your own tastes. Sorry if that wasn't more clear while you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had a great time at the Refuge inn. The staff was lovely, our room was very clean. The setting was wonderful. Nice and dark at night, quiet, great nights sleep. Our room was very tastefully decorated and super clean. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Those were also very clean and tasteful. Towels provided by the pool so you don't have to bring your own or any from the room.
Breakfast was a typical continental type. Cereal, waffles, toast, fruit, coffee, tea, and juice. That is the only area they could improve on- add some yogurts, more fruit, donuts, etc.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: bring bug spray everywhere you go on the island. The mosquitoes are vicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We appreciate your suggestions about breakfast and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
378 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent four nights here and it was more than enough. We chose the Refuge Inn ( which my daughter has ow nicknamed the Refugee Inn) because I really didn't want to stay in a chain hotel, such as a Hampton Inn or Fairfield Suites-- and while the initial look of the place as well as it's situation, under the trees, near the bike rental shop, where there are ponies kept in a pen-- screams individually owned place with charm and character, the rooms are not well equipped-- the towels are chintzy, there are toiletries that look " boutique" but are inferior, and not enough are provided ( one shampoo to a room in a hotel near a National Seashore is not enough, and there was no hair conditioner provided-- only hand lotion) . When I called the front desk and asked for four more shampoos ( we were 4 people) I was explicitly told that I could not have four shampoos, that the most he could give me are two additional shampoos. Additionally, the product provided, was a combo shampoo/conditioner-- and they are very harsh, full of chemicals, and don't really work as hair conditioner. The hotel did not provide ceramic cups for coffee, nor real glasses for water-- you got paper cups, and individually plastic wrapped small cups. I felt as if I was in a Motel 6! The bedspreads were disgusting, there were not enough pillows, and the laundry bag that I used the first night for wet bathing suits, was never replaced. Breakfast is an advertisement for processed, sugary, packaged foods-- there are English muffins and raisin bread. There is either a basket of mini yogurts, or on alternate days, there are hard boiled eggs, made in a crockpot. Every other day there was a sign, asking if you wanted a homemade waffles, and I remember reading other reviewers on this site praising their " homemade Belgian waffles". Whoever thought that these were homemade or Belgian waffles was delusional, or unsophisticated rubes who don't know what a real Belgian waffle is. The emphasis at breakfast is on avoiding refrigeration, or fresh ingredients. Next to the coffee dispensers was a huge pump bottle of Coffee Mate-- how disgusting is that. The jams, butter, peanut butter, and fake maple syrup were all in single serve plastic packages...ugh! The cereal was mislabeled--one canister said "Rice Chex"' but it turned out to be Cinnamon Toast Crunch-- most people would think that this is a distinction without a difference-- but to someone with a gluten sensitivity Rice Chex can be breakfast, but Cinnamon Toast Crunch could be a visit to the E.R.! Needless to say, breakfast was very disappointing. The rooms are clean to start, but the maids didn't clean the shower adequately the rest of our stay, and areas of the room were left un leaned. The pillows were lumpy and not large enough for the bed. Some of the decorations were missing from our room-- there was a plate rack on the wall, but no plate in our room. There were other decorations in the adjoining room to ours, as well as in rooms we saw into when walking to the office-- but they were missing from one of our rooms. The breakfast area was especially crowded when we arrived on the first day, and we were told to find alternate seating outside, or in the corridor-- but there was no place to sit with enough room for all of us anywhere that was suggested. All in all this is an inferior place, that charged premium prices, provided poor room supplies, toiletries and food, in a mosquito-filled rundown town near a beautiful National Seashore.

Room Tip: Avoid this place because it is not a good value, and if you visit Chicoteague bring lots of mosquito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reginalampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello,

We’re sorry you did not enjoy your time on Chincoteague or at our Inn. You may have been happier in a Deluxe room, which features upgraded furnishings, bedding, and toiletries.

Regarding breakfast, our healthy offerings include several flavors of oatmeal, English muffins, hard boiled eggs (boiled, not cooked in a crockpot,) scrambled eggs (cooked in the kitchen and then placed in a crockpot to keep warm,) multigrain toast, raisin bran, granola, and either bananas or apples each morning. Less healthy items include homemade waffles (Carolyn mixes & pours them herself every morning they are offered,) French toast, raisin bread, kid-friendly cereals like Cinnamon Toast Crunch, and bagels with cream cheese. Several times a week, we also have sliced peaches and Yoplait yogurt. The health department--and many of our guests--feel that single-serve condiments and disposable flatware are simply more sanitary in a buffet environment. Many guests also enjoy creamer with their coffee. Though we have a small breakfast area, there are six-person picnic tables located throughout the property, and each room includes a table, two dining chairs, and two deck chairs.

From speaking with the front desk staff, I have learned that at 10:05pm, after the office was closed, you requested 6-8 more bottles of shampoo and were provided with six extra shampoos (three for each room) and two extra bars of soap. With two people registered in each room, this seems more than sufficient. If you prefer chemical-free soap/shampoo, we have a nice selection of Burt’s Bees products in our gift shop, The Rookery.

Our housekeepers lightly clean guest rooms each day, and thoroughly clean every third day and upon checkout. If you require anything above this, they would be happy to oblige. Extra pillows are located above the closet. If you need more than six, housekeeping or the front desk are happy to provide more upon request.

We feel that the peak season rate of $165, (you paid $148.50 with a AAA discount,) is reasonable--especially compared to similar properties here on Chincoteague during the month of August.

We sincerely hope you will be happier at your next vacation destination.
The Leonard Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

You can't stay closer to Assateague Island and the National Wildlife Refuge. If you are biking, it is about a mile to the lighthouse trail and about four miles to the main beach. There are bike racks for Inn use behind the Bike Depot right next door to the Inn. The Inn was clean and comfortable and the staff was accommodating, from the reservation process to departure. When I booked, it appeared we would have to change rooms but upon arrival, front desk had note to contrary. The "bones" of the Inn are older but I felt management has done a good job of making it not feel dated. Carpet in the room bordered on plush, beds were soft, air conditioner worked very well. We turned off dehumidifier in room to cut down on noise after we noticed it wasn't drawing much moisture (wasn't particularly humid during our stay plus we had air on during day). Room had refrigerator but no microwave (there was one next to vending machines a few steps from door). Breakfast was adequate and staff worked hard to keep things filled. Seats in the small dining area go quickly. Very picturesque pool setting (although they were battling crepe myrtle blossoms during our stay). Pool did get busy in late afternoons after beach goers returned. Parking lot was full when we returned late on Saturday night so we had to use the overflow parking area. Traveled with two adults and two kids, one aged 14, who was charged as an extra adult.

Room Tip: We were in Room 122, the back half of the Inn. Our sliding glass doors faced the pool, giving us ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyOpEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for the thorough review! We are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you'll return soon to our little slice of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
257 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Property: Refuge Inn
Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing