We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forgot to add re: WiFI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Forgot to add re: WiFI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Forgot to add in my previous review - the WiFi was EXCELLENT. Very important for me because I do have to work on vacations. Two thumbs up!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DaytonDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    198
    39
    12
    17
See reviews for
235
307
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Overall the experience was very pleasant. The rooms (especially on the third floor and closer to the pier) have a nice view of the water. The rooms aren't luxurious, but very cozy and nice. The location is pretty convenient too as the hotel is close to the small old town, but you will probably end up using your car most of the time to get around.

The hot tub and the pool are well kept and have a pretty good view. The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxing and the staff friendly if you need to talk to them. It is not a luxurious place, but flaws are hard to come by and it should satisfy most travelers.

All in all, it is a nice hotel and well worth your money. It gets all the right things right so if you're planning on spending some time in Chincoteague and having a nice hotel without spending too much money, Waterside Inn is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFactor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We needed a hotel that had a slip for a boat. Boyfriend had stayed there in years past and enjoyed it so we thought we'd give it another try. I gave it 2 stars but it wasnt all bad. Mixed I'd say. They served a generous "continental" breakfast. Eggs, sausage,waffles, cereal, english muffins, donuts, muffins, coffee of course BUT it was in a small room with very limited room to sit or to get around the food/beverage tables. There were picnic tables outside but too hot in August to enjoy your breakfast outside. The pool and hot tub were nice amenities. However, the air conditioning system in the room was poor. It either blew full blast or not (fan didnt blow cold air around) The worst part was that you couldnt control the air flow and it blew right on us as we slept. Both of us now have a raging cold, not a way to end your vacation. Also, the staff was not rude, but not warm either. They seemed bothered by questions and somehow aloof. We requested a late check out and/or a place to leave our bags until late in the afternoon. We were given an extra hour to check out but no where to store our bags. There was a conference room not being used that would have been great. We are only talking 2-3 hours tops here. It would have been secure and not under their feet but it wasnt offered. The experience left me disappointed even with all the good things about it, I wont be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTraveledtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel was nice for what we were there for. It's nothing too fancy but it was good for a place to come back to after a day at the beach. The walls are very thin though. We had kids jumping around upstairs while we were trying to sleep and you could hear EVERYTHING. The front desk closes at 10 so there was really no way to deal with it other than walking upstairs ourselves (which was supposed to be 12 and over (on 3rd floor)...and wasn't). That was our biggest complaint. Other than that...the breakfast was nice, pool was good, the pier was neat, and it was in a good location to hit up some of the shops on main street. Also! Right down the street from Daisy's Dockside Cruise which you should definitely do! Would probably stay here again if we came back.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for better view, highest room number available (higher is on the end closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

My friend and I were very impressed with Waterside Inn. We stayed there solely on the recommendation of a business associate we trusted. So glad we did. Every room had a balcony and view of the Chesapeake Bay or inland water. The best part was how very clean it was, especially for a beach resort town. Everything had been updated with microwave and refrigerator at no additional cost. All the staff and housekeepers were knowledgeable and friendly. Also, it was refreshing to have an actual room key instead of a plastic card. Lots of room and amenities. I wish we could have spent a week instead of a weekend.

Room Tip: If you intend to go to the Running of the Ponies next year, book Waterside Inn in advance. We got t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treble3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Great location and rooms were immaculate. Breakfast was better than expected. We brought our boat and the docks were a huge plus. Book early as rooms closest to the water are booked first. You can walk to almost everything from the hotel and there is a trolley that runs frequently.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for room closest to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avram100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Room and pool were clean,air conditioning worked great,breakfast was great,staff was courteous and very helpful especially especially when giving us information about the pony swim, great value for the price!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimmiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.6 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing