We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house gardens and amazing staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1848 Island Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful house gardens and amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

To make your island stay 100% I highly recommend the Island Manor House. Beautiful décor, amazing food, friendly and outgoing staff. Ben is amazing and goes above and beyond to make your stay great. Lynn is always available with a smile and they have such a sense of pride in this bed and breakfast. There is a beautiful court yard with a fountain and tables and chairs to sit and relax after a day of shopping or just playing in the ocean. Give it a try you will be glad you did and recommend it to your friends they will thank you...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandboundtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    29
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
129
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A wonderful bed and breakfast! The staff felt like family by the time we left. We really enjoyed the breakfast and they kept plenty of snacks on hand. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent two nights in the Sandy Dune Room celebrating our wedding anniversary, and arrived to a bottle of Prosecco and rose pedals on our bed ... such a nice touch! The gourmet breakfasts were delicious, as were the freshly baked cookies. The Island Manor House is conveniently located on Main Street, and is tastefully decorated. Our room had lovely beach scenes painted on the walls, which made for a warm atmosphere. Ben was helpful with information and recommended a wonderful boat tour - Captain Spider's Explorer. We really enjoyed relaxing in the courtyard, which was surrounded by flowers, a fountain and a family of ducks. We would recommend the Island Manor House for your stay in Chincoteague.

Room Tip: The Sandy Dune room was nice but had low ceilings and would not be good for anyone over 6 feet tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark DE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful stay my husband and I had! Ben is a wonderful host, he is very informative and personable. The inn was beautiful we especially loved the gardens, and Mr. And Mrs. Troy! We stayed in the Sandy dune, what a charming little room with it's own bathroom. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

If you like to be pampered then this is the place to stay. What ever you need they had it. Bikes to ride, beach towels, suntan lotion and even bug spray! The rooms are beautiful and very spacious. The owners are amazing! Try the afternoon tea, it's wonderful!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank avvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers Point, NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Island Manor House is your average B&B. Some items to note:

The free bikes are a great feature – pretty sure I saw a sign that bikes rent for $40 a day elsewhere.
The breakfast was old-fashioned fancy – not as much as you’d get on a cruise ship, but nice enough. (a small bowl of fruit, a biscuit and a breakfast quiche with eggs, veggies and potatoes)
The bed was creaky which made me nervous all night that I’d wake other guests if I moved.
The bedroom door was squeaky.
The A/C in the room was a window unit that struggled to keep us cool through the night. Not an issue for mid-June, but I’d worry if staying there in July or August.
The bathroom (for the Hummingbird room) was in the hallway, which was fine, but the sign on the door implied that it was shared with another room. If that was the case, there weren’t enough towels. Luckily, it seemed like no one else ever used the bathroom so perhaps the sign is outdated.
Shampoo and conditioner included, but no soap for the shower, just sink soap, which was almost empty.
Hairdryer was under the sink if needed. Robe in the bedroom closet.
The back patio is lovely to just sit and enjoy the weather.
The living rooms, game room, snack area were all cozy and if we'd stayed longer, I could see myself relaxing in them.
The snacks in the kitchen (homemade cookies) are an absolute treat after a long day of adventure!

We were able to make our reservation with only 24 hours notice and we weren’t required to stay 2 nights, which was really helpful since we were just passing through. Even with last minute notice, the innkeepers were very accommodating and offered to make us breakfast if we needed to depart prior to breakfast time. (Although I would suggest breakfast be offered prior to 9:15, it’s a bit late) I’d stay here again, mostly for the ambience of the public rooms, the use of the bikes and the homemade cookies!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linamary69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Island Manor House is on Main Street in the heart of Chincoteague. We made a last minute reservation, picking a room in the main house online. When we got there, Ben showed us another room that he felt would be nicer for us and we ended up in the Misty Mare room. It was very comfortable, cozy, and had a great view. You have to leave the bedroom to get to the bathroom, but it was private and nice. Ben worked hard to find us a place for dinner, calling 3 restaurants before he found one we could get into. The inn has snacks (during our stay is was slices of pie and great cookies) available around the clock, plus a wide variety of coffees and teas. Breakfast was tastefully served and very good. Ben was a very handy source of information on all things. Overall it was a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: West side rooms can get a nice sunset. If you ask the host (Ben) or innkeepers, they'll help yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1848 Island Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1848 Island Manor House

Property: 1848 Island Manor House
Address: 4160 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the historic downtown of Chincoteague. Enjoy the charming inn with brick courtyard surrounded by roses, fountain and fireplace. Rate includes full breakfast for two each morning! In walking distance to several seafood restaurants, shops, antique stores and artist galleries. Only a short drive, walk or bicycle ride to Assateague Island, the wild ponies, lighthouse and miles of pristine beach. Some rooms with water view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing