We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel was clean and the staff was extremely friendly. You receive two cookies on check-in, nice homey touch. The room was done very nicely, looks like it had newer furniture. The bed was extremely comfortable. The building itself is older, but they have maintained it nicely. The pool is beautiful with tropical plantings everywhere. They will provide you with pool towels, also. Every room has a coffee maker and a microwave and small refrigerator. Nice touch if you don't want to eat out all the time. The breakfast is included and was good. The usual, waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt and fruit, cold cereal, etc. The view from the balcony is of the wetlands, beautiful! The location is also a plus since it is right outside of the Refuge with a very nice boardwalk that you can walk on just steps from the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have king-sized beds, but some of the rooms have an extra vanity with a sink outside of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel almost very summer since 2005 and I notice the price going up every year but the quality of the stay and services did not improve much.The checkout was fast, we got 4 cookies with the room card ( nice touch).The room was clean but full of mosquitoes.However, it was quiet and the beds were very comfy. We all got good rest.
The staff provided us with the password for wifi but the connection was not great.
We ate breakfast outside on the terrace.The breakfast buffet was decent: eggs, pastries, waffles, yogurt, fruit.We enjoyed it.
We love Chincoteague Island and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank novamom2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is not a fancy place, but it is friendly and clean, which is exactly what I wanted. The room was neatly appointed and the beds were comfortable. We did not spend a great deal of time in the room other than to sleep. I had hoped we might be able to check in early since we had a boat tour scheduled at check-in time, but the room was not yet ready. However, the hotel staff made sure we were able to use facilities (restroom, pool, patio seating) prior to checking in, which was a very nice accommodation and very helpful to us!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A great place to stay if you want to be close to the national park as it is the last stop before you cross into Assateague. The room was very nice and comfortable beds. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and had an outdoor misting shower. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was EXCELLENT. We made use of the tables out front to eat snacks and lunch on the day we arrived and departed. Lemonade and coffee are available throughout the day and cookies were given to us on our arrival. My room was across from the pool, second floor. Beware of loud guests at the pool until close. I expected this but the loud noise from the room above me went on well after the pool closed. Hotel staff promptly took care of calling our neighbor upstairs. Thanks very much. One note...avoid the first floor if you don't want to spend your time dodging mosquitoes and swatting them in your room. My friend had a first floor room and that was a main complaint.

Room Tip: For quiet, request a room well away from the pool. For less mosquitoes, request a room on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were on a short vacation in my favorite place in the world. We usually stay at a house, but as they were booked, we tried Best Western. It was such a wonderful place to be with two kids - the outdoor pool was a huge hit, and the boys loved swimming there. The free breakfast also was great, and there was some variety, so we didn't start our morning hungry. We were able to get a great room, poolside, and we enjoyed the view. Staff was friendly, and the place was clean. My only issue was that it is supposedly a non-smoking facility, but the front lobby has a smell of old smoke, and I saw a couple of visitors smoking on their balconies at night. So, the smell upon entering the building was surprising, but otherwise, a wonderful stay. Also, my son said the lemonade was too sour, but it was free, so there's that.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My son (13) and I stayed for 2 nights. It was great! Our room was large and immaculate. The staff was extremely nice even when we arrived so late. We did not try the free breakfast as we like to venture out and the only complaint I have is the in room coffee was really weak and tasteless but I'm a coffee snob so take that for what it's worth. The pool was clean and landscaping was beautiful! What a lovely place! Perfect for families or couples...

Room Tip: Third floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bayahibe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone traveling in this area and if we visit again will stay here again. Breakfast was wonderful and offered a good variety of choices both hot and cold.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
814 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £49 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing