We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed Our Stay. Reliable Choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed Our Stay. Reliable Choice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I just completed a two-night stay at the Comfort Suites, Chincoteague Island. It was my first time to the area, and I visited with my tween daughter and her friend, who I just picked up from camp at the nearby marine institute. My choice of hotel was predicated on price, backed up by ratings on TripAdvisor. Thanks to a military rate, the Comfort Suites was by far the most reasonable choice among the top-rated hotels on the island, and I was not disappointed.

My experience with this chain has been mixed, but this hotel was clearly a notch above other at which I've stayed. The location is very convenient, located directly across the bridge from the mainland, and on the water. It is easy to get in and out of, which cannot be said for other places on the main road across the island.

The hotel was spotless, top to bottom, and they obviously car what people think (and write) about their property, and i have no problem with that. Check-in was easy and efficient -- as noted, you'll be advised of an in-room safe charge, but it is easily (and without question) removed at check-out. As noted, all of the rooms really do face the water. We had a long and somewhat narrow room, but it had two queen beds, a sofa bed, a lounger, a desk, and a small kitchen area with microwave and refrigerator. Very nice use of space. Yes, the porch is small, but there were two chairs and small table out there, and I really enjoyed sitting out there.

They have both an outdoor and indoor pool (including hot tub), and we made good use of the indoor pool. Again, it was very clean and not crowded, despite a full hotel.

I could not tell the age of the hotel, but regardless, it is very well built. I suspect it is built to hurricane code, which would explain how quiet the rooms are. We were on the second floor (of three) and I never heard people above or next to us, or even in the hallway. That was a nice change of pace. In fact, the only noise complaint I could lodge would be against the seagulls which flock outdoors and which did make a racket in the morning -- but that's nature, and part of the reason we were there.

Breakfast is included and I give them a thumbs up here. It had both hot and cold items and the staff was very active at restocking and cleaning up. As noted, the hotel was full, but they did an excellent job of keeping the area clean (and appetizing, if you know what I mean) despite the crowds. They have overflow seating in a conference room across from the eating area, so we encountered no problems getting seats either morning.

All hotels on the island are expensive (at least in summer). I was very satisfied with our stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellieVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    230
    40
    4
    1
See reviews for
443
440
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My Bride and I stay here, we had a nice time hotel was clean, love the water view, just not much of a balcony. The breakfast left me hungry, not into dried bacon and water flavored oj. Staff was very friendly, if not for the breakfast and balcony I would give 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We visit Chincoteague a couple times a year and always stay at the Comfort Suites. It is always a good stay with a nice breakfast. We asked for an upgrade and were upgraded to the third floor waterfront view.

Room Tip: always ask for upgrade you never know
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVUFanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here 3 nights from 7/2 - 7/5, 2013. Stayed in room 210 which was a very large and quiet 2 Queens Bed suite with a partial room divider with a terrific balcony view of Chincoteague Bay and the causeway to the mainland. This hotel was ranked #4 of 17 hotels when I last checked on Trip Advisor - it should be #1 in my opinion. I had considered the other 3 hotels when reviewing Trip Advisor before we went but am glad I chose this hotel. Comfort Suites had slightly lower rates than Hampton Inn, which is located right beside this hotel. Comfort Suites has an outdoor pool (small) in addition to an Indoor pool (only hotel on island, I think, that has both). The grounds/landscaping/views of both were similar. The complimentary breakfasts sound similar. We passed by the other 2 hotels rated higher on our 10 minute drive to the Refuge/Seashore each day and the properties did not seem to match the quality of the Comfort Suites from the outside or for views. The only advantage I could see for staying at those 2 hotels is if you planned to ride a bike to take to the beach that those 2 properties would offer a plus being closer in distance to the entrance to Refuge/Seashore.

The Comfort Suites interior is very Chincoteague Pony themed with lovely prints of the ponies in various settings displayed on the walls throughout - we had 3 prints outside our room by the elevator area. Hotel was a 2013 Finalist for Comfort Suites awards (saw plaque). The ladies at the front desk mentioned that most of the guests rave about the Wildlife Refuge Tour (a bus tour sponsored by the Chincoteague Natural History Assoc (buy tickets at Educ & Admin Center near entrance to Refuge/Seashore - less expensive than boat tours to see ponies - $12/adult vs $40-50/adult for boat). We took this tour and saw several small herds of ponies very closeup from the bus.

The beds were very comfortable with many pillows, the nice-size flat screen TV had many channel choices (it takes a few minutes for the Phillips TV to "warm up" & display a screen and the remote buttons must be firmly pressed). There was a sofa and chair by a coffee table and a small table with chairs in the partitioned area between the bed area and the balcony. The entrance hallway was very long/spacious. A microwave, coffee maker and small refrigerator and ironing board and room safe were provided. The bathroom was good size with a strong water pressure (sink light burnt out but was quickly replaced). The complimentary breakfast was well-stocked with good variety, including hot eggs, sausage, waffles and the breakfast area was large enough to accommodate all. Coffee was always available in the lobby as well as cookies in the afternoon.

The only slightly negative thing I would mention was that we left our room two mornings fairly early to go to the beach and got back between 12-1pm and both days the maid service had not been done yet. When we requested it, it got done fairly promptly but did delay us getting out for our next activity a little bit as had to wait to take showers until maid left.

Also, remember to ask to have $1.50/day taken off your charge when you check out if you don't use the room safe. This was mentioned to us at check-in.

Finally, despite was the locals say (I think they want everyone to go (take the local trolley or walk) to the Fireman's Carnival to see the July 4th fireworks), we were able to sit on our balcony and avoid the crowds and watch the fireworks while looking out over Chincoteague Bay. Beautiful! Could also see some other fireworks on mainland, etc from that viewpoint.

Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor room (preferably corner room) with balcony that views Cincoteague Bay - our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff84deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We selected this hotel because it was the lowest priced, free breakfast and wi-fi hotel with an indoor pool that could accommodate 5 people in one hotel room. It met all our needs. Each of the rooms on the property has a balcony which faces the water. The pools (one indoor and one outdoor) are very well maintained as is the indoor hot tub. The gym was well appointed and spacious. The free breakfast was excellent with the bacon being crispy and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spheare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked a ground floor king room partial suite, which had a partial room divider with a sofabed and tables and chairs. We got in late (like 2am), and immediately went to our little balcony, where they also had chairs and a little endtable. Lots of times hotels have balconies but no chairs and tables for you to sit out there. The view was lovely, even on the ground floor. There's no screen on the door, but you can keep the window open to smell the lovely salty sea air.

There's full breakfast in the morning (waffles, eggs, sausage, juice, coffee, cereal, etc.). There's also a fitness room, indoor pool, and outdoor pool. We paid online with an advance purchase, and the rate was pretty good, especially considering how nice the hotel was. The location is great also -- we walked down Maddox and were able to rent bikes, which we rode t Assateague Island beach. Also, our friends had their wedding at a cottage directly next to the hotel, so it was nice location-wise too.

The front desk staff is really nice. We were only there for 48 hours for our friends' wedding, but we are hoping to return to Comfort Suites in Chincoteague soon!

Room Tip: It looks like all the rooms are nice, with balconies facing the water. There were a few ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plural39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We selected this hotel sight unseen and were not disappointed during our week-long stay. The room was very comfortable with a western view off the balcony that made for spectacular sunsets. The staff, especially the ladies at the front desk, were very helpful with questions about the local area as we did a lot of bike riding and exploring. The outdoor pool was great for relaxing after our morning bike rides. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Property: Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Address: 4195 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Chincoteague 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Chincoteague, the Comfort Suites hotel offers the ideal way to enjoy all the beauty, history, recreation and adventure of Chincoteague Island. Whether its business or leisure that brings you to Virginia's only resort island, Comfort Suites lives up to it's name from the moment guests enter the lobby to be greeted by friendly, attentive staff. "Comfort" continues to be the operative word throughout the hotel, from the 87 oversized suites with waterfront views and spacious work and sitting areas, to on-site amenities that include a newly remodeled fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, free continental breakfast and morning paper, guest laundry, fax & copy service, meeting facilities for 50 and free high speed internet service. Best of all, when it's time for fun, the options are endless on this small island. In town, there's great shopping, dining, galleries, boat rentals and fishing excursions. A visit to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague Island offers guests the oppertunity to catch a glimpse of some of the 260 species of birds as well as the wild Chincoteague ponies. Additionally, miles of biking and hiking trails wind through pine woods, marshes and freshwater ponds. Built in 1833, the Assateague lighthouse is a favorite attraction, as is the Assateague Island National Seashore, offering over 37 miles of unspoiled beachfront for swimming and water sports. Hotel guests also enjoy the NASA Visitor's Center as well as antique shopping, miniture golf and scenic day cruise excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Chincoteague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing