We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will love the most amazing sunset ever behind this hotel on the water!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had a room with two beds and a fold out sofa. It met our large group needs well. The hotel was clean. The hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool which my family loved. There is a boardwalk behind the hotel that is great for walks on the water. The most amazing sunset I have ever seen was behind this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Pros: Friendly front desk, clean room, clean bathroom, beautiful view of the pier. Coffee is plentiful all day and taste great.

Neutral: Breakfast food is ok. Wish they had more fruits, but for the price can't complain. Internet connection is free and decent speed, but not fast enough to stream Netflix when I'm bored.

Cons: Patio windows and door badly covered so there's not much blocking the sun. Impossible to sleep past 6:30am due to the light. For many of us business traveler it's a big deal since we work night shifts and sleep in the day time. It bugged me enough that I started booking at the Holiday Inn Express whenever I travel down to Wallops for the night shift. I wish they spent a few extra dollar to update the curtains in each of the room door and windows.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caleb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

First, let me say, if there were "half-stars", I'd have given an additional half-star as we really loved the place. The staff was all very friendly and Lisa (who checked us in) and Lou (who honored our request for late check-out and then checked us out) were exceptionally outgoing and nice to us. We loved our room (310) as the view was wonderful and we spent many hours enjoying the breeze and view on our balcony. We got some stunning sunset photos. (If they were on the computer already, I'd post one....will see if I can add it in another day or two.) The only thing I would change about the room is I'd have loved a screen door to the balcony so we could have left the regular balcony door open for the breeze in the evening. We did leave the window open but if we could also have left the door open, it would have been even better. The pools (indoor and outdoor) were both very nice. We didn't use the exercise room but it looked nice, also. The property is beautifully maintained. The breakfast area was roomier than many other places and the offerings were nice (although hubby does not at all like sausage gravy and was disappointed not to find another breakfast meat on the menu that morning to go with the scrambled eggs). We are intending to go back and take our granddaughter with us (and also do an off-season stay ourselves), so we did really enjoy this place. The reason I didn't give 5 stars was the internet connection was not good at all.....actually the worst of any hotel where we've ever stayed (and we have done a good bit of traveling). Most of the time, the signal strength was indicated as "Poor" and only once was it a bit better at "Fair"....and it even cut off a few times. For folks (like us) who need to have reliable internet access due to commitments back home, this was problematic. We are hoping the issue might be remedied at some point soon and we won't have any difficulties with it on our next stay, because we really like this property and its location. It is a very relaxing, laid-back environment

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatMillsboro_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Loved the deck, couch in the room, and general feel. Grandkids loved the pool. Handy for visiting the National Seashore. Didn't see any ponies until we were back in town at the rescue center. But the shell collecting was great. Smart Minnesota Mama had brought jackets, hats and mittens so the children were warm enough and could run barefoot in the sand. Great memory.

Room Tip: Paying extra for the rooms on the bay is worth it!!! Incredible sunset, sunrise both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites4195, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Hi there Smart Minnesota Mamma,
Now that the weather has warmed you can leave the mittens home..haha. Also those elusive ponies have been sighted everywhere since spring has finally sprung...there are new foals galore. May I suggest one of the many boat tours that specialize in finding the best views of the Ponies..When you come back we will personally help you pick just the right one. Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review of the Comfort Suites and Chincoteague Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at Comfort Suites for a Mother/Daughter week-end getaway. The hotel was clean, the rooms were large, the hotel is within walking distance of many shops and attractions. There is a large, private deck outside of each room that was very relaxing. The room also included a refrigerator and microwave which comes in handy when traveling. The staff was very helpful with any questions and the complimentary breakfast was a nice bonus. We had just stayed at the Hilton in Virginia Beach the previous week-end and we were just so surprised how much nicer and more enjoyable the Chincoteague Comfort Suites hotel was in comparison. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank velmasue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites4195, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for the nice review of the Comfort Suites. All of us at the Comfort Suites take great pride in where we work and live ; I am extremely pleased that you interacted with us so that we could help guide you to experience the Island in all her laid back, easy going glory. We hope you return soon and sit on the dock of the bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is clean, fresh, well kept and good price/value. The staff was very helpful answering local questions and suggestions. Would recommend on return visit. Breakfast is very diverse and area kept clean.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor and no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

All of the rooms face the waterfront and have balconies which provided a beautiful view of the sunset each night. Our room was large with two queen beds and a sitting area with couch, chair, and desk. The room also had a microwave and mini fridge. There are several shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel also has an indoor pool and jacuzzi as well as an outdoor pool. There is also a nice area outside along the water for walking. The complimentary breakfast included your standard cereals, fruits, toast, and hot items such as eggs and bacon or biscuits and gravy. There are also two waffle makers. The exercise room is a good size with free weights, two treadmills, and an eliptical. We never really noticed any noise from other rooms or the hallway, so it was nice and quiet. The staff was so friendly. Only complaint would be that we could never get a strong wireless signal and was slow. Overall, it is a great hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites4195, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

I am soo glad that you were able to watch those great waterfront sunsets while you were staying with us...they truly are a daily inspiration for me and we are always happy to know that our guest get to enjoy them as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Comfort Suites. We hope you come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Address: 4195 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £72 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Chincoteague 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Chincoteague, the Comfort Suites hotel offers the ideal way to enjoy all the beauty, history, recreation and adventure of Chincoteague Island. Whether its business or leisure that brings you to Virginia's only resort island, Comfort Suites lives up to it's name from the moment guests enter the lobby to be greeted by friendly, attentive staff. "Comfort" continues to be the operative word throughout the hotel, from the 87 oversized suites with waterfront views and spacious work and sitting areas, to on-site amenities that include a newly remodeled fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, free continental breakfast and morning paper, guest laundry, fax & copy service, meeting facilities for 50 and free high speed internet service. Best of all, when it's time for fun, the options are endless on this small island. In town, there's great shopping, dining, galleries, boat rentals and fishing excursions. A visit to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague Island offers guests the oppertunity to catch a glimpse of some of the 260 species of birds as well as the wild Chincoteague ponies. Additionally, miles of biking and hiking trails wind through pine woods, marshes and freshwater ponds. Built in 1833, the Assateague lighthouse is a favorite attraction, as is the Assateague Island National Seashore, offering over 37 miles of unspoiled beachfront for swimming and water sports. Hotel guests also enjoy the NASA Visitor's Center as well as antique shopping, miniture golf and scenic day cruise excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites Chincoteague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing