We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We went for a long weekend with the kids and while they loved seeing the wild ponies and playing on the beach the highlight of the trip for the kids was the indoor pool at the Hampton Inn. The inn was comfortable, well located, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The chambermaid even arranged the kids' stuffed animals on the bed for them, which they thought was funny. Things were clean, mostly quiet (the in-room refrigerator was a great asset, but it was a bit loud at night), and the free breakfast were all great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCarterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    166
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
469
539
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I just spent a nice, spur of the moment, weekend on Chincoteague Island, VA and stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites on the island. This is a very nice place to stay when you visit the island, it is centrally located, the rates are good and the staff is great! The owner is almost always in the lobby in the morning, making sure the hotel runs smoothly, although, with the staff that is employed there, I'm sure the place runs fine all the time.

The rooms are very nice, almost all of them have a great view of Chincoteague Bay, and you can almost always catch an amazing sunset. The free breakfast, is pretty good also. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it sure looked inviting, and there were other guests in it, and they looked to be enjoying it. The exercise room is adequate, helps burn off all the extra calories from the Island Creamery! :-)

Overall, this is an excellent place for a short or extended stay on Chincoteague. Thanks Tom and Jackie!

Room Tip: any room is a great room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation_Dude_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Very nice hotel. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating The pool is nice. Breakfast is good great location on the island.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDiva2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We rate it a 5 as a relative rating because it met our needs perfectly in a 2-3 star destination. Spit-spot clean, comfortable beds and linens, fabulous free cooked breakfast. Complimentary brewed coffee, hot cocoa and tea choices at all hours. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. Geat water views. Service was gracious. Free WIFI. Nice albeit small pool/jacuzzi. Comfortable Great Room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Wow! What a great stay at the Hampton Inn! The employees were friendly and attentive from the front desk to the housekeeping. The hotel was spotless and very inviting. We stayed 4 nights at the end of February and enjoyed every second. Our room was king suite with a waterfront view and what a view it was! I will say there are rooms that are "side facing" rooms and they have less than desirable views (the close by Comfort Suites on one side and a conglomerate of fishing vessels, fishing nets, sheds and other run down things on the other side). Our advice....be sure to get a room directly facing the water otherwise you may be disappointed (if a view is important to you). The room itself was clean and comfy as is normally the case with a Hampton. Our balcony was plenty big with 2 chairs and a drink table.
The breakfast each morning was nice......there weren't a ton of tables so even in the offseason I'd say tables were pretty much filled with people eating during the peak morning hours. The pool/jacuzzi were amazing! Clean and warm. We spents hours each day in them......the large windows in the pool room let in plenty of sunshine and it felt like a summer day in the middle of winter. The hotel had free WiFi along with a Business Center that had a few computers, faxes, printers, etc.

As for its location, a few minute walk will take you into the "historic" part of Chincoteague with some shops and restaurants. A 10 minute walk or so the other direction takes you toward the more built up portion of Chincoteague where the Creamery, Dollar General and Pharmacy were located. The drive to the Wildlife Refuge took only 5 minutes.

All in all another great stay at a Hampton. The staff here really stood out. They were kind and on top of everything in the blink of an eye. Just a great run hotel in Chincoteague!

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, get a room directly facing the waterfront....stay away from "sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pars1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Every year my family goes to Chincoteague for 4th of July. Normally we stay further down the island but this time we decided to use our Hilton Honor points and stay here. This is the nicest Hampton Inn we have ever stayed in. Ask for a Balcony room so you can have views of the water. It worked as a great vantage point to watch the 4th of July fireworks instead of going down to the crowded fairgrounds. The breakfast in the mornings was great and cut down on our runs to sugarbakers. It is a great location for Island exploring. The rooms are spacious we had 3 adults and 2 kids and the room was more than addequate. We look forward to coming here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We are a family that travels often. The Chincoteague Hampton Inn blew us away! Travel post from our family blog can be found here: http://johnson-mccormick.com/2012/02/chincoteague-1-of-1/

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing