We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

This hotel is always a favorite. The people are great. the rooms are clean. The veiws are amazing. And I slept good here, even though I have a hard time sleeping away from home!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoFrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    198
    39
    12
    17
See reviews for
235
307
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed 2 nights at Waterside Inn, for less than the price of one night in a hotel we've previously stayed in a few blocks away. Service was great, continental breakfast was great. Very informative front desk staff. Everything really met all expectations, the only downfall was the amount of traffic on the wooden walkways outside of the rooms.....very noisy at 1:00 am. Only a minor technicality and shouldn't be a deal breaker in my opinion. Over 100 types of rose bushes, very nice. Didn't try the pool or hot tub, no comment there.
I think we've found a new place to stay in years to come.....very pleased.

Room Tip: Book 3rd floor room, less noise, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Manager at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
We are happy to hear our inn is your new place to stay while visiting Chincoteague Island. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Waterside Inn this past weekend and the experience was great. Staff was extremely friendly and kind when we asked for nightlife suggestions. Room was great with a balcony overlooking the inlet. Only downside was the loud couple upstairs on the third floor who continuously stirring and were going in and out to their deck at 1-3 AM!
Great place and we look forward to staying again very soon.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porquechop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

This is a great hotel, for excellent prices... with a view of the water. Every room has a balcony with a view of the water. The indoor hot tub even has a view of the water. This was a great find for our family of four. If you are looking for The Ritz, this is not it. If you are looking for location, view and value... this is it.

Room Tip: All rooms have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldAndHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outside Philly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Such a nice place. The dock onto the water is so nice to walk out onto and sit or do a little crabbing. Lobby is small but quaint. Excellent breakfast in the morning. Staff is friendly and super helpful to out-of-towners. Overall, great value for your money. Would recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siteseers076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagler Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

After a year's hard work and stress, our 2 week stay in "our" condo is the cure. My husband and I were both born and raised in the northeast, and met, married and currently reside in Florida - yes! We ESCAPE the #1 tourist destination in the world to come to the Waterside, in Chincoteague, every year.
The Mason's have welcomed us into their family and take excellent care of us, catering to our every need and wish. In 7 (or is it 8?) years, problems have been minimal and taken care of promptly and courteously.
Though the complimentary breakfast is really intended for the motel guests, they have always welcomed us for a homemade waffle, or danish, and beverage.
We just can't get enough of the pool and complimentary dock, where the crabbing is fine! And the jets in the hottub are the most therapeutic I have ever felt.
I have back and hip issues and sleep fine. Clean, quiet and reasonable...our favorite!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoble10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
392 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We took advantage of the Waterside's valentine special, and stayed two nights. The first thing I noticed was how clean the place was--- not only inside the room, but outside too. Even my husband noticed it was spotless, we've never stayed in a cleaner place. The room was nice, we had a balcony, and were able to see wonderful sunsets and listen to the ducks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definately reccomend this hotel, and would love to visit again. We had two good evening meals at restaurants that were within walking distance. (10-15 min walk)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing