We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot and excellent service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bayville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot and excellent service”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Although we arrived later than their usually check in and were not expected, Lin hurried right over to Miss Molly's and made sure we were comfortable and knew were to get a fine meal at 9 pm. We were in what was probably the least desirable room (remember we were late arrivals) but it was lovely. The Inn itself is a graceful Victorian home with all sorts of interesting art and historical information throughout. The breakfast the next morning was, as promised, truly a gourmet's delight . The staff was welcoming and friendly saying that they were glad we decided to stay for breakfast. So were we! We would highly recommend Miss Molly's.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    21
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
101
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nice home with a beautiful garden. Not sure if something was going on with Sam and Lin and their staff internally but they honestly didn't seem to want us there. Sam was helpful and engaging the first day but the young lady in the kitchen seemed irritated when I asked for eggs for my daughter for breakfast. After that she wasn't very friendly toward me throughout the rest of our stay. We met Lin our last morning there and she helped me with the keurig coffee maker which had the wrong instructions on it. I pointed out that the instructions were wrong and that didn't seem to matter. The guests we met were all very nice and friendly and the patio setting was wonderful for socializing. I would go back if they had been friendlier.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin M, Owner at Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We would like to respond to the lady that said she felt we were unfriendly, the young lady in the kitchen is recovering from a stroke and we thought she was having a TIA that morning and yes, we were distracted, we"re sorry that you noticed.As for the kuerig instructions we took them straight off the box the machine came in.We want all our guests to be happy that they stayed with us and apologise if you weren"t. Please come and stay with us again and we will try our best to make it a 5 star experience. Sam and Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I would highly recommend a stay at Miss Molly’s Inn on Chincoteague Island! Our hosts combined wit and humor with a delicious breakfast, lovely décor, a gorgeous garden, and obvious knowledge of the local area. Its past is famous as the place where the author Marguerite Henry stayed when researching her timeless children’s book, Misty of Chincoteague. I couldn’t think of a better place to stay and visit the famous ponies on Assateague.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RobynOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip to Chinceteague Island and found Miss Molly's. From the moment I saw the pictures and read the reivews I knew it was for us. Upon arriving we were more than happy. From the wrap around porch, all the beautiful flowers and peaceful patio room off the back, I knew it would be a wonderful stay. Wonderul Victorian home, takes you back in time, perfect decor. Our room was on the 2nd floor, the Upper Deck room, nautical decor. It had a door that lead right out to the upper deck and we took full advantage of the sea breezes as well as morning and evening coffee. The breakfast was delicious and we had 2 peaceful nights sleep. This is a place I will definately return to, spending more than just 2 nights there. We hated to leave today. Lin and Sam, the owner/innkeepers are the perfect hosts and make you feel right at home. If you are looking for that romantic, peaceful getaway, Miss Mollys is where you need to go. Thank you Lin and Sam for a most memorable trip!

Room Tip: We had the Upper Deck room. If you like to be outside as much or more than inside, this is the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieDan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Miss Molly's in early April. The weather was mixed. The accommodations were very nice. Our room was clean and the food was delicious. We were able to get on the internet without a problem. We didn't realize it when we booked our room but there was no tv in our room which was not a problem.The owner was very friendly and helpful when providing us with information about the area. The weather was mixed. One day it rained, another day it was cold and windy and another day it was sunny and warm. Regardless of the weather, there was always something to do. The local business people were very friendly and made us feel welcome to the area. We also visited Assateague State park in Virginia and Maryland. All around it was a very enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We could not have been happier with our stay at Miss Molly's. We booked the Beachcomber Room and Yellow Room and happily found ourselves with the entire top floor. There is a sitting room between the two rooms and the bathroom so we had plenty of room to spread out. Lin's cooking is phenomenal and Sam's hospitality like a southern gentleman (though he is from Boston). Upon check in, Sam offered us white wine and lemonade and asked what we hoped to do while on the island. At his recommendation, we booked a sunset cruise upon our arrival to see the island and ponies instead of waiting for a daytime cruise. It was a good thing because the next day it rained buckets. The beds were very comfortable-not too soft nor too hard. The King bed in the Yellow Room was exceptionally comfortable. My traveling companion sister wants one just like it! Chincoteague Island is fascinating and the people are genuinely warm and polite. Miss Molly's is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms make a nice area for families to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Five years later and Sam and Lin of Miss Molly's Inn are still working as hard as ever to please their guests and provide a warm, comfortable environment that never feels put-on. Five years ago we stayed in "Captain Jack's" room and absolutely loved it! This year we were able to stay for nearly two weeks. Lin and Sam took great care of us everyday. Lin makes a superb breakfast every morning, with excellent coffee I might add. Sam is always available during the day for the odd question answered or a helping hand. New to my wife and I this year, was the addition of two new employees, Ben and Brian, who were both a great help and great at what they do. For those thinking of staying for the first time, we highly recommend Miss Molly's Inn. They provided all of the amenities and comfort we expected at a fair price for the area. Lin and Sam and their staff gave my wife and I a great vacation get-away and we will most certainly be returning again...hopefully it won't take us five more years to make it back there!
If you are planning to stay overnight on Chincoteague Island, you should really consider staying at Miss Molly's Inn or The Island Manor House, which is their other Inn located right across the street. Like Miss Molly's Inn, it is an older, historic home, very well restored and beautifully decorated. It was so nice to wake up in a gorgeous room, go downstairs and have breakfast cooked for us, go out to Assateague Beach for the day (only about 10 minutes away), then come back to the Inn and relax with some cookies and tea. It really made us feel like we belonged there; like being at home.
Happy Travels to all ~

Room Tip: "Captain Jack's" is a smallish room but super comfy with a feather mattress..very roma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnB_Time_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4141 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Molly's Inn sits on the bay and has five wonderful porches with plenty of rocking chairs and a large deck on the second floor that overlooks the bay. We also have a beautiful screened in porch full of flowers. The inn is open all year round and is perfect for honeymoons, small weddings, conferences and family get-togethers! Miss Mollys is also where Marguerite Henry wrote her classic 'Misty of Chincoteague'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miss Molly`s Inn Bed And Breakfast
Miss Molly`s Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing