We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
319 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great location, nice amenities”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Our room was close to elevator and ice maker but it was quiet. We had plenty of room and a half deck with view of the water. Wifi is free, there is a mini frig, microwave, and coffee maker. Indoor and outdoor pools were nice and never crowded. All the cute shops and restaurants were walking distance away. Bfast was typical except the eggs were weird. They nake cookies every pm and coffee is available all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seethesightsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    233
    40
    4
    1
See reviews for
451
449
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here with a military discount. First night my husband and I arrived late (with a reservation) and got the last available room. It was on the first floor in a corner (126) and the view was definitely not what we expected--a great disappointment. The room and balcony were very large and would be great for someone with kids who was going to be out and about most of the time and didn't care about what we wanted to do, which was spend time chilling on the balcony and watching the boats go by and enjoying the sunsets. We asked to be moved and was told no other rooms were available, however we might be able to move the next day. Brenda at the front desk called shortly after we went back to the room and told us there was a third floor room available in the morning and if we wanted to go out, staff would be happy to move our items. Long story short, we were moved the next day to a smaller room with a smaller balcony and a much better view. Morning desk staff was very friendly and made sure we were happy and we actually ended up extending our stay. Breakfast was OK for us--we had the hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, waffles and coffee. Also available was juice, milk, pastries, scrambled eggs and breakfast meats (varied from day to day). Coffee and hot water for tea and cocoa is available 24 hrs and ice cold lemonade and tea were offered in the afternoon. Pools were not crowded at all, grounds and facilities were well kept, toiletries were plentiful and rooms were clean and air conditioning, 'frig and coffee maker worked well. Great water pressure in shower! We enjoyed several mornings and evenings on the balcony watching the peaceful water views of ducks, dolphins, boats and people fishing on the boardwalk in front of the building. The hotel is a short walk to the town shops on Main Street and on Maddox Street and to the city park, which had a nice concert the weekend we were there. We could return to the hotel for a short time and go back out without a long walk and parking was never a problem, even when we returned later at night. Only suggestion would be for the hotel to replace some of the older bed pillows. Those in the first room were nice, but the second room's pillows, though plentiful, were shrunken and not very comfortable. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check in early if you want a choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01AMK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Our room could not have been any more perfect! We were on the second floor and our balcony had a pristine view of the channel and bridge. We actually saw four dolphins swim right in front of our balcony! The staff was most helpful as the reservations we had made at another place of business did not pan out. The people at the desk were very friendly and gave us tips on where to go in the area. Will definitely come back here again!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank booboom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites4195, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The dolphins are such an amazing sight and are an added beauty to Chincoteague Island. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Really nice hotel on the island. It is on Main Street, so easy walking to shops, restaurants and fun. Only a few blocks from both the bridge to the island, and the road to Assateague. Kind and helpful staff. The suite was clean, well appointed, and quiet. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuites4195, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for chosing the Comfort Suites during your recent trip to Chincoteague. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I just completed a two-night stay at the Comfort Suites, Chincoteague Island. It was my first time to the area, and I visited with my tween daughter and her friend, who I just picked up from camp at the nearby marine institute. My choice of hotel was predicated on price, backed up by ratings on TripAdvisor. Thanks to a military rate, the Comfort Suites was by far the most reasonable choice among the top-rated hotels on the island, and I was not disappointed.

My experience with this chain has been mixed, but this hotel was clearly a notch above other at which I've stayed. The location is very convenient, located directly across the bridge from the mainland, and on the water. It is easy to get in and out of, which cannot be said for other places on the main road across the island.

The hotel was spotless, top to bottom, and they obviously car what people think (and write) about their property, and i have no problem with that. Check-in was easy and efficient -- as noted, you'll be advised of an in-room safe charge, but it is easily (and without question) removed at check-out. As noted, all of the rooms really do face the water. We had a long and somewhat narrow room, but it had two queen beds, a sofa bed, a lounger, a desk, and a small kitchen area with microwave and refrigerator. Very nice use of space. Yes, the porch is small, but there were two chairs and small table out there, and I really enjoyed sitting out there.

They have both an outdoor and indoor pool (including hot tub), and we made good use of the indoor pool. Again, it was very clean and not crowded, despite a full hotel.

I could not tell the age of the hotel, but regardless, it is very well built. I suspect it is built to hurricane code, which would explain how quiet the rooms are. We were on the second floor (of three) and I never heard people above or next to us, or even in the hallway. That was a nice change of pace. In fact, the only noise complaint I could lodge would be against the seagulls which flock outdoors and which did make a racket in the morning -- but that's nature, and part of the reason we were there.

Breakfast is included and I give them a thumbs up here. It had both hot and cold items and the staff was very active at restocking and cleaning up. As noted, the hotel was full, but they did an excellent job of keeping the area clean (and appetizing, if you know what I mean) despite the crowds. They have overflow seating in a conference room across from the eating area, so we encountered no problems getting seats either morning.

All hotels on the island are expensive (at least in summer). I was very satisfied with our stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellieVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My Bride and I stay here, we had a nice time hotel was clean, love the water view, just not much of a balcony. The breakfast left me hungry, not into dried bacon and water flavored oj. Staff was very friendly, if not for the breakfast and balcony I would give 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We visit Chincoteague a couple times a year and always stay at the Comfort Suites. It is always a good stay with a nice breakfast. We asked for an upgrade and were upgraded to the third floor waterfront view.

Room Tip: always ask for upgrade you never know
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVUFanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Property: Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Address: 4195 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Chincoteague 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Chincoteague, the Comfort Suites hotel offers the ideal way to enjoy all the beauty, history, recreation and adventure of Chincoteague Island. Whether its business or leisure that brings you to Virginia's only resort island, Comfort Suites lives up to it's name from the moment guests enter the lobby to be greeted by friendly, attentive staff. "Comfort" continues to be the operative word throughout the hotel, from the 87 oversized suites with waterfront views and spacious work and sitting areas, to on-site amenities that include a newly remodeled fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, free continental breakfast and morning paper, guest laundry, fax & copy service, meeting facilities for 50 and free high speed internet service. Best of all, when it's time for fun, the options are endless on this small island. In town, there's great shopping, dining, galleries, boat rentals and fishing excursions. A visit to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague Island offers guests the oppertunity to catch a glimpse of some of the 260 species of birds as well as the wild Chincoteague ponies. Additionally, miles of biking and hiking trails wind through pine woods, marshes and freshwater ponds. Built in 1833, the Assateague lighthouse is a favorite attraction, as is the Assateague Island National Seashore, offering over 37 miles of unspoiled beachfront for swimming and water sports. Hotel guests also enjoy the NASA Visitor's Center as well as antique shopping, miniture golf and scenic day cruise excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Chincoteague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing