We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Miss Molly's was indeed a delightful inn...the screened in porch, availability of tea and coffee and snacks in a cozy setting made it a perfect place to read and relax. At first glance, we were excited! The upper deck would have also been a delight had the weather cooperated.The other guests we met were great folks, we enjoyed the company and sweet Ann, the Inn keeper. But that is where the good stuff ends. I guess we did not have the luxury accomodations the other reviewers rave about (and truly, we are seasoned B&B'ers who are easy to please!) Our room was tiny, but clean & sufficient; BUT we got ZERO sleep!! It was hot, there was NO AC, no FAN, so we had to open the windows and the street traffic barely died down all night long; more important, we stayed in Miss Molly's room probably on the original bed from the 1800s...the mattress was so soft and old& the whole bed shook everytime one of us moved (and we are NOT big people...I weigh 118#) At first, it was funny when we rolled together towards the middle b/c there was no support...by the end of the stay, we were not laughing, and we were exhausted. Our breakfast, was a muffin and a cold, tasteless waffle with a dusting of powder sugar and a bit of fruit. We were given milk, not half and half for coffee. We were so disgusted we checked out early and went elsewhere for breakfast on Sunday, our last day. For the amount of money ( our stay was $350 for two nights)...it was a TERRIBLE waste of our money, no matter how delightful the setting or the cordial host. The owners are Brits who are not on the property so they probably have zero interest in updating their American source of income. With so many other places to choose, we will certainly not return to Miss Molly's when we return next year...and have shared this info with the 22 people we meet there annually for the Seafood Festival.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kazdnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin M, Owner at Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

We have never responded to a review good or not so good before, but feel compelled to do so this time.Miss Molly's Inn is beautiful,the service excellent and the food always has rave reviews.On the very rare occasion our reviews have not been top notch and we thought them warrented we have always been horrified and rectified the situation immediately.This review however is simply not correct,I am the Brit that owns Miss Molly's Inn and I am there on a daily basis as I am the Innkeeper at our other Inn literally just across the street, my husband is also at Miss Molly's all day every day.The mattress is very new in the room you are talking about as are all our mattresses and beds, so I really don't know how to respond to that complaint.As to the humidity I do believe it was a very rare time when it was hot at night in the beginning of May and I apologise that you were not offered a fan ( our air conditioners traditionally are installed in the middle of May) and as to the noise, Chincoteague is normally a quiet and sleepy Island, except after big festivals, such as the Seafood festival on Saturday, once again I can only apologise . I hope you decide to come to Chincoteague again and that wherever you stay you enjoy your selves.Lin and Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

A delightful combination of history, comfort, charm and 'deliciousness'! The rooms were cozy yet roomy and delightfully decorated. The bed was very comfortable. We always looked forward to the breakfasts - each one amazingly creative and fresh and so delicious. We took advantage of an afternoon tea that had a delightful and all homemade variety of 'inspired' treats. Anna, the innkeeper, took such good care of us we didn't want to leave! Congratulations to Sam and Lin and Anna for providing a superior experience and lasting memories. We will be back!

Room Tip: The bay room has four windows which provide delightful cross ventillation on nice spring days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Miss Molly's was perfect! The food was fantastic! Almost everything is homemade and the taste is exquisite! Anna, the inn keeper, was great. Very informative about the inn, as well as the historic island. The rooms were beautiful; very spacey and cozy. The inn itself is in a central location. Close to the beach, ice cream shops, antique stores, and souvenir shops! We will definitely be returning in the summer, hungry for more and just in time for the pony swim!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexus_pup11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a wonderful winter, weekend getaway at Miss Molly's Inn. This was our second trip. The inn keepers are wonderful and the food is always delicious. Anna, Sam and Lin keep a very special B&B and make you feel like family with every visit. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed in the room Marguerite Henry stayed when she wrote Misty of Chincoteague. The room was authentic to the time, but very comfortable. The bed was high quality, but also fit in to the time theme. The breakfast was wonderful. We included high tea in our package, and were very impressed. If you stay be sure to stay for afternoon tea. The owner is British and everything was authentic. We liked that the room did not have a television or other modern accessories. Our stay there was just as if we took a step back in history.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picturetakingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

As usual, Sam and Lin Mazza's bed and breakfast, MISS MOLLY'S INN is our favorite BnB to stay at. Innkeeper, Anna, was very welcoming to us this year. The Inn is beautifully decorated, and their breakfast is to die for! Sam knows the island like the back of his hand and can help you with your vacation trips/plans. It's like going home when we stay at Miss Molly's. While there this trip, we already booked our room for Labor Day weekend, 2012.

Room Tip: The Upper Deck room has a private access to a large deck, great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My company chose Chincoteague Island and Miss Molly's Inn for our annual trip this year. What a pleasant surprise. Not only were we transported back in time with all the modern day ammenites but our innkeeper Anna was one of the best hostesses my husband and I have ever had while staying at a B and B. We stayed in the Bay room with lovely Bay views and a tranquil pale blue and yellow color scheme. We had 10 in our group and everyone had a wonderful relaxing experience. The breakfasts on Sat and Sun were delicious and included fresh fruit, blueberry muffins, cinnamon rolls, apple stuffed french toast and on Sun a baked egg and vegie dish. Coffee, tea, lemonade, tea and the best oatmeal raisin cookies we have ever had were available 24/7 on the porch. We spent many hours there surrounded by a glorious garden. Anna recommended the sunset cruise where we saw 45 Asseateague ponies very very close. They had just returned to the island after the pony penning. Some of our party even met the real Maureen in the Misty books. What a treat. Every detail was thought of and Anna was the best. We will certainly be back. Looking for a weekend retreat anytime of the year-give Miss Molly's a try.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martins1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4141 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £95 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Molly's Inn sits on the bay and has five wonderful porches with plenty of rocking chairs and a large deck on the second floor that overlooks the bay. We also have a beautiful screened in porch full of flowers. The inn is open all year round and is perfect for honeymoons, small weddings, conferences and family get-togethers! Miss Mollys is also where Marguerite Henry wrote her classic 'Misty of Chincoteague'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miss Molly`s Inn Bed And Breakfast
Miss Molly`s Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing