We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda,Md.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed for 1 night .Have stayed at several other hotels ,etc. in Chincoteague over the years ,but the Waterside is one of the best .All rooms face the water ,we had a great water view w/out having the causeway in our view like some others .Also ,you make your room choice ,pay accordingly and you get your room choice .Too often ,at other places they seem to completely ignore your room requests .
Breakfast was an expanded continental breakfast that was also very good .
Room was clean and comfortable ,service was pleasant .
I'd recommend it ,and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    209
    43
    12
    17
See reviews for
249
325
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband, daughter, and I stayed here this weekend for one night on Chincoteague. We looked hard at the "chain" hotels before booking, but decided to give this place a try because of the location and the price. We are so glad we did! The decor is a little dated, but every room is waterfront and I don't believe I have ever stayed anywhere as clean. The A/C worked very well (an absolute for my husband!) and the room was perfect for our little getaway. The only downside there was my husband thought the beds were a little on the firm side. We spent a little time at the pool - it was heated which was a nice touch. They have just added a full breakfast (formerly continental) and all was very nice. The crowning touch, however, was when Donna gave our daughter a Dora travel pack with coloring book, crayons and stickers! What a nice treat!! And it kept our daughter entertained throughout the day. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Chincoteague overnight!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TandB1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This hotel is always a favorite. The people are great. the rooms are clean. The veiws are amazing. And I slept good here, even though I have a hard time sleeping away from home!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoFrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed 2 nights at Waterside Inn, for less than the price of one night in a hotel we've previously stayed in a few blocks away. Service was great, continental breakfast was great. Very informative front desk staff. Everything really met all expectations, the only downfall was the amount of traffic on the wooden walkways outside of the rooms.....very noisy at 1:00 am. Only a minor technicality and shouldn't be a deal breaker in my opinion. Over 100 types of rose bushes, very nice. Didn't try the pool or hot tub, no comment there.
I think we've found a new place to stay in years to come.....very pleased.

Room Tip: Book 3rd floor room, less noise, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Manager at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
We are happy to hear our inn is your new place to stay while visiting Chincoteague Island. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Waterside Inn this past weekend and the experience was great. Staff was extremely friendly and kind when we asked for nightlife suggestions. Room was great with a balcony overlooking the inlet. Only downside was the loud couple upstairs on the third floor who continuously stirring and were going in and out to their deck at 1-3 AM!
Great place and we look forward to staying again very soon.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porquechop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This is a great hotel, for excellent prices... with a view of the water. Every room has a balcony with a view of the water. The indoor hot tub even has a view of the water. This was a great find for our family of four. If you are looking for The Ritz, this is not it. If you are looking for location, view and value... this is it.

Room Tip: All rooms have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldAndHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outside Philly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Such a nice place. The dock onto the water is so nice to walk out onto and sit or do a little crabbing. Lobby is small but quaint. Excellent breakfast in the morning. Staff is friendly and super helpful to out-of-towners. Overall, great value for your money. Would recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siteseers076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,149 reviews
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing