We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the Charm of Chincoteague and more...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Poplar Corner
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the Charm of Chincoteague and more...”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

A mid-week stay at the Inn at Poplar Corner was one of the most delightful visits my family and I have enjoyed during our many vacations and college visit expeditions. As self-acclaimed world-wide travelers, we appreciated the attentive service at the breakfast table as well as the sparkling rooms (Charity pretty much donated an extra room to our recently engaged daughter and her fiance), restful jacuzzi, and quaint town for exploring the old-fashioned book stores and mermaid paraphernalia. The sugar crystals atop the orange juice glasses made us feel like royalty. We didn't have time to borrow the bikes but we will on our next visit.

We ate at 2 marvelous restaurants in addition to the Inn, all of which were able to accommodate the vegetarians and carnivores in my group. The ponies appeared as promised when we made the short trip to beach! The sunset and quiet beaches, along with a Park Ranger lesson by a campfire, reminded us that environmentally responsible trips are very romantic.

Room Tip: all rooms are spacious, including a giant bathroom w/ jacuzzi and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I am never disappointed by the warmth, beauty and attention to detail offered by this inn and its owner/operator, Mrs. Heaton. I feel right at home the minute I pull into the parking lot, and know my every need will be tended to thoughtfully and expeditiously. This is my fourth stay, and I am already looking forward to another visit this coming fall. I highly recommend! (Make sure you build in extra calories for your visit to enjoy the mouthwatering breakfasts and treats guilt-free!!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logcabindreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Beautiful rooms and great amenities. Bikes, beach towels, water bottles, freshly baked cookies and more. Great location- short walk to the downtown area and restaurants. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joesmosax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The service was great as was the breakfast. I really wanted to try the crab quische so they allowed me to sample some; very good. Even though I stayed one night, I was treated well. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We had a fantastic and peaceful 3 days and nights at the Inn. Our most hospitable hosts made us feel very welcomed right away.

Our Lavender room was spacious, very clean, comfortable with ample bathroom amenities.

Breakfasts each morning was enjoyable, pleasant, delicious and so filling that we forgot to eat lunch.

Our hosts graciously made the kitchen available at all times providing glasses and drinks, and afternoon treats were provided in the dining room.

Evenings we leisurely relaxed on the porch(bug spray even provided).

If we needed anything for the beach it was there. And we did make good use of the bicycles!

We've stayed a B & B's in many countries and I have to say this one was most enjoyable!
We hope to stay again at the Inn!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAtink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We enjoyed our overnight stay in this beautiful inn - lovelly location and a great breakfast. The room was one of the best I have stayed in - very comfortable and so many little touches that I can't list them including comfortable cushions - a window seat to relax on and read magazines. We used the bikes to cycle out to the nature reserve and once I got the hang of backpedalling to brake I had fun.Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotsarered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My cousins and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this gorgeous B & B. I will stay here every time I vacation in Chincoteague Island. Linda, the host ,is gracious and very accommodating. Her breakfasts are absolutely delicious, honestly, the best I have ever had! The rooms are immaculate and breathtaking. There are bikes on the premise to use and we felt very comfortable while visiting. She recommended excellent restaurant for our evening meals and all of them for excellent. We drove to the beach and Wild Animal Refuge. We saw wild ponies, climbed the lighthouse, walked on the beach and down several paths. My cousins and I are planning to make this an annual event and we decided that we will only stay at the Inn at Poplar Corner. It truly was every thing I had hoped for and much more. It's a gem.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrisburgMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Poplar Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Poplar Corner

Property: Inn at Poplar Corner
Address: 4248 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2802
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing