We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice break on the Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice break on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

My wife and I visit Chincoteague Island for a one-night weekend get-away. The Comfort Inn and Suites was perfect. We were a little early for check-in, our room wasn't ready which we expected, so the front desk clerk took our cell phone number and we went and got lunch. We received a call and hour or so later which was still before check-in. The room was clean, spacious and had a beautiful view of the waterway behind the hotel. The bed was very comfortable causing us to almost waste our afternoon napping. Even though the hotel was full it was very quiet. We didn't hear any usual noise in our room on the second floor. The breakfast was typical hotel fare with eggs and waffles added. Overall a nice experience and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffdogdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    225
    38
    4
    1
See reviews for
426
422
30
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

This was a nice, clean, spacious hotel. We traveled with 3 teenage daughters, (17, 15 and 13). Our suite had 2 queen beds with a sleeper sofa. All very comfy. We had a balcony overlooking the outdoor pool and the ocean. Didn't use the outdoor pool, but the indoor pool/hot tub was very nice. Rooms were very quiet...did not hear neighbors. Shower was nice. Hot breakfast each morning was nice. A lot of different choices. Hotel staff was very helpful. You had to drive to Assateague Island to swim in the ocean. This is about a 15 minute drive. The beach here was beautiful. Not overly crowded, soft sand and lots of shells. We found 3 big conch shells! The ocean was clean. Make sure you take the time to see the wild horses on the island also. Really neat for this city girl! A lot of nice places to eat. For a great steak dinner, try AJ's. Ice cream....try Island Creamery. Temps were around 100 degrees, but the nice ocean breeze makes it feel cooler. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsmb020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

From the moment I arrived at the hotel, it was clear that this oasis was calming and relaxing, and that's exactly what I experienced.

The front desk employee greeting me with a smile (as everyone does here), and within five minutes I opened the door to the spacious and immaculate third-floor room with king-sized bed, sitting area, and balcony facing the pool, pond, channel, and bridge that brings you onto the island. Most of all, the peace and tranquility from the balcony makes you whole.

The bed is incredibly comfortable, so be careful; the moment you lay on it may immediately induce hours of sleep. Plenty of hangers are available on the rod in the open closet, and be sure to keep the swatter in the closet handy, as flies will enter your room via the balcony (they love the room as much as you do!).

Breakfast is delicious. You can make waffles (hot and delicious), enjoy eggs, bacon, or sausage (the meats are available on certain days), and you can also feast on hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, toast, pastries, coffee, and juice. Snacks are available for sale next to the check-in desk and also in vending machines on each floor.

The fitness room with flat screen television is small but very spacious with three types of well-maintained equipment, including a stair stepper and treadmill.

Don't forget to bring your bathing suit to enjoy the hot tub and indoor and outdoor pools. The indoor pool/hot tub area seemed to have lots of chlorine in the air, but perhaps my nose is super sensitive.

The staff is wonderful. Ask them anything you want to know about places to visit or eat.

My one surprise is that the front desk employee did not ask about my stay as I checked out. Still, that won't stop me from returning.

If you're searching for paradise on Earth, somewhere to put your feet up and unwind, a place where you can slow down and enjoy couples' time or family time, this is where the magic happens.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

All rooms are waterside with a great view of the channel. They have continental breakfast which is good.

My only complaint is that the blind over the balcony door didn't block out light.... Which I cured with a large beach towel.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brh0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Rooms were clean and well maintained, free breakfast included some hot items plus fresh belgian waffles, pools and hot tubs allowed enough room for fun and short laps, staff was friendly and helpful. Each room has a small deck which was nice for kicking back at the beginning and end of the day. Close to restaurants, located just as you cross the bridge into town.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstralTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynoldsburg, OH
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We arrived without a reservation and were able to get the internet rate on one of their suites. All the rooms face the water and there is a pleasant deck just outside the indoor pool and hot tub area. We spent a little more time in the room than I would on a normal vacation, because I had come down woth a severe cold. And this was a very nice room to spend time in.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NantucketBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed in this hotel only one night but would have liked to have stayed longer. We stayed in a room with a queen and a sofa bed. The room was very large, plenty for the five of us, and had a balcony with a beautiful view. The pool and hot tub also had a gorgeous view on 3 sides. The room was very clean, the beds comfortable. There was a small exercise room and laundry room. The staff was friendly and super-helpful, and the hot breakfast was good. Finally, it was a great price. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwith3b0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Property: Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Address: 4195 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Chincoteague 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Chincoteague, the Comfort Suites hotel offers the ideal way to enjoy all the beauty, history, recreation and adventure of Chincoteague Island. Whether its business or leisure that brings you to Virginia's only resort island, Comfort Suites lives up to it's name from the moment guests enter the lobby to be greeted by friendly, attentive staff. "Comfort" continues to be the operative word throughout the hotel, from the 87 oversized suites with waterfront views and spacious work and sitting areas, to on-site amenities that include a newly remodeled fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, free continental breakfast and morning paper, guest laundry, fax & copy service, meeting facilities for 50 and free high speed internet service. Best of all, when it's time for fun, the options are endless on this small island. In town, there's great shopping, dining, galleries, boat rentals and fishing excursions. A visit to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague Island offers guests the oppertunity to catch a glimpse of some of the 260 species of birds as well as the wild Chincoteague ponies. Additionally, miles of biking and hiking trails wind through pine woods, marshes and freshwater ponds. Built in 1833, the Assateague lighthouse is a favorite attraction, as is the Assateague Island National Seashore, offering over 37 miles of unspoiled beachfront for swimming and water sports. Hotel guests also enjoy the NASA Visitor's Center as well as antique shopping, miniture golf and scenic day cruise excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Chincoteague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing