We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely, thank you!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1848 Island Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Quiet but central location right across from waterfront, walk to many shops and restaurants. Everything you could want for the beach - bikes, towels, bug spray etc. Owners and staff so very kind and professional - breakfasts were gourmet events with variety of fresh fruits and delicious hot dishes different every day (Lin says if we stay 14 days we might see a repeat!). One person at my table could not eat raisins (in the hot apple french toast) and a fabulous substitution egg-stravaganza appeared immediately. Plenty of room indoors with interesting books - the usual beach fare plus old set of Ian Fleming and great coffee table books about the ponies, island history and the working watermen. I can't imagine what more you'd want in a B & B, truly.

Room Tip: We loved the top room under the eaves with view of the water and private bath. Yes low ceilings but...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schooloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for 1848 Island Manor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

A very nice B&B. Comfortable beds and good food. The Innkeeper does not stay in the house, so you get a key access code to come and go. The ducks that come up in the AM for some free food from the kitchen are fun to watch. Very peaceful place and easy walk to the town (which is not much) and the warf where you can get boat tours around the island. We enjoyed our stay. The cookies and drinks available 24 hour were a nice touch and they had some great picture/coffee table books on life on the water.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This B&B makes you feel right at home from the moment you walk in the door. The rooms were so relaxing!! The breakfasts were everything I imagined and more!!! It's a place where you can't wait to go to sleep and you can't wait to wake up!!! 5 stars given but it's a perfect 10!!!! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent two nights in this quaint bed and breakfast in the heart of town, near the entrance to the island. Our innkeeper, Ben, gave us a tour and brought us up to our room, the Nathaniel Smith. The room had a pleasant king bed and nice furnishings. A small flat screen TV gave us some insight into what was going on in the world. No whirlpool in the bath, just a stall shower, but the wife forgave me(she loves whirlpool baths). Ben made reservations for us both nights for dinner. The location is near some shops and eateries. All-in all, we had a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the manor for my belated birthday celebration. I truly enjoyed the atmosphere . Everything was perfect and the staff was extremely helpful even with last minute requests. I would suggest this location to everyone. I will be returning asap.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendastanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A wonderful bed and breakfast experience. I'm a first time bed and breakfast user, a little nervous at first as I did not know what to expect. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and urge anyone who has doubts about bed and breakfasts should give the Island Manor House a try!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentleyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Went to the Inn this past weekend and had a fabulous time. The food was wonderful, the facility was so clean and the staff couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. I will recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1848 Island Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1848 Island Manor House

Address: 4160 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £70 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the historic downtown of Chincoteague. Enjoy the charming inn with brick courtyard surrounded by roses, fountain and fireplace. Rate includes full breakfast for two each morning! In walking distance to several seafood restaurants, shops, antique stores and artist galleries. Only a short drive, walk or bicycle ride to Assateague Island, the wild ponies, lighthouse and miles of pristine beach. Some rooms with water view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing