We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The highlight of our stay was watching the sunset from the balcony of our waterfront room. Seagulls flew so closely by we were almost able to touch them. Paradise on earth! The hotel is within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. It is a short drive to the local super market. The room was super clean; the staff super friendly. Chincoteague is the perfect weekend getaway, and Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent 2 nights here and had a bayfront room with balcony on the 2nd floor. This is such a wonderful place to stay- the staff are friendly and helpful. The entrance is very nice- beautiful tiles on the walkway as you come in. The decor is very new with a modern coastal feel. The room was clean with up to date decor. The dining area is great- plenty of comfy chairs and tables around a big screen TV- great to bring in food and enjoy a lunch/dinner. The free breakfast was great- lots of choices and open until 10AM. And there were apples and a hot water/coffee station in the lobby 24/7. Plus cookies at night! You walked from the dining area to outside- there's a deck with great chairs along the water- perfect to sit and stroll and watch the boats, birds and of course the sunsets. Sunsets are amazing and we also got to see the moon setting! Our daughter said "This place is magical". Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank V2080SPmichaelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our suite had been cleaned/treated with some sort of deodorizer that was so strong I got a migraine and had issues with my asthma after 15 minutes in the room. Opened the balcony doors for fresh air, but that let in insects, so wasn't the best option. Front desk was nice enough to check on us after arriving, so I let them know of the problem. They promptly sent housekeeping staff to wipe the place down with vinegar and set up ozium air cleaners (?), but we could not be in the room while those were operating. Had to leave for about 4 hours. While I said it was some sort of deodorizer, the front desk argued that it was someone's perfume from prior guest. I'm sure it was an overdose of Febreze. Anyway, it's tough after a long day's travel not to be able to check in and rest up. It wasn't cheap ($279+ which they lowered to $229+ after I asked when checking out). We had an amazing experience at the Hampton Inn in nearby Ocean City, but I would not stay at this one again. BTW, they did offer to let us out of our reservation, but I wasn't up to hotel shopping last minute with kids. On a positive note, we had a beautiful view of the bay from a balcony off our room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VA20191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are so sorry for the inconveniences you and your family encountered during your time with us. If you would please contact us directly we will be more than happy to further discuss your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a great hotel. It was very clean. The staff was friendly and courteous and helpful when loging devices on to the internet. The have a great complimentary breakfast in the morning. Easy to come and go all day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just got back from another fabulous stay at the Hampton Inn Chincoteague. Love the location and the service at this hotel. Also, it is clean! I have never seen staff work so hard to keep a hotel as clean as they do, from rooms to common areas these folks work hard. Overall, the staff at this hotel are exceptional in my experience. Cannot say enough good things.

Went with family to view a rocket launch one of my nephews was involved with, that was exciting. Close to Wallops Flight Facility and Assateague Island National Seashore I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Great shopping and restaurants within easy walking distance and fabulous views of the bay! This is where you want to be at sunset, on your balcony or on the hotel's back porch or dock.

This is the only Hampton Inn I've ever stayed so I have nothing to compare it with but my understanding is they are consistent across the board. Compared with last year's visit it was just as fabulous, I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: If you want a room with the best view choose "waterfront". We stayed on the 3rd floor las...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasAMC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is nice and it is clean. It is not very fancy however they have a pool, the hot-tub was not working when we were there. They have a free breakfast, not great, but it is free and can fill you up if you need an early start. The hotel is not on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a wonderful two day get away at the hotel and visited the beautiful island. Great room with view. Nice complimentary breakfast, and outranking staff. Really enjoyed the park and seeing the wild horses on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelawareDrCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Address: 4179 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £89 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing